$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skip A
Des Moines, IA
Jun 2, 2014

Wow!

The room was a corner suite with a great view of the Lincoln Center and a park below looking West and North. It was fun to be in the upper West side with the restaurants, shops and activities. The Metro was a short 4 block walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Amber asian restaurant was a very pleasant meal at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaximusVII
Business
CT
Nov 18, 2014

Great hotel next to NYC ballet

Great hotel. Very clean and within 2 min walk to NYC ballet. It felt like they were not very happy that I got this deal online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NYC ballet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EL TOPO GiGIO
Business
NYC
Nov 17, 2014

Another Chi chi hotel

The place is just too chi chi for my taste. Much attention paid to having a trendy night club and bar and not enough attention paid to quality in the rooms. It was renovated very cheaply and it looks it. I can't believe there are still hotels that charge for internet. I dislike the dimmly lit floors adn the elevators are still from the 60's. That is the first thing that should have been renovated. The only thing this Hotel has going is the excellente location in fornt of LIncoln Center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cccmcc
Business
Palm Springs
Nov 3, 2014

good location

was a great trip and best was the Empires location! Great Lobby...thanks to everyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma 'M'
Business
Ellington, CT
Oct 28, 2014

Convenient location

The Empire Hotel is conveniently located across the street from Lincoln Center. No need to take a cab - great! It's clean and the staff is professional. Ed;s Chowder House, located within the hotel is an excellent choice for pre-theater and after theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally Green
Business
Frankfort, IL
Oct 20, 2014

Long Week-end in NYC

The Empire was recommended to us by a New York resident as one of their favorite places to stay. The location was excellent, and the size was quite nice. Large enough to have all of the amenities we like to have, but not so large that you have to wait forever for the elevator or to speak to someone at the desk. We did book the deluxe room so we would have a little extra space, so we were comfortable. There were some very nice restaurants near by as well as quick stop restaurants and food carts. The subway was only a five minute walk. I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I do wish I had checked out the schedule for the Lincoln Center as we might have attended an event there if I had known we were right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S T S
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 20, 2014

NYC trip

Spent a few days in NYC and just needed a good clean room to sleep in at night. This wasn't anything fancy but it was clean, fairly quiet, and easy to navigate the city from with a subway stop a couple blocks away. The room was small but that's to be expected in the city. Staff was helpful too. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whale Collector
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 19, 2014

Great Location

Excellent hotel in a great location. Have to pay extra for wi-fi though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cccmcc
Business
Palm Springs
Oct 5, 2014

It was all good

We stayed in a deluxe room which is bigger than a norm room...worth it because we had friends in the smaller room who said theirs was smaller than small. Great hotel staff, elevators are old n slow. Location was Grade A!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is across the street and great food all around...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katiloo
Business
Connecticut
Oct 5, 2014

Great local and cosy room

The location couldn't get better -right across the street from the Met Opera- and the rooms are small but very cosy and functional. The bathrooms are getting tired (I stayed twice this week in two different rooms and both bathrooms were like this) - the paint on the door is peeling, probably because both of the shower heads spray water all over the bathroom and need to be fixed. Other than that, great room, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeowMeow3
Business
Long Island, New York
Oct 4, 2014

Great Hotel in Lincoln Center

Stayed overnight at The Empire with a girlfriend for a Ladies Night Out in the City. Hotel was perfect. Very clean and comfortable, and close to everything. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top