$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandraLBN
Couples
N/A
Apr 20, 2015

Nice location, iffy otherwise

This place is used to having a captive audience, being the only hotel near Lincoln Center- the location is great. my experience was that I needed to be extremely insistent to get the kind of service I have come to expect in other, supposedly lesser hotels. When I travel, I need certain accommodations for severe dust, perfume, and feather/down allergies. I was assured these would be taken care of before our arrival. Not only was the room not ready when we arrived, but we needed to wait about an hour an a half before I had a total meltdown about being prepared for our evening out (after traveling all day). The kind desk clerk, Julia, finally put us into another room so we could shower and dress for our theatre call time, and promised that the room would be prepared properly after we went out for the evening. It was, and they did a fine job, but I had to have a fit to get it. *Everything* in the room had a fee, including the coffee- I've never been in a hotel that did not provide free coffee in the room, but maybe this is something new (?). You could not hang anything longer than a shirt in the wardrobe, and even shirts dragged on the shelf below. The elevators were incredibly slow and rickety. One was out of service for a day. The shower was weird- it had only a half-wide door that did not close. I'm not a rambunctious bather, but each shower I took required several towels to mop up, even with extreme care. I would probably not choose to stay here again, unless I had no choice. The location is great but is insufficient justification for the lesser quality provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jon
Business
seattle
Apr 15, 2015

Location is great. other than that...

No window guard. room was dirty. wifi unreliable. staff was not helpful location was good. had to pay for toothbrush - first time I've heard it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robyn T.
Couples
St Peter
Apr 14, 2015

Nice Stay

The hotel location was great. I had a lovely time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tianyuan H.
Family
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

good location

the location and the service of the hotel are great and we enjoy a great evening there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winfield
Friends
Washington
Feb 23, 2015

Opera trip

Fabulous location near the opera house, subway and bus, and fine restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mindy L.
Business
Toronto
Feb 21, 2015

Regular

I book lots of hotels for my boss and this is his most requested hotel. The location is amazing and very swanky for its great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midistouch
Couples
LAKE HIAWATHA
Feb 17, 2015

weekender

Small rooms but great location. Had to wait for the room 30-1hr after checkin time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scott m.
Business
boulder
Feb 10, 2015

midweek winter stay

great location, but this hotel is shabby—a sort of 90s Kimpton hotel in design, but way past its expiry date. good value though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria V.
Couples
Salisbury
Feb 10, 2015

GReat

Great views and service. The hotel has a phenomenal location with access to many subways in NYC and you can get everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SQ
Couples
Ridgewood
Feb 3, 2015

Night in nyc

Great stay!! Staff was friendly and very helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top