$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Dec 28, 2009

They tried to make it right

We (family of 4- 2 young adult daughers) were in the city for an overnght and to see a broadway play. The hotel was first class from the start. the front desk upgraged us to a superior room without asking- the room was large, well appointed and very clean- BUT we did had an issue with the heat. Mantainence came immediately and "took care of the problem".. WE found we could not sleep in the room as the temperature never came down. The hotel was accomadating and eventually moved us to two separate rooms- one was great the other was a smoking room but at least the temperature was cool. Overall we would stay again as everyone was very helpful and the hotel was lovely-- just somethings can't be controlled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Room 101
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Dec 21, 2009

Rm 101 Shower - No Hot Water or Pressure

Room was SMALL but clean, heat difficult to work. Bed was comfortable, but shower had no pressure or hot water. That wasn't pleasant. Toothpaste taken at airport, charged $17 at hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
warren, oh
Dec 21, 2009

great location and stay

Great location, easy check in and out. Small rooms but who stays in the room anyhow? Comfortable beds, clean room, friendly staff. Lounge was loud and music drifted up,and down from the rooftop bar but just turned on the tv and it drowned it out.Would definately go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Dec 13, 2009

Beware of this hotel practiices.

Terrible staff service, paid for king size bed had to be fought for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dancer91
Business
france
Dec 7, 2009

Great views over Lincoln Center.

I was there for business and the internet hook up in the room NEVER worked,despite attempts made by the front desk. I had room service several times as I was working late. The menu was great and the service was excellent, but the food was awefull! The rooms were never fully cleaned, which was unfortunate as the beds and linens were first rate; The bathrooms are a joke! Way to small and very uncomfortable even though they made a "design" effort with the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center has it all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New England tourist
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 6, 2009

A mixed hotel experience.

The room and the bathroom were really small even by New York standards. There were no instructions in the room as to how to use the shower (which was complicated) or the telephone or how to call the front desk. We had an adjoining room and the people next door partied all night and their cigarette smoke came into our room. We had a non-smoking room. The restaurant on the second floor was OK for a snack but the breakfast service was a disaster. We will definitely not stay here again even though it is right across from Lincoln Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was across the intersection from Lincoln Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilmington nc
Dec 1, 2009

great hotel very confused staff

Hotel is beautiful and wonderful location!!! The only problem was that the staff seemed overwhelmed and confused!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, Ma
Nov 30, 2009

Pretty good stay

We had booked 2 rooms and asked for adjacent room for me and my son which they told me that the hotel was book solid and unable to accommodate us. I expected that the Empire Hotel to be traditional old hotel but was pleasantly surprised that it is quite modern. The staff are friendly and the apple was delicious. The room was big enough for my husband and me. The hotel was very closed to Central Park which we took advantage of to walk around. The location is a little far from Radio City Music Hall which is our reason for the trip - to see the Rockettes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 26, 2009

Nice hotel in a great location

I was in town to audition for Who Wants to be a Millionaire. The room was quite small but very functional. Fitness center was small but everything worked, a real unusual thing. Desk clerk gave a good recommendation for a sports bar to watch the games. Breakfast buffet very overpriced for the quality. Coffee was good but the food choices were sparse. Marriott Courtyard has a much better one. I didn't make the show. So it goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center across the street. Don't go on Monday since all of the theaters are closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Nov 24, 2009

Emipire Hotel REview

Great location, wonderful service, great rooms. New rooftop bar that everyone in NYC seems to know about and want to go to. VERY small gym, but near central park if you want to go for a run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top