$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active Traveller...
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 26, 2013

Excellent service, location and friendly staff...

This was the third time I had stayed at the Empire Hotel the past few months, and I found the overall service and experience getting better each time. Ideal location - adjacent to Lincoln Center, Central Park and Times Square. I would strongly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally Green
Couples
Frankfort, IL
Oct 20, 2014

Long Week-end in NYC

The Empire was recommended to us by a New York resident as one of their favorite places to stay. The location was excellent, and the size was quite nice. Large enough to have all of the amenities we like to have, but not so large that you have to wait forever for the elevator or to speak to someone at the desk. We did book the deluxe room so we would have a little extra space, so we were comfortable. There were some very nice restaurants near by as well as quick stop restaurants and food carts. The subway was only a five minute walk. I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I do wish I had checked out the schedule for the Lincoln Center as we might have attended an event there if I had known we were right across the street.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S T S
Couples
Seattle, WA
Oct 20, 2014

NYC trip

Spent a few days in NYC and just needed a good clean room to sleep in at night. This wasn't anything fancy but it was clean, fairly quiet, and easy to navigate the city from with a subway stop a couple blocks away. The room was small but that's to be expected in the city. Staff was helpful too. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whale Collector
Friends
Richmond, VA
Oct 19, 2014

Great Location

Excellent hotel in a great location. Have to pay extra for wi-fi though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cccmcc
Couples
Palm Springs
Oct 5, 2014

It was all good

We stayed in a deluxe room which is bigger than a norm room...worth it because we had friends in the smaller room who said theirs was smaller than small. Great hotel staff, elevators are old n slow. Location was Grade A!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is across the street and great food all around...

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katiloo
Business
Connecticut
Oct 5, 2014

Great local and cosy room

The location couldn't get better -right across the street from the Met Opera- and the rooms are small but very cosy and functional. The bathrooms are getting tired (I stayed twice this week in two different rooms and both bathrooms were like this) - the paint on the door is peeling, probably because both of the shower heads spray water all over the bathroom and need to be fixed. Other than that, great room, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeowMeow3
Friends
Long Island, New York
Oct 4, 2014

Great Hotel in Lincoln Center

Stayed overnight at The Empire with a girlfriend for a Ladies Night Out in the City. Hotel was perfect. Very clean and comfortable, and close to everything. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The booker
Business
San Francisco. CA
Oct 3, 2014

Good stay

The hotel is located one block from Central Park, Lincoln Center and three blocks from Columbus Circle. It's walking distance to Time Square-area and all the Broadway shows. The room and bathroom was not very big but well equipped, nice and clean. AC was alright, but really noisy. Try to get a room high up in the building as the traffic is close. I would choose the Empire again when visiting NYC for the price it was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC10014
Single
New York, NY
Sep 11, 2014

Good for Lincoln Center stay

Perfect location if you want to do anything at Lincoln Center. Good P.J. Clarke's downstairs. The room and bed were fine, the bathroom a bit awkward. Good place to stay a night or two

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Epicerie Boulud!!!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dean Y
Family
Boston
Sep 4, 2014

Great location, quality of room is just fair

It doesn't get any better as far as location. In the middle of everything. We watched an outdoor opera every night. Down the street from Central park. It was a warm week in NYC. The air conditioning struggled to keep up. the workmanship of the room was only fair. It was really nice to have a small pool on the roof to cool off. The view from there was amazing as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center/Central park are very close by.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raffy1117
Couples
Long beach, ny
Sep 3, 2014

Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can get some sun with some cocktails and option of pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Roof deck has awesome food and cocktails. You can get sun and have a cocktail and take dip in the pool. Great summer getaway

Back to menu Return to top