$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chop
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Jul 3, 2013

Canada Day in the Big Apple

From the great location to the romantic rooftop bar, the Empire Hotel satisfied us in every way. The room was small but hey, that's insignificant because it was only for sleeping anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to walk walk walk all over the place. You'll never get bored. There is a lot to look at in New York. Every place is walking distance if you have the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johny wall street
Business
nj
Jul 1, 2014

great

great scene, comfy bed, great staff, great location, great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

rooftop is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SAB Dad
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 25, 2014

Empire fell short of expectations

Bathroom was very small and had evidence of water damage (rust on door hinges and peeling paint). The primary issue was having only half a shower door (slidding half removed) so shower water splashes all over the floor. When I complained about it, I was informed that "all" of the rooms in the hotel have only half a shower door. Fortunately the hotel was willing provide extra towels daily to sop up the water. Though I have limited experinence with Manhattan hotels, next time I will stay somewhere nicer for less money and happily walk a few more blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerMomma
Business
Colorado
Jun 24, 2014

Good location-nothing fancy

Recent 3 night wknd stay at the Empire Hotel was average. We failed to request an interior room so the traffic kept us up at night-windows did not filter anything. Beware: there is a night club upstairs so at closing time- lots of loud people descend the streets below. The pros- room was updated, includes a safe, shower head had great pressure, flat screen tv was nice, comfy beds. The cons: very compact, peeling wallpaper and bathroom door, not much room in bathroom for toiletries, no shower door?, and no complimentary coffee ($3 per Keurig, seriously?) & that darn street noise. We were hardly in the room but expected a cup of coffee and wifi at the very least. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli, Starbucks and coffee cart just around the street, on Broadway south of hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robinlbc
Business
LBC
Jun 23, 2014

Big Apple getaway

I arrived to the hotel at 6am the day of my reservation. The manager was more than accommodating by providing me with a room to check-in well before check-in time. This gave me time to take a shower and get ready for my convention later that day. The food is nothing special but more than adequate. It's tough when your in a city with so many fine dinning establishments to compare, This is my second stay here and would have no problem staying here again. This hotel is a great option for those going to Linchlon Center, who enjoy Central Park, and a great central location for all of NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the continental Breakfast on the roof. Also, the pool is a single person lap pool. The sun deck, views, and.cocktails are great up on top. Stay away from the food up there. It would be better to call for take out from your favorite nearby restaurant. It might even get there quicker.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wonder Woman five 0
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 20, 2014

Location, location, location

Fabulous location and clean, nice rooms are slightly counter-balanced by consistent elevator nightmares & lack of clean restroom facilities in the common areas. Would definitely stay here again because the positives outweigh the negatives but was surprised by some glaring problems that did not seem to be a priority for remedying at the price of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a wonderful gem of a restaurant check out indie food and wine tucked away inside the film center at the Lincoln Center. The students at the School of American Ballet have discovered its virtues & shared this tip. Great atmosphere, no wait even on a Friday night, where the wait time at all other locations hovered at an hour & very tasty food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Farah Al
Business
New York
Jun 16, 2014

OKAY

Disappointed by the room size and amenities. Definitely the smallest room I've ever stayed in and the shower door was missing in the bathroom, which I thought was really weird. Would not stay there again. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AWLuvTravel
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 12, 2014

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Lobby cool, location great- maybe would stay more central next time, but wonderful neighborhood- next to Central Park & Lincoln Center. You can walk to most other areas for example Times Square is a 20 min. walk away. The door man was super helpful arranging return transportation to airport. Front desk kindly reversed the extra charge for a suite upgrade. The queen bed pull out sofa was terrible. Told a supervisor the fist night but that was pretty much ignored. Told associate upon check out and she was more than helpful. It was not loud like some of the other reviews indicate and we were there on a Sat. The hotel is safe, nice, and good location- would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ritin77
Business
NJ
Jun 11, 2014

Great Minus the Broken Elevator

The rooms were small but average for NYC. The AC didnt really keep the room that cool it was hard for it to keep up. The rooftop pool deck was good minus the fact I think non-hotel people were up there and we were lucky to get a chair. The drink service took forever so we just kept walking down to the 10th floor and got over selves drinks. The worst part by far was that not all the elevators were working so my mother and her friend who has hip problems had to walk down and up 10 flights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sabrina123
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Jun 10, 2014

And the nightmare began......

First impression: Adams family meets Lion King decor and cocktail lighting makes it impossible to see anything let alone put on makeup., First room was marginally larger than the bed - no room for 2 people to pass each other without one jumping on the bed. Upgraded to larger room with 2 queens, but same problem in negotiating the room. Only 2 small drawers . No where to hang dresses without them hitting the divider in the closet. Bathroom was a total joke. We were going to a very formal wedding but the boiler broke and we had rusty, dirty cold water to bathe in. No hope of repair before we left. Management tried to help, but they are swimming upstream here.. You had to close the door to use the sink behind it. The toilet leaked onto the floor and flooded the room. No one was sent to fix it until the 3rd call. Hotel is in serious need of re-habbing and bring your own lightbulbs if you want to see your face. mezzanine restroom was awful - no toilet paper or towels anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skip A
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 2, 2014

Wow!

The room was a corner suite with a great view of the Lincoln Center and a park below looking West and North. It was fun to be in the upper West side with the restaurants, shops and activities. The Metro was a short 4 block walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Amber asian restaurant was a very pleasant meal at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top