$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JDuff
Business
Virgina
Jul 19, 2014

Not really a 4 Star Hotel

The Hotel staff were very good from the bell men to the front desk people. Room was small but not a big problem as we were out off the room early and came back late. The decor is 70’s and does not apper to have been updated since then. The area is excellent. If you plan on spending most of your time out of your room it is a good deal. Maybe a 3 1/2 star except for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park you car yourself directly behind the hotel. $40/day verses $70 if they park it for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susan217
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 17, 2014

Visiting family and friends

There were things that were great, like the proximity to friends and family, the comfortable bed and roof top deck. The sink and shower design was not very practical/functional. When we were given keys to the wrong room and someone was already in it. They apologized and gave us free wifi and breakfast vouchers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoctorBAS
Business
phoenix az
Jul 16, 2014

Great Location

It has a great location but is trying too hard to be trendy with loud music in the Lobby, open door shower, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slmig
Business
New york
Jul 14, 2014

What Pool????

We live 30 north of NYC and wanted a 1 day getaway to relax, so we hit the big apple, street fairs, Dinner Jazz Club, all great , well we arrived at the Empire at 330 pm and checked in promptly all seemed great, pretty lobby ect. We booked this hotel for the roof top pool and lounge, looked amazing on the website.... Wellll pictures are definately deceiving!!! Firsts you take the elevator to the 11th floor then walk up 21/2 flights not a big deal, except if your drinking and need to get down, which we werent, but we both said the same thing. We arrived on the deck and there was a quaint bar and a nice space of chairs and people getting some sun. So where's the pool, we saw a beautiful pool online, we walked over to see this dark murky pool maybe 4 feet wide by 12 feet if that long with 3 people in it lol we both looked at each other and laughed are you kidding, this is what we paid extra for? not good not at all should have paid 50 more and stayed at the parker. Our room was ok very small tho, and we asked the desk about it and they said we actually have smaller and thought was funny, and he also said we are over booked and thats whats left, We my weekend with my darling was great dispite the hotel which again horrible but truth in advertising would be nice dont believe the website section on the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Typical Texan
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 7, 2014

Good location

Pros: great location, near Central Park and Upper West Side, great rooftop pool/view, staff was nice Cons: the elevators were broken all weekend, one group even got stuck and the fire department had to come get them out, I spent on average 20 mins waiting for the elevator to get us and take us each time during our whole stay Thursday-Sunday, the pool was full of kids running around and was not relaxing, the air con has two settings: on and off, layer up at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaurennA
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Good Hotel for the Price

Room was a decent size and clean. Comfy bed and nice shower. The only disappointment was the rooftop pool, which is incredibly tiny. But if the pool isn't the main draw for you, it's a good value and good location. Beautiful views from the rooftop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coco around the world
Business
Mexico
Jul 7, 2014

Couple of days layover

The hotel was just ok. The staff was ok, but I was expecting them to be friendlier. The elevators were broken, so I needed to use the stair which were pretty dirty. The location of the hotel is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LERMMR
Business
Palm Springts
Jul 6, 2014

Big Disappointment

Nice Lobby, Nice room but elevators broken entire trip, thank goodness we were only on the second floor, had to use stairs, and shower did not work, waited 45 minutes and no one came so we just checked out, not a 4 Star hotel, they are just not keeping up with maintenance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smith is a nice NY type restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim5251
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 6, 2014

Would Not Stay Again

Almost got the feeling that this hotel is getting ready to go out of business. They seemed to not have enough towels for the rooms so sometimes we would get enough towels, sometimes not, I eventually got enough towels a few hours after complaining one day, after that I just gave up. Only two of 4 elevators were working our entire stay, and even the 2 that were working did not work that well, good thing we only had to walk up 5 floors. Really feel for the people that were on the 11th floor. Keys constantly stopped working, I kept having to go down to the front desk to get new keys done, even keys that were not even put near anything stopped working. For the price, this hotel is a MAJOR disappointment. There are much better hotels in New York for what they are charging. I would stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AzMak
Business
Michigan
Jul 5, 2014

Decent Hotel

The elevator at the hotel is poorly serviced. Had to take the stairs all the time while staying there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top