$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gielamans
Pittsburgh
Sep 23, 2013

In the midst of it all!

Great location , staff great , did not bring up lower rate and even provided room with view when asked nicely thanks nick , the place to be in New York City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lindsay durkin
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 14, 2012

Horrible experience

The hotel was over priced and definitely not a 4 star hotel! The shower didn't have a door so water went everywhere. I ran out of water about two minutes into my shower. The room was small even for NYC standards. It was dirty. There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom floor. Overall not a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
borana12
Business
Phoenix
Nov 9, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Service

The experience at the Empire was great from the get go. The front desk staff was polite and fast. The roon although small was perfect, cause who stays in the roon in New York. The location is what makes this hotel a real gem in the heart of Manhattan. Overall grade. A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Cat
Business
Central Virginia
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderfully Located Hotel

The staff was welcoming and accommodating. The room, though small, was pleasant. The bottom sheet on the bed was not clean and needed to be changed. The bar for an after-dinner drink is terrific. This hotel is wonderfully located, with cabs almost always available. Overall, a good place, though expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Chowder house in hotel expensive and over-rated.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Death Metal Dan
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 24, 2012

I was stunned

This place completely reversed my previous experience with NYC hotels. I'm used to paying a pretty penny for a hotel with decent, but not amazing, amenities and a room about the size of the bed. I would've been perfectly happy at The Empire Hotel's price alone which was the most affordable when I searched. But I was pleasantly surprised that the room was a decent size - don't get me wrong, it wasn't an apartment, but there was ample space. And the amenities were pretty nice. There's a club on roof and all the common areas (hallway, mezzanine, lobby) are very nice. I would certainly stay here again if the price remains competitive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikey57
Business
Durham, NC
Sep 22, 2012

Nice looking...Nice staff...Small rooms, hi parking fees....

Hotel looked very nice....main elevator had button for pool level but was a trip up 2 flights stairs to locked service door....Rooms nice but very small...no view....great shower sprayer but no door on shower...water everywhere...valet parking $60 per day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to Lincoln Center and Subway...helpful hints for site-seeing tips.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kokoraki
Business
Mountain View, California
Sep 21, 2012

Good Comfy Stay

Interesting decor. Clean room and large. Rooftop bar and very happening lobby/lounge. Walking distance to Columbus Circle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katienriley
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 16, 2012

Perfect everything...

The room was comfortable and spotless. The breakfast at Ed's was delicious. The staff are solicitous and friendly. The location could not be more perfect! Subway right around the corner. I enjoyed every minute of my stay and can not wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulMarty
Business
Fresno, CA
Sep 13, 2012

Great Location

Wonderful location away from the Times Square crowds. Subways are very handy. Lincoln Center next door. Lounge area very pleasant. Pool on roof has plenty of room for everyone. Room was very clean and spacious. B'way shows within walking distance and many restaurants also available to you. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CatW
Business
London
Sep 9, 2012

Not quite what we'd hoped for

No waste bin in bathroom, no bath mat after day one, not enough hangers in cupboard. Hideous, drab decor colours. Friendly but rather inefficient staff. Poor website/room information proved to be incorrect in several areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosanne
Business
Westport, MA
Sep 8, 2012

Great location for Lincoln Center

Everything was fine-- staff were nice, usual small room though I have had smaller in NY, not a great view, and bathroom was not as clean as some other hotels but all in all a good solid experience. Less street noise than some other stays elsewhere, too. Very convenient to Lincoln Center and Columbus Circle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top