$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston, MA
Jul 26, 2010

Fantastic Hotel on Upper West Side

Rooftop pool area had fantastic views of the city, especially beautiful at night w/ the cool breeze. 15 min walk to Hudson River-great parks along the river. 5min walk to columbus circle & central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stuf
Couples
Maryland
Apr 11, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We have been to this hotel many time and had a great experience.This was the first time that we booked with [...]the room was of greatly inferior quality compare to rooms of the same price booked directly through the hotel. Very dark, very noisy we had to keep the windows open and someone from floors above through a still lighted sigarette that from the open window fell on our carpet during the night....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Philadlephia PA
Apr 11, 2010

Irresponsible and Disastrous

The hotel overbooked (they said they had some damage to a floor which caused them to cancel rooms but as we travelled by the hotel, all floors looked booked.) We were informed that a wedding and two conventions had to take priority over our visit and we were unceremoniously relocated to another hotel all the way across town. My parents arrived first and were simply told it was not their problem and that we should contact [...] We needed to be close to Lincoln Center which is the only reason we booked this hotel in the first place. Until we called the hotel to discuss what they could do they were prepared to simply tell my parents to go to another hotel nearly 20 minutes away. The best they did was put us up in a queen room at the Hudson...Smallest room ever. Although the front desk manager was helpful, while we waited for a new hotel room which took nearly 4 hours, many people arrived at the hotel and checked into their room. As they told me, they simply took priority over booking with [...]. I will never recommend, stay or every even suggest any hotel associated with the Empire, the chain[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlanta resident
Couples
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 31, 2010

Great location!

Great location right near Lincoln Center and close to Columbus circle and the Time Warner Center. The staff was very nice and everyone had a smile on their face. They were eager to help and most accomodating. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms reflect this. They were very attractive but small. We enjoyed our stay - we were on the 10th floor and must say it was very quiet and we were not bothered by sounds of the NY traffic. We would definitely stay at the Empire Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tulsa OK
Mar 17, 2010

Great location.

We stayed at The Empire Hotel because it was suggested by others. It was very close to the Lincoln Center where we went to an opera and the Met Audition Finals. The room was small which we understand is standard in NY for the price we paid. The decor of the hotel was outstanding and the rooms were clean. I did not like NO CLOSET, only 4 hangars, no counter in the bathroom, not enough light in the bathroom or the room and it was hard to see to put on makeup or other things requiring a mirror. The music in lobby was too loud. It was turned down when we mentioned it, but we were told the manager likes it that way. It was too loud to comfortably have a drink in the lounge. I just don't get that. I don't know if I ever will stay in this hotel again. It's too bad because it is so convenient to the the things we like to do in NY. The personnel who handled the doors and called the cabs for us were very, very competent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kajrah
Single
Tulsa, OK
Mar 15, 2010

Location excellent, some inconveniences.

There could not be a better location if you plan to attend any events at Lincoln Center, which I did. You just walk across the street. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated. Now for the bad news: The bathrooms are too small - there is no countertop - no place to put your curling iron, etc. Also, the area for hanging your clothes (can't really call it a closet) is WAY too small. Just three little knobs to put hangers on. For some reason they feel they have to BLAST the music in the lobby/bar area - it sounds like a dance club, and it's not. My group would have stopped for a nightcap before going upstairs, but it was just too loud. No coffee maker in the room, no coffee anywhere. Starbucks is right next door, though. Maybe they made a deal with them to not provide coffee? If you can put up with these inconveniences, it's a nice place to stay, and a decent price for New York. Again, the location is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Norfolk, VA
Feb 27, 2010

Great Room, Service, Value and Location!

This was our 2nd stay at The Empire Hotel. On both visits we attended the Met Opera performances which is only a block away. Excellent restaurants are also a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Florello's is an excellent restaurant and was not crowded at 5:30 pm. It is across the street from the hotel. Their seafood specialty dish was delicious. Le Pain Quot iden -- 60 W. 65th St. is our favorite for breakfast with fresh bread and organic food. Ed's Chowder House -- adjacent to Hotel -- also has a good breakfast buffet and dinner seafood menu.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Corpus Christi, TX
Feb 15, 2010

Great hotel

Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
baltimore
Feb 1, 2010

Trendy, upbeat, great location, good val

Really enjoyed staying at the Empire Hotel. I was there for the NY Gift show. Great location, friendly staff fun decor. Had a delicious dinner at Ed's Chowder House it was a Saturday night and very crowded. [...] the bartender made me feel right at home even though dining at the bar solo. My room had 2 double beds and was very cozy. Can not imagine more than 2 in the room. The bathroom is very small and poorly designed. The shower is terrible. That is my only complaint. I will stay there again for sure, next time to take my daughter to the ballet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Central Jersey, NJ
Jan 31, 2010

Not what was expected?

We got to the hotel to find the room clean, there were numerous things to eat and drink in the room....but then you saw the cost. There were no glasses in the room to have a drink, so we called down for some, but they didn't come within a half hour so we went out to do some sight seeing and get dinner. We got back to the room to find the glasses there and the room made up, we came prepared this time with drinks, but wait no ice. A phone call and a half hour later the ice was brought up to the room. The electric heat was constantly clicking on and off throughout the night in the other room but not working at all in the bedroom, and was enough to wake us up every time it did turn on or do whatever it was doing. Then we went to take a shower in the morning to find that half of the glass shower door was missing. All in all not a good stay... Now the parking, not electing to get valet, the total for parking was [$], for less than 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to times square, very short walk to central park.

Back to menu Return to top