$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turbo416
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Great Location

This was a perfect location, close to downtown, Amtrak and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jkrahn
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

marathon weekend

When I arrived at the hotel, a gentleman at the front desk told me I canceled the reservation (not true). After 20 min. another room was given to me. I was told it was an upgrade (they did not mention it was on the smoking floor/smoking room). The hotel was extremely hot-many guests agreed. Could not regulate the cool air. Guests had their windows open. The location was wonderful. Not sure I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaliX
Business
Lafayette, CA, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Room too small

The room was far too small. I was almost claustrophobic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
talldarkgirl
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Beautiful in NYC

Everyone was very nice, it had good energy. The room was a good size and I loved the Mezzanine level restaurant that was super bright in contrast to the pleasantly hip and busy lobby. I was disappointed that when they asked if this was my first time in the hotel I got a 2nd floor room w/ no view (you're right by Central Park and Lincoln Center) & as a single woman, near an elevator, but maybe they just weren't thinking about the EXTRA mile. All in all - awesome but could've hit a higher mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby249
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Fabulous one night trip!

stayed here before so we got upgraded to a suite for free! Glamourous accommodations. Would highly recommend! Fabulous staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorlynn
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 22, 2011

Great experience overall

We had a nice time visiting NYC and this hotel was a great choice. I liked the location and the decor is very chic. It was especially nice to have the rooftop pool and outdoor space to use for lounging around. The only issue we had was that the picture Orbitz uses to show the King Junior Suite is misleading. It appears that you'll have 2 seperate rooms from the picture but in actuality it's one larger room with a bed and a pullout couch. This is called the junior suite. The regular suite is what the picture is of and that has a seperate bedroom where the doors close. We were informed by staff that they don't even sell the regular suite rooms on Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ed's Chowder House has excellent chowder. They were serving a summer restaurant week menu which was affordable and very tasty. Ed's is connected to this hotel. A lot of food for the money. We also liked the convenience of PJ Clarkes right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy M
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Very Disappointing

We booked the Empire Hotel along with a few other couples based off of one of the other couple's past experience. They felt that the quality of service and facilities have declined and our experience seemed to verify that. Maybe they are relying off something besides service, amenities and value. During our stay, there were times where only one of four elevators were working for an 11 story hotel. The one elevator working had a temporary sign asking for 7 persons or less so most people were stranded until there was a later elevator so the elevator would not get stuck as it was reported to have happened several times to different folks. The bell service was bad and our bags were never taken out of or placed into the cab on arrival or departure and no one ever asked if they could take or remove bags to our room. Half way through our stay, we had our young children meet us in NYC so had requested far in advance that we have adjoining or adjacent rooms and I reminded them when we checked in to plan on that in a few days so we would not have to move again. Of course, this was not planned for and we had to check out at 11 am to check in to another room and floor even though many people were also checking out on that Sunday on our same floor. When we re-checked in at 4 pm, our requested adjoining or adjacent rooms were 10 rooms apart on different wings. This was totally screwed up and we had to split up the parents to stay with the individual children. We went in early August and the rooms never cooled properly on the coldest AC level. The second room we checked into did not have a clock and after a few calls to get one, they said one was not available. One of the couples we went with called four times for a toothbrush, and was finally told on the fourth time after waiting that they didn't have any. Fitness room was very limited with one set of dumbbells. The pool was very small, dirty and cold so we never attempted to get in it. The rooms and bathrooms were small. Maid service was decent and our room was clean. We did get a discount on the portion of the trip made through their hotel site after a group of us complained about having to walk down so many floors which added to value. Unfortunately, we pre-paid on Orbitz for a portion of the trip and they said they could not give discount on that portion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L A
Jul 27, 2011

empire hotel

Very nice hotel. Room small but very nice and clean. Good staff. Be sure to check the accuracy of your reservation not made directly with the hotel. Mistake made but fixed. great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to try the gelato at Grom up the street on Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 12, 2011

Good NY hotel

The hotel itself looks great. The room was a bit of a shock when we walked in because its so small but I guess thats New York isn't it? The decor is nice but there's a fine line between being modern and having functionality. The shower has only 1 glass panel to it so although it looks cool you're spraying water out on the floor each time you're using it. There's no ironing board so you have to rely on guest services (+tip) if you need something pressed. There's also no ice machine around so again, you have to rely on guest services (+tip). The rooftop bar is a cool place but the pool is a very small rectangle. Don't get your hopes up about swimming but if you like to look around the city from above and have a few cocktails its great. The location is not bad at all. Central Park is only 2-3 blocks away, you can walk to midtown, and we took a quick cab to lower manhattan which was relatively cheap. There's a subway station 3-4 blocks away near Columbus Circle which can take you anywhere. All in all I would recommend this hotel but would probably try another one the next time I visit to compare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The cab ride from the Empire to Ground Zero was about $15. Not too bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Jul 5, 2011

Disappointed

Room was freezing and there was no Control for the AC. Room was very small and we had to wait over 40 minutes for our room to be ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top