$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
268 reviews
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
The Empire hotel embodies a return to the classic hotel room but with an edge. Guest rooms pay tribute to the rich earth tone palettes of Central Park accented by leather furnishing combined with the modernistic style of Lincoln Center. Rest and unwind in the virtuoso comfort of The Empire Hotel. 413 rooms and suites, lobby bar, meeting space up to 250 people, full concierge service, full in room bar, frette linen, oversized towels, fitness center, valet parking, same day laundry service, 2 hour rush laundry service and on site pressing. There is a $12.95 charge per 24 hour period for WI-FI.
As of November 1, 2013, The Empire Hotel is smoke-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessbyrd34
Business
Connecticut
Mar 26, 2013

Great hotel

The Empire Hotel was great. Bars and restaurants in the hotel were outstanding. The only thing is that the shower would drain and it was a walk out shower so it flooded my bathroom and part of my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Musiclover1
Business
Boston
Mar 28, 2013

Good hotel for Lincoln Center events

The Empire has been renovated, but the room was small and the bathroom tiny, but adequate. Comfortable bed and blackout drapery helped to ensure a good night's sleep. The location is perfect if you're attending a Lincoln Center event, as it's just across the way on 63rd and Broadway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect hotel for Lincoln Center event. Also close to great shops and restaurants at Time Warner Center on Columbus Circle, and about a mile from the American Museum of Natural History.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Ithaca College Mom
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 21, 2013

Location, location, location

Great place to stay if you're attending events at Lincoln Center or the MET. Room was clean and comfy. Great view from our window. Take your own snacks, however, you don't want to pay $6.50 for a Kit Kat bar in the room. Room was overpriced, but that's typical for New York. At least it was clean, comfy, and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clarks restaurant right outside the front door of the hotel was a great place for dining--good food and reasonable prices for New York.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2013

Perfect Lincoln Center area choice!

Can't do better than this...my room had a perfect view of Lincoln Center...the rooftop pool (just a lap pool but nice) and outdoor and indoor lounge has great views of the neighborhood. Everyone was nice and the room was comfortable. Easy choice if you want to check out the shows and arts and music at Lincoln Center and/or enjoy Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Right in the same building but not attached to the hotel is P.J. Clarke's. Good spot to sit at a table or the bar and watch a game and have a great burger or other food and a beer and chat up other visitors and locals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Attony
Business
Halwey, PA
Jun 24, 2013

Location & value, plus sundeck/pool in Summer.

We had a very nice stay at the Empire Hotel on a Saturday night (6/22/13). It was a busy place but our room was quiet & quite comfortable. It was clean, but there was an odor of tobacco smoke when we first entered, even though it was a non-smoking room as ordered. The sundeck on the roof was great and the pool, although small was quite refreshing after my jog in central Park which is only 2 blocks away. Perfect location for Park and for Lincoln Center which is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sapphire Indian Restaurant is just down Broadway about two blocks. Very good Indian food, a little pricey but the decor, service and great food make it worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College broke Mom
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 18, 2013

A quick overnight in New York

We wanted an inexpensive hotel near our daughter on the Upper West Side. We liked the idea of the rooftop patio & pool. The hotel was hopping when we arrived at 6 pm but our room was pleasantly quiet. The pool was smaller than it looked in the picture (as in postage stamp), but this is New York. It was a warm summer evening and we enjoyed drinks on the rooftop.. I had one of their special cocktails with gin, lime, cucumber and mint that was fabulous and refreshing. A relaxed breeze kept us comfortable. The room was also quite small, but since we were only there for one night we could manage. On our last trip we stayed in a 5 star hotel where they upgraded our room to a suite. We were there for six days then and we needed the space. Other than the spacial dimensions, we thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff was friendly, gracious, and top-notch in every way. We feel this was a great value and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose Chung
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 17, 2013

Trendy and Terse

In town for an event at Lincoln Center, so the location was ideal. The room was comfortable and aesthetically pleasing, in a trendy sort of way, though very small. Everything was packed in like Tetris pieces. There were lots of goodies for purchase in the room, like iPhone chargers, Pringles, but paying $7.50 for a water bottle is ridiculous, even if it is convenient. The rooftop bar was great, and the lobby had a bit of a "scene." I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmsrossi
Business
Tuckahoe, New York
Jun 27, 2013

Great hotel

Beautiful hotel. Total class. The decor was great and the room was very clean. The rooftop was great for us since husband smokes cigars so i was perfect. Room service was not so good. It was my husbands birthday so we called for a bucket of ice and champagne glasses. It took over 45 minutes just to get the ice bucket and we never got the glasses. For the amount of money we paid for the room service should be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmsrossi
Business
Tuckahoe, New York
Jun 29, 2013

Great Hotel and great area in the city

The room was really nice and clean but room service was so so. I would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Coast Librarian
Business
Washington DC
Jul 18, 2013

Great location and good food

The location of The Empire was perfect for the theatre and museum weekend we had in New York in June. The hotel, much renovated since my last stay over 10 years ago, decor is "moderne "and there are nice touches but things are worn. Service at the desk was excellent --not much was offered elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ed's Chowder was great for dinner before the show. Very fresh seafood and a good bartender and waiter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top