$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ritin77
Business
NJ
Jun 11, 2014

Great Minus the Broken Elevator

The rooms were small but average for NYC. The AC didnt really keep the room that cool it was hard for it to keep up. The rooftop pool deck was good minus the fact I think non-hotel people were up there and we were lucky to get a chair. The drink service took forever so we just kept walking down to the 10th floor and got over selves drinks. The worst part by far was that not all the elevators were working so my mother and her friend who has hip problems had to walk down and up 10 flights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sabrina123
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Jun 10, 2014

And the nightmare began......

First impression: Adams family meets Lion King decor and cocktail lighting makes it impossible to see anything let alone put on makeup., First room was marginally larger than the bed - no room for 2 people to pass each other without one jumping on the bed. Upgraded to larger room with 2 queens, but same problem in negotiating the room. Only 2 small drawers . No where to hang dresses without them hitting the divider in the closet. Bathroom was a total joke. We were going to a very formal wedding but the boiler broke and we had rusty, dirty cold water to bathe in. No hope of repair before we left. Management tried to help, but they are swimming upstream here.. You had to close the door to use the sink behind it. The toilet leaked onto the floor and flooded the room. No one was sent to fix it until the 3rd call. Hotel is in serious need of re-habbing and bring your own lightbulbs if you want to see your face. mezzanine restroom was awful - no toilet paper or towels anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skip A
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 2, 2014

Wow!

The room was a corner suite with a great view of the Lincoln Center and a park below looking West and North. It was fun to be in the upper West side with the restaurants, shops and activities. The Metro was a short 4 block walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Amber asian restaurant was a very pleasant meal at an affordable price.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stickfigure
Business
los angeles
Jun 1, 2014

not too great

horrible elevators, kind of skanky looking.... staff/people were great though, but i definitely will not be back here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend wedding crasher
Business
Boston MA
May 27, 2014

Terrible

Cold shower (hotel boiler was broken). Room smelled like a skunk. Poor lighting. No complimentary food or coffee -- $7.50 for a bottle of water. No view (window looked out onto tiny interior courtyard, consisting of a couple of air conditioners sitting on concrete). Highlight: relatively generous check-out time (noon).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recital in nyc
Business
Empire hotel
May 25, 2014

graduation

room was stuffy air not working properly waited firever each time for elevators had an interior room andbit was do dark snd dreary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Need Music
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 2, 2014

Great for concerts at Lincoln Center

Very comfortable bed in a nicely decorated but typically small NY room. Location is adjacent to Lincoln Center, so perfect for getting to bed after the concert. Subway also is right across the street. Coffee and tea in the room cost about the same as at Starbucks on the corner. Gracious lobby has a bar. Staff are helpful. This was my second visit to this hotel, and I'll be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the opera or the symphony or the ballet!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Sam
Business
London
Apr 22, 2014

Good location if seeing a lot of Broadway shows

Overall is it was good except for a couple of annoying things. There didn't seem to be any way to turn down the air con and it was cold on a couple of nights. Many times there were issues with the elevators. Sometimes only one or two out of four were working, which is quite noticeable with such a busy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R William
Business
Connecticut
Apr 15, 2014

Empire pros and cons

Pros: Great location and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Lobby and bar are nice and there are amenities right outside the door (Rx, Starbucks, etc.). Hospitality was very responsive to requests. Rooms are New York sized (small), but at least well designed. In room coffee charges $3 (but Starbucks right outside). No ice machines, but ice on request. Air conditioning is not very effective. Rooftop bar is not run by the hotel and is cheezy, unless you want a bridge and tunnel clientele feel. Security with earpieces control access -- even when the place is empty. It does have a nice view though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daniel Boulud of famed restaurant "Daniel" has 2 restaurants (Boulud Sud, Bar Boulud) and a take-out grab and go shop right across the street.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamawhompa
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 7, 2014

Great location but needs some help

Checked in on a Friday evening, the front desk (especially Jose) was very helpful. The lobby itself was very cold due to the main doors being left open with the wind gusting inside. The decor is very nice and the hotel is clean. Stayed on a lower floor, so street noise was constant. Also, being there on a weekend, there were lines outside the hotel for the bar/club. With that many people coming and going, there was virtually no security. The location is ideal and why we chose to stay here. Across the street from Lincoln Center, 1 block away from the subway and a 5-10 minute walk from Columbus Circle. I got locked into the bathroom on our 2nd day's stay (due to a flimsy door handle) and when I finally got out (thanks to the person I was staying with) went down and told the front desk. I was told that someone would look at it and assumed they did, although the door knob was still bad. Also, they never offered any compensation or anything for my ordeal. The bathroom shower stall was lovely and had nice shower heads available. The space is small and there was peeling paint on the door jam and bathroom door. The beds were comfortable, the TV very large and pillows were great. No heat second day there and asked about that and as told that the "boiler" doesn't come on unless it's colder than 50 degrees. Overall, it was a mixed bag. Great location, with a few things that could be great improved on the inside. Not sure if I would stay there again for the price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a real NYC pizza experience? Try Sacco's. It was recommended by the concierge and was fantastic!

Back to menu Return to top