$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jet set jenny
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 19, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price!

We were so close to everything (including subway) we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. Although the room was not overly large as previously mentioned in the reviews- for a couple, this room is perfect. Yes, the bathroom was kind of small, but we weren't in our hotel long enough to care. The bar has a great vibe and on the weekends, the Rooftop Lounge is where all of the hip, young New Yorkers go to be seen. Central Park, Starbucks galore, wine shop, great restaurants- sushi, pizza, brunch, Italian, French and Roman restaurants are all within just a few blocks of the hotel. The Lincoln Square mall is just around the corner if you need to shop at a few "higher- end" stores. Comparatively speaking- the hotel was better than we have experienced with other travel sites. The pictures were accurate- there was no bait and switch tactic. Our car service [...] picked us up on time- each time. Promptly took us to our hotel where the staff was waiting on us. We were given a room with a view without requesting and were treated very courteously. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
illinois
Nov 16, 2009

Very Impressed

We spend 1 weekend every year in New York with friends. We have stayed at many different places around time square. The Empire Hotel worked out great. Very comtemporary and fun. We would stay there again. The service was better than other hotels we have stayed at in the same price range or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Pop
Business
Lynbrook, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel; Great location

We have opera tickets for both Saturday night & sunday morning so decided to stay in Manhattan for a night. Hotel is across the street from Lincoln Center. Lots of good restaurants in the area. Hotel is very clean; staff attentive; room was small but typical size for a NYC hotel room. Great lounge near the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally across the street from LIncoln Center.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Great Location... Rooftop Bar Fabulous!

The rooms were decorated beautifully... small but pretty. Bathroom was small but adequate. Loved the rooftop bar with the view. Great location and convenient to subways and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is easiest way to get to and from the hotel and saves you $$.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New New Yorker's Dad
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 12, 2009

Good (not great) Hotel

The room was very clean and well appointed, and the bed was super comfortable. There were none of the usual amenities (no coffee or coffee maker, microwave oven, stationery, ironing board or iron or hair dryer). The bathroom was clean and the fixtures were in good shape and contemporary, but was extremely poorly engineered. No bath tub, and the shower stall had no door. Shower water sprayed all over the room and soaked the floor and most of the towels. The sink was square, flat and very shallow. When the sink spigot is turned on, water splashes all over the front of the user. The toilet had to be jiggled after flushing or would run all night. The location was super, across the street from Lincoln center, and the two restaurants attached to the building were excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves New York
Business
Orange County, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Great trendy hotel

Great boutique hotel, fantastic location, excellent rooftop bar. Definitely not a hotel to stay with your kids, it is trendy, cute hotel. The rooms were a good size, for all those that say it is small, well you haven't lived in New York. The size of the room was exactly as I expected, if not a big more spacious. Well decorated hotel and this is an excellent location, close to all subways, Central Park, etc. Would highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Rooftop bar is a great place to start the evening. Excellent atmosphere and great music, plus you don't have to worry about the line which is an added plus. Built in entertainment venue.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norway
Nov 9, 2009

Empire Hotel

Good service from hotel staff. Very variable service (from day to day) at breakfast restaurant. Hotel i s great for running or walking in Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Nov 5, 2009

Don't bother

We were there for medical reasons and they first put us in a large room but it was filled with smoke and uninhabitable. We asked to be changed and they gave us a really really small room, the bath was so tiny and for the cost of two nights it was definitely not worth it and we would never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, UK
Nov 4, 2009

Great location and good service

I booked with Orbitz a standard double double but phoned the hotel later to upgrade to a superior room. On the arrival day we were coming late from Washington so I phoned Empire to confirm that we'd get the superior room. Unfortunately when we arrived late at 11 pm they run out of superior rooms that evening even though they confirmed it earlier that day! I complained and my complain was handled very professionally. We got an upgrade to a higher grade room for the whole stay at no additional costs and a complementary breakfast! I would also like to praise Orbitz because of their transparent and fair pricing; they said that all taxes were included and they were, we didn't have to pay anything extra! When I booked with other online travel agents in the past(I WASN'T ALLOWED TO MENTION THEIR NAME)I always ended up paying 20% more when checking out even though they also claimed that taxes were included.... Thanks Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The whole food supermarket in the Times Warner building is a real experience; good for breakfast, lunch or just to get a quick snack or drink....

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Clarks
Business
Ann Arbor Mi
Oct 19, 2009

We had a blast

We did a lot of sightseeing in NYC, which meant we walked and walked everyday. We were pretty tired by the time we got back to the hotel, so the comfortable bed was a big plus. The maid service would usually come to the room when they noticed we were back, asking if we needed anything. While this was nice, it really wasn't necessary, since they'd already made the bed and cleaned up earlier. The room was small, but that wasn't really a problem. The lack of a dresser was disappointing. A suitcase stand under the window would have been a good substitute. The location was ideal for us - close to the subway, bus, Lincoln Center, Central Park and Columbus Circle. All in all we would stay at the Empire Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is just across the street.

Back to menu Return to top