$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
262 reviews
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
loved it

This boutique hotel is centrally located to so many NYC sites (Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle &... See full review

  • Susanpet
  • Aug 10, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Mar 6, 2011

A fabulous location

We were in NY to see four operas for the weekend. We had our daughter come to the hotel with her husband and two small children--a newborn and a 3 year old. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful, pleasant,and kind, especially with my daughter's family. The location of the hotel is great. There are restaurants across the street, a drugstore nearby, and many shops at Columbus Circle--just 3 blocks away. A couple of times, we bought food at the Whole Foods store at the Columbus Circle Mall. The hotel location is so close to the subway, too, so you can be anywhere in the city in a matter of minutes--Times Square, Macy's, Penn Station, museums, etc. You are also very close to Central Park--just a few blocks away. My husband loved getting up and going jogging in the mornings. Of course we loved the location because it was so close to Lincoln Center--across the street. The rooms and linens were great except for the shower. The last morning we stayed there, the water was luke warm, and the shower head is unusual--we kept spraying our towels and the bathroom floor until we figured out how to adjust it. Overall, this is a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is across the street. It doesn't get any better than that!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveledout
Business
Dallas TX
Feb 28, 2011

Empire Hotel review Feb 2011

The staff was very friendly. Many options for food very near by. Quiet hotel. Interior of the room was interesting, new cosmopolitan look and feel. Clarks right next door was the best place to eat and socialize.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clarks attached to the hotel is great!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, California
Nov 30, 2010

Across From Lincoln Center

for the opera there is no other choice. very friendly helpful staff--always taxis out front and starbucks on the corner. Ed's Chowder House is a very good restaurant even with all the choices in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street from Lincoln Center

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Nov 28, 2010

Nice hotel, bed and air not so great

Hotel itself was great. The location is awesome. We could easily walk out and do so many things. The minibar/snacks were nice too. However, sleeping in the night was tough. The room just wasn't well ventilated. We had to turn on the AC in the end of November. To add to this some feathers kept poking out of the bedsheets. We removed so many of them, and yet woke up with little feathers sticking on our clothes and hair!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Slippery Rock, PA
Nov 24, 2010

Great Location!

The Hotel, an "old classic" renovated, was OK, not great. But for access to Lincoln Center (and the West side in general). it cannot be beaten.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A superb choice if you are attending one or more events at Lincoln Center.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hip dad
chicago, il.
Nov 12, 2010

unbeatable location

Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
Oct 31, 2010

great location

good location- helpful staff- quaint boutique like hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Oct 27, 2010

Quick couples getaway

We had a stylish stay this week. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and our room was small but had everything needed. I really enjoyed the shower, and the bed was very comfortable. We had some concerns about coming to NYC amid the "bed bug" crisis, but thank goodness, no signs of those anywhere we were in the whole city. The location os the hotel was also great- the park was 2 min away, and the subway was a 3 minute walk. We went up to the rooftop bar a couple times also, so my only complaint was the service up on the rooftop. It's a great place to take a picture, but we were pretty annoyed with the lack of service up top. Both times, we saw the servers chatting it up at the bar rather than coming to see if we wanted to eat/drink. Chaneg that, and hotel would have 5 stars. We will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across from the hotel, we dined at Cafe Fiorello- delicious italiun and great service! We also loved Ocean Grill on the Upper West Side.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mjac
Philadelphia, pa
Oct 11, 2010

Disappointed in 4 star hotel

Hotel was very expensive, and a 4 star SO we were expecting the best ammenities. However, our room was very small, our bathroom door didn't close, there was MOLD in the shower, the paint on the ceiling was peeling, our towels had holes in them. Exremely disappointed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met patron
Cleveland, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great location for the Metropolitan Oper

The hotel did not honor the reservation for the "superior" room. Even though I asked and the desk person went into the back room for 15 minutes when all was said and done we had the same cramped room we had the last time we stayed at the Empire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has added a very good restaurant. Was not there at previous times.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search