$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 18, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
283 reviews
Opera trip

Fabulous location near the opera house, subway and bus, and fine restaurants. See full review

  • Winfield
  • Feb 23, 2015
Regular

I book lots of hotels for my boss and this is his most requested hotel. The location is amazing and... See full review

  • Mindy L.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (283)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 11, 2009

Fantastic Getaway For Two!

The Empire Hotel is in an excellent location. I would definitely stay there again. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful from the front desk to the maids. If you need an iron, you can ask and the hotel will bring one to your room. The rooms are small but decorated very trendy and nice. Tip: the bathroom waste container is under the bathroom cabinet. We couldn't find till well into our stay. The hotel is near Lincoln Center, a short walk to Columbus Circle, a short walk and you are in Central Park, a short walk and your are at Times Square. It isn't the quietest hotel but I didn't think it was overly noisy either. The noise didn't seem to bother me, in fact I rather enjoyed it, the hustle bustle of New York starting her day! Obviously, there were no mini coffee pots in the room, but you could go to the hotel restaurant or get room service. It was easier to go to the Starbucks that was literally out the hotel, turn the corner, Starbucks. We had a great time in New York and were very pleased with our stay at the Empire Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the subway! We were there for 5 nights. We got a subway map and just went for it. People in New York are so friendly and helpful. We were able to go all over, get off at whatever stop we wanted, and then walk all over New York. Got lots of exercise, too. We only took a cab to a broadway show one night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 3, 2009

Very nice hotel in a great location!

The hotel is in an excellent location, and as an added bonus has a Starbucks and a Duane Reade right around the corner! Rooms are smallish, but that's the norm in NYC. Very clean and comfortable, with a pleasant lobby area. Friendly staff. There's a very popular rooftop bar, so it was a bit crazy on Friday night (and we had some loud "kids" on our floor who were very loud and rude that night, though, that's not the hotel's fault). I will most definitely stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tennis whoe
Business
NC
Sep 19, 2009

us open weekend

Their restaurant is under renovation and NO coffee pot in each room. Starbucks is next door, but it would have been nice to have a small pot to start the day. The Empire has a roof top bar/club and they play music until 2 or so in the am. If you are on one of the top floors--I hope you are a sound sleeper. The Rooms and hotel lobby had great decor and the location is wonderful. Across the street from the Lincoln ctr and just a few blocks away from Central park. Good subway access and great help from staff to hail taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The big toed traveler
Business
Temple City, CA
Sep 2, 2009

Crazy girls getaway

The hotel is 3 blks from central park, across the street from Lincoln Center and close to several subway stations. The front desk clerk was very friendly/helpful. We were upgraded from a superior to a deluxe room. The room was very spacious. The beds were clean, comfortable although the room did have a slight mildewy smell, which may be due to the fact that the shower had no door and water goes everywhere. My biggest complaint would be the size of the bathroom, tiny, your knees would touch the door when you sat on the toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renardette
Business
NY
Sep 2, 2009

Great place

Everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Rooftop bar is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me & Mrs.
Business
Delmont, Pa
Aug 10, 2009

Ideally located, cozy room, small bath,

We bought a New York City pass and toured the entire island. I would recommend doing that again; from the Top of the Rock, Ellis Island, NBC studios, Empire State building, and the big red bus. As our first trip, with the Empire Hotel tied in, I would rate it an 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street at Josephine's is a wonderful cafe menue, moderately priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Naancee
Business
Darien, Il.
Jul 2, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Excellent location. Our room had a view overlooking Lincoln Center...ideal as we merely walked across the street to see our daughter perform with American Ballet Theatre at the Metropolitan Opera House. Would have enjoyed a coffee-maker in the room. Far and away better than the hotels we stayed at on previous visits. In evening bedding turned down and cookie treat left on night stand. Terry cloth robes, umbrella available for use. More space would be available in room if chose room with one bed rather than two (this 2-bed room was available to occupy on our early arrival).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From Empire Hotel, one block to Central Park, a short walk to Columbus Circle and Time Warner; a little longer walk to Times Square (save on cab fare).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WinTakeAll
Business
Silicon Valley, California
Jun 30, 2009

Nice but small rooms, tiny and cold pool

Interiors are recently renovated, very modern and stylish, although I'm personally not a great friend of the dark brown color scheme. Rooms are very nice but small. You can't find the floorspace to do some push-ups in either their one-queenbed or even a two-queenbed room. You can't get breakfast at the hotel, but there are plenty of options within a block. The rooftop pool not warm and very small, though the views are nice there. The nightclub crowd is going to like this hotel 'cause as a guest you get in the VIP line into the pretty cool bar/nightclub with a retractable roof on top. Thu-Sat nights there's a long line of non-guests waiting to get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
May 25, 2009

Empire Rocks

location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 24, 2009

Tiny rooms, Too Expensive

I was shocked to see a 20% service charge for drinks for 4 people. 10-15% is standard. Wine glasses were not changed in the rooms. Had to call several times(we were there 5 days) for new wash clothes and bath mat. Tiny rooms, no storage space, bathroom tiny as well. Much prefered the Chambers Hotel, but this was more convenient to where our son lived. We would not recommend at the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

10 Downing in the West End was exceptional! Excellent food, service, and reasonalby priced wine as well as the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top