$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Death Metal Dan
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 24, 2012

I was stunned

This place completely reversed my previous experience with NYC hotels. I'm used to paying a pretty penny for a hotel with decent, but not amazing, amenities and a room about the size of the bed. I would've been perfectly happy at The Empire Hotel's price alone which was the most affordable when I searched. But I was pleasantly surprised that the room was a decent size - don't get me wrong, it wasn't an apartment, but there was ample space. And the amenities were pretty nice. There's a club on roof and all the common areas (hallway, mezzanine, lobby) are very nice. I would certainly stay here again if the price remains competitive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Cat
Business
Central Virginia
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderfully Located Hotel

The staff was welcoming and accommodating. The room, though small, was pleasant. The bottom sheet on the bed was not clean and needed to be changed. The bar for an after-dinner drink is terrific. This hotel is wonderfully located, with cabs almost always available. Overall, a good place, though expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Chowder house in hotel expensive and over-rated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
borana12
Business
Phoenix
Nov 9, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Service

The experience at the Empire was great from the get go. The front desk staff was polite and fast. The roon although small was perfect, cause who stays in the roon in New York. The location is what makes this hotel a real gem in the heart of Manhattan. Overall grade. A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opera Afficionado
Business
Athens, Ga
Nov 19, 2012

Perfect for opera weekend

The room itself was fairly standard with adequate amenities, but the location is superb for the opera goer being just across the street from the Met The hotel restaurant is very good We entertained four friends royally The pri9ces for everythying are very high, but New York in opera season is always so. We will rerturn next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservatrions a few days in advance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UWS Frequent Visitor
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving Weekend!

The stay was very nice - and the staff is great. They were having problems with the elevators, which could not support the volume of people, and we had to take a back elevator. The rooms, while comfortable, were VERY small - not much room for more than two bags. Other than that - the location was amazing and the overall experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MatthewH
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2012

Best value

Perfect location, great staff, even better price. Will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelAdventures2012
Business
New York, NY
Dec 11, 2012

Great Location

Great location right next to Lincoln center. Walking distance to most major sights. A little loud but that's to be expected for NYC. The bed was comfortable and the room size was also decent for the city. No Ice machine and also no complimentary coffee/tea (at least that we saw)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler NYC
Business
FLorida
Dec 17, 2012

Great time - convenient to Lincoln Center

Good time in NYC - usually stay downtown but there is so much to do in this area as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDD118
Business
Evanston, IL, USA
Dec 30, 2012

Might be my new go-to hotel in NYC

The rooms are quiet, comfortable, and stylish-- and a good size for New York City hotels. The beds were excellent-- very firm with great linens. The hotel is across the street from Lincoln Center and its subway station stop. Staff was friendly and courteous throughout the stay. For the price, it's a great value for NYC. I've stayed in comparably priced hotels in the city that were half the size, noisy, and/or less conveniently located. Definitely would recommend and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occasional overnighter
Business
New Jersey
Jan 12, 2013

Good use of small space

Perfect location for Lincoln Center. Basic room with one bed was diminutive even for NYC. Quiet, laptop-sized safe, some luxury touches, but no fridge or bathtub. Good desk services, room service, 24-hr cardio room. Fine for a night or two if you're spry and pack light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top