$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gielamans
Pittsburgh
Sep 23, 2013

In the midst of it all!

Great location , staff great , did not bring up lower rate and even provided room with view when asked nicely thanks nick , the place to be in New York City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim5251
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 6, 2014

Would Not Stay Again

Almost got the feeling that this hotel is getting ready to go out of business. They seemed to not have enough towels for the rooms so sometimes we would get enough towels, sometimes not, I eventually got enough towels a few hours after complaining one day, after that I just gave up. Only two of 4 elevators were working our entire stay, and even the 2 that were working did not work that well, good thing we only had to walk up 5 floors. Really feel for the people that were on the 11th floor. Keys constantly stopped working, I kept having to go down to the front desk to get new keys done, even keys that were not even put near anything stopped working. For the price, this hotel is a MAJOR disappointment. There are much better hotels in New York for what they are charging. I would stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AzMak
Business
Michigan
Jul 5, 2014

Decent Hotel

The elevator at the hotel is poorly serviced. Had to take the stairs all the time while staying there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johny wall street
Business
nj
Jul 1, 2014

great

great scene, comfy bed, great staff, great location, great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

rooftop is great

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Energy
Business
Australia
Jun 26, 2014

Getaway

It convenient to where we wanted to go i.e. Lincoln Centre, shops, subways... Bedroom small and bathroom you can't swing a cat in, air conditioner very loud... Bed and pillows very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SAB Dad
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 25, 2014

Empire fell short of expectations

Bathroom was very small and had evidence of water damage (rust on door hinges and peeling paint). The primary issue was having only half a shower door (slidding half removed) so shower water splashes all over the floor. When I complained about it, I was informed that "all" of the rooms in the hotel have only half a shower door. Fortunately the hotel was willing provide extra towels daily to sop up the water. Though I have limited experinence with Manhattan hotels, next time I will stay somewhere nicer for less money and happily walk a few more blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerMomma
Business
Colorado
Jun 24, 2014

Good location-nothing fancy

Recent 3 night wknd stay at the Empire Hotel was average. We failed to request an interior room so the traffic kept us up at night-windows did not filter anything. Beware: there is a night club upstairs so at closing time- lots of loud people descend the streets below. The pros- room was updated, includes a safe, shower head had great pressure, flat screen tv was nice, comfy beds. The cons: very compact, peeling wallpaper and bathroom door, not much room in bathroom for toiletries, no shower door?, and no complimentary coffee ($3 per Keurig, seriously?) & that darn street noise. We were hardly in the room but expected a cup of coffee and wifi at the very least. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli, Starbucks and coffee cart just around the street, on Broadway south of hotel.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robinlbc
Business
LBC
Jun 23, 2014

Big Apple getaway

I arrived to the hotel at 6am the day of my reservation. The manager was more than accommodating by providing me with a room to check-in well before check-in time. This gave me time to take a shower and get ready for my convention later that day. The food is nothing special but more than adequate. It's tough when your in a city with so many fine dinning establishments to compare, This is my second stay here and would have no problem staying here again. This hotel is a great option for those going to Linchlon Center, who enjoy Central Park, and a great central location for all of NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the continental Breakfast on the roof. Also, the pool is a single person lap pool. The sun deck, views, and.cocktails are great up on top. Stay away from the food up there. It would be better to call for take out from your favorite nearby restaurant. It might even get there quicker.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wonder Woman five 0
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 20, 2014

Location, location, location

Fabulous location and clean, nice rooms are slightly counter-balanced by consistent elevator nightmares & lack of clean restroom facilities in the common areas. Would definitely stay here again because the positives outweigh the negatives but was surprised by some glaring problems that did not seem to be a priority for remedying at the price of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a wonderful gem of a restaurant check out indie food and wine tucked away inside the film center at the Lincoln Center. The students at the School of American Ballet have discovered its virtues & shared this tip. Great atmosphere, no wait even on a Friday night, where the wait time at all other locations hovered at an hour & very tasty food.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Farah Al
Business
New York
Jun 16, 2014

OKAY

Disappointed by the room size and amenities. Definitely the smallest room I've ever stayed in and the shower door was missing in the bathroom, which I thought was really weird. Would not stay there again. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AWLuvTravel
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 12, 2014

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Lobby cool, location great- maybe would stay more central next time, but wonderful neighborhood- next to Central Park & Lincoln Center. You can walk to most other areas for example Times Square is a 20 min. walk away. The door man was super helpful arranging return transportation to airport. Front desk kindly reversed the extra charge for a suite upgrade. The queen bed pull out sofa was terrible. Told a supervisor the fist night but that was pretty much ignored. Told associate upon check out and she was more than helpful. It was not loud like some of the other reviews indicate and we were there on a Sat. The hotel is safe, nice, and good location- would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top