$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
268 reviews
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadlephia PA
Apr 11, 2010

Irresponsible and Disastrous

The hotel overbooked (they said they had some damage to a floor which caused them to cancel rooms but as we travelled by the hotel, all floors looked booked.) We were informed that a wedding and two conventions had to take priority over our visit and we were unceremoniously relocated to another hotel all the way across town. My parents arrived first and were simply told it was not their problem and that we should contact [...] We needed to be close to Lincoln Center which is the only reason we booked this hotel in the first place. Until we called the hotel to discuss what they could do they were prepared to simply tell my parents to go to another hotel nearly 20 minutes away. The best they did was put us up in a queen room at the Hudson...Smallest room ever. Although the front desk manager was helpful, while we waited for a new hotel room which took nearly 4 hours, many people arrived at the hotel and checked into their room. As they told me, they simply took priority over booking with [...]. I will never recommend, stay or every even suggest any hotel associated with the Empire, the chain[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stuf
Business
Maryland
Apr 11, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We have been to this hotel many time and had a great experience.This was the first time that we booked with [...]the room was of greatly inferior quality compare to rooms of the same price booked directly through the hotel. Very dark, very noisy we had to keep the windows open and someone from floors above through a still lighted sigarette that from the open window fell on our carpet during the night....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlanta resident
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 31, 2010

Great location!

Great location right near Lincoln Center and close to Columbus circle and the Time Warner Center. The staff was very nice and everyone had a smile on their face. They were eager to help and most accomodating. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms reflect this. They were very attractive but small. We enjoyed our stay - we were on the 10th floor and must say it was very quiet and we were not bothered by sounds of the NY traffic. We would definitely stay at the Empire Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa OK
Mar 17, 2010

Great location.

We stayed at The Empire Hotel because it was suggested by others. It was very close to the Lincoln Center where we went to an opera and the Met Audition Finals. The room was small which we understand is standard in NY for the price we paid. The decor of the hotel was outstanding and the rooms were clean. I did not like NO CLOSET, only 4 hangars, no counter in the bathroom, not enough light in the bathroom or the room and it was hard to see to put on makeup or other things requiring a mirror. The music in lobby was too loud. It was turned down when we mentioned it, but we were told the manager likes it that way. It was too loud to comfortably have a drink in the lounge. I just don't get that. I don't know if I ever will stay in this hotel again. It's too bad because it is so convenient to the the things we like to do in NY. The personnel who handled the doors and called the cabs for us were very, very competent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kajrah
Business
Tulsa, OK
Mar 15, 2010

Location excellent, some inconveniences.

There could not be a better location if you plan to attend any events at Lincoln Center, which I did. You just walk across the street. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated. Now for the bad news: The bathrooms are too small - there is no countertop - no place to put your curling iron, etc. Also, the area for hanging your clothes (can't really call it a closet) is WAY too small. Just three little knobs to put hangers on. For some reason they feel they have to BLAST the music in the lobby/bar area - it sounds like a dance club, and it's not. My group would have stopped for a nightcap before going upstairs, but it was just too loud. No coffee maker in the room, no coffee anywhere. Starbucks is right next door, though. Maybe they made a deal with them to not provide coffee? If you can put up with these inconveniences, it's a nice place to stay, and a decent price for New York. Again, the location is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Feb 27, 2010

Great Room, Service, Value and Location!

This was our 2nd stay at The Empire Hotel. On both visits we attended the Met Opera performances which is only a block away. Excellent restaurants are also a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Florello's is an excellent restaurant and was not crowded at 5:30 pm. It is across the street from the hotel. Their seafood specialty dish was delicious. Le Pain Quot iden -- 60 W. 65th St. is our favorite for breakfast with fresh bread and organic food. Ed's Chowder House -- adjacent to Hotel -- also has a good breakfast buffet and dinner seafood menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Feb 15, 2010

Great hotel

Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore
Feb 1, 2010

Trendy, upbeat, great location, good val

Really enjoyed staying at the Empire Hotel. I was there for the NY Gift show. Great location, friendly staff fun decor. Had a delicious dinner at Ed's Chowder House it was a Saturday night and very crowded. [...] the bartender made me feel right at home even though dining at the bar solo. My room had 2 double beds and was very cozy. Can not imagine more than 2 in the room. The bathroom is very small and poorly designed. The shower is terrible. That is my only complaint. I will stay there again for sure, next time to take my daughter to the ballet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Jersey, NJ
Jan 31, 2010

Not what was expected?

We got to the hotel to find the room clean, there were numerous things to eat and drink in the room....but then you saw the cost. There were no glasses in the room to have a drink, so we called down for some, but they didn't come within a half hour so we went out to do some sight seeing and get dinner. We got back to the room to find the glasses there and the room made up, we came prepared this time with drinks, but wait no ice. A phone call and a half hour later the ice was brought up to the room. The electric heat was constantly clicking on and off throughout the night in the other room but not working at all in the bedroom, and was enough to wake us up every time it did turn on or do whatever it was doing. Then we went to take a shower in the morning to find that half of the glass shower door was missing. All in all not a good stay... Now the parking, not electing to get valet, the total for parking was [$], for less than 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to times square, very short walk to central park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jan 25, 2010

Perfect location, great service, too.

The Upper West Side is not as populated with great hotels as other areas of the city and this one stands out! It is located within walking distance of the theatre district, great restaurants and shopping. I hosted a meeting here and housed a number of my attendees at the hotel. It was perfect for all of our needs. Housekeeping on the rooms was great - but a little less than perfect for the parlour meeting room we were using. Excellent bars (roof-top and lobby), hip, but not off-putting. Very friendly staff. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A Little Night Music

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top