$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
322 reviews
great

great scene, comfy bed, great staff, great location, great price See full review

  • johny wall street
  • Jul 1, 2014
Wow!

The room was a corner suite with a great view of the Lincoln Center and a park below looking West... See full review

  • Skip A
  • Jun 2, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mjac
Philadelphia, pa
Oct 11, 2010

Disappointed in 4 star hotel

Hotel was very expensive, and a 4 star SO we were expecting the best ammenities. However, our room was very small, our bathroom door didn't close, there was MOLD in the shower, the paint on the ceiling was peeling, our towels had holes in them. Exremely disappointed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met patron
Cleveland, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great location for the Metropolitan Oper

The hotel did not honor the reservation for the "superior" room. Even though I asked and the desk person went into the back room for 15 minutes when all was said and done we had the same cramped room we had the last time we stayed at the Empire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has added a very good restaurant. Was not there at previous times.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met patron
Cleveland, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great location for the Metropolitan Oper

The hotel did not honor the reservation for the "superior" room. Even though I asked and the desk person went into the back room for 15 minutes when all was said and done we had the same cramped room we had the last time we stayed at the Empire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has added a very good restaurant. Was not there at previous times.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mjac
Philadelphia, pa
Oct 11, 2010

Disappointed in 4 star hotel

Hotel was very expensive, and a 4 star SO we were expecting the best ammenities. However, our room was very small, our bathroom door didn't close, there was MOLD in the shower, the paint on the ceiling was peeling, our towels had holes in them. Exremely disappointed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shespain
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 21, 2010

5 Star Location, 3 Star Hotel

The room was small but well appointed; however, the room was VERY dingy, dark, and seemed thrown together. The bathroom door jam looked like someone tried to get into it with a crowbar and the wallpaper was peeling near the ceiling in multiple locations. Our duvet cover had a hole in it and my wife kept catching her foot in it...funny after awhile. There was no sheet between the duvet either which was very weird, just a duvet, that's it. As for the location, we were two blocks away from Central Park which makes this hotel worth the booking. If you want the Plaza, then you will not be happy here...it's cheap, better than a hostel, and a perfect location. The staff was good getting us checked in fast, but they did nothing exceptional. I'm not going to rate them high just because they did their job as directed. Rooms again were picked up, but seemed very dirty still, stains on the curtain, etc. Our air conditioner was OLD and EXTREMELY noisy. On top of the noisy A/C, the windows were old so we heard car horns, sirens, and people yelling ALL night and we were on the 5th floor! I can't imagine being at a lower level. Overall, 3 star hotel, 5+ star location, decent nights sleep, cheap for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 7-Day subway pass for $27! This will save you hundreds of dollars in cab fare while in NYC. Totally worth the price, and New Yorkers were extremely helpful if ever got mixed up! Don't be afraid to ride the Subway! Google your route before you leave, they will give you the directions via train. Awesome!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awan
louisville , ky
Aug 12, 2010

very nice location

it was my first time stay in this motel but i did like it, because it was very nice area specially close to central park, Lincoln center, and food was very delicious any restaurant you go there only thing was missing in this motel was kitchen if they even had microwave or would make perfect place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the View was beautiful

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awan
louisville , ky
Aug 12, 2010

very nice location

it was my first time stay in this motel but i did like it, because it was very nice area specially close to central park, Lincoln center, and food was very delicious any restaurant you go there only thing was missing in this motel was kitchen if they even had microwave or would make perfect place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the View was beautiful

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 26, 2010

Fantastic Hotel on Upper West Side

Rooftop pool area had fantastic views of the city, especially beautiful at night w/ the cool breeze. 15 min walk to Hudson River-great parks along the river. 5min walk to columbus circle & central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 26, 2010

Fantastic Hotel on Upper West Side

Rooftop pool area had fantastic views of the city, especially beautiful at night w/ the cool breeze. 15 min walk to Hudson River-great parks along the river. 5min walk to columbus circle & central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadlephia PA
Apr 11, 2010

Irresponsible and Disastrous

The hotel overbooked (they said they had some damage to a floor which caused them to cancel rooms but as we travelled by the hotel, all floors looked booked.) We were informed that a wedding and two conventions had to take priority over our visit and we were unceremoniously relocated to another hotel all the way across town. My parents arrived first and were simply told it was not their problem and that we should contact [...] We needed to be close to Lincoln Center which is the only reason we booked this hotel in the first place. Until we called the hotel to discuss what they could do they were prepared to simply tell my parents to go to another hotel nearly 20 minutes away. The best they did was put us up in a queen room at the Hudson...Smallest room ever. Although the front desk manager was helpful, while we waited for a new hotel room which took nearly 4 hours, many people arrived at the hotel and checked into their room. As they told me, they simply took priority over booking with [...]. I will never recommend, stay or every even suggest any hotel associated with the Empire, the chain[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top