$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York fan2
Couples
Bucaramanga, Colombia
Apr 1, 2014

Good hotel ear central park and everything

good room, nice room city view, nice lobby and public zones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central park

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
staba
Couples
ny, ny
Dec 1, 2014

Great couples weekend

Had a great weekend away for our anniversay! Great location and clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler CL
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 26, 2014

Clean hotel

Nice clean hotel. However, when I checked out, the hotel confirmed I had no charges. I then had a charge on my credit card for several coffees and condiments, which I didn't consume. After calling the hotel, they refunded me for only a partial amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
Mexico
Nov 23, 2014

Great Value

It´s remodeled. Location is amazing and price very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Dallasite
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 23, 2014

Great spot

This is a great NYC hotel value. The hotel is well-located and has a fun atmosphere. My room was big by New York standards, plush, stylish and very comfortable. My only complaint it that the bathroom shower was out-dated. Overall, a great spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Challahmom
Couples
St. Petersburg, FL
Nov 19, 2014

Awaiting courtesy reponse from management

We always enjoy staying herel. We've been staying there for years. We stayed for 5 nights this visit and had a problem with the heater making the room "unbearably" hot. The issue was resolved on the third day of our stay. Unfortunately, the last night and morning the problem returned. Upon checkout we told the front desk about the problem. They said that because we had prepaid, there was nothing they could do. The front desk agent told us someone from Management would get in touch with us. Two weeks passed and we have yet to hear from the the hJotel management. A belated coutey call would be appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaximusVII
Friends
CT
Nov 18, 2014

Great hotel next to NYC ballet

Great hotel. Very clean and within 2 min walk to NYC ballet. It felt like they were not very happy that I got this deal online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NYC ballet

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EL TOPO GiGIO
Business
NYC
Nov 17, 2014

Another Chi chi hotel

The place is just too chi chi for my taste. Much attention paid to having a trendy night club and bar and not enough attention paid to quality in the rooms. It was renovated very cheaply and it looks it. I can't believe there are still hotels that charge for internet. I dislike the dimmly lit floors adn the elevators are still from the 60's. That is the first thing that should have been renovated. The only thing this Hotel has going is the excellente location in fornt of LIncoln Center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cccmcc
Couples
Palm Springs
Nov 3, 2014

good location

was a great trip and best was the Empires location! Great Lobby...thanks to everyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma 'M'
Family
Ellington, CT
Oct 28, 2014

Convenient location

The Empire Hotel is conveniently located across the street from Lincoln Center. No need to take a cab - great! It's clean and the staff is professional. Ed;s Chowder House, located within the hotel is an excellent choice for pre-theater and after theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally Green
Couples
Frankfort, IL
Oct 20, 2014

Long Week-end in NYC

The Empire was recommended to us by a New York resident as one of their favorite places to stay. The location was excellent, and the size was quite nice. Large enough to have all of the amenities we like to have, but not so large that you have to wait forever for the elevator or to speak to someone at the desk. We did book the deluxe room so we would have a little extra space, so we were comfortable. There were some very nice restaurants near by as well as quick stop restaurants and food carts. The subway was only a five minute walk. I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I do wish I had checked out the schedule for the Lincoln Center as we might have attended an event there if I had known we were right across the street.

Back to menu Return to top