$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lldesll
Single
Denver
Nov 28, 2012

Amazing location!

I will always stay here when I visit NYC. Enough said!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UWS Frequent Visitor
Couples
Washington, DC
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving Weekend!

The stay was very nice - and the staff is great. They were having problems with the elevators, which could not support the volume of people, and we had to take a back elevator. The rooms, while comfortable, were VERY small - not much room for more than two bags. Other than that - the location was amazing and the overall experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opera Afficionado
Couples
Athens, Ga
Nov 19, 2012

Perfect for opera weekend

The room itself was fairly standard with adequate amenities, but the location is superb for the opera goer being just across the street from the Met The hotel restaurant is very good We entertained four friends royally The pri9ces for everythying are very high, but New York in opera season is always so. We will rerturn next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservatrions a few days in advance

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lldesll
Single
Denver
Nov 15, 2012

Love it!

Hotel is located in a prime neighborhood. Close to everything. Room was super cute, with an amazing view. Staff is friendly and are there to help you with any issues. My overall experience was phenomenal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lindsay durkin
Couples
Philadelphia
Nov 14, 2012

Horrible experience

The hotel was over priced and definitely not a 4 star hotel! The shower didn't have a door so water went everywhere. I ran out of water about two minutes into my shower. The room was small even for NYC standards. It was dirty. There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom floor. Overall not a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
borana12
Single
Phoenix
Nov 9, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Service

The experience at the Empire was great from the get go. The front desk staff was polite and fast. The roon although small was perfect, cause who stays in the roon in New York. The location is what makes this hotel a real gem in the heart of Manhattan. Overall grade. A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Cat
Couples
Central Virginia
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderfully Located Hotel

The staff was welcoming and accommodating. The room, though small, was pleasant. The bottom sheet on the bed was not clean and needed to be changed. The bar for an after-dinner drink is terrific. This hotel is wonderfully located, with cabs almost always available. Overall, a good place, though expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Chowder house in hotel expensive and over-rated.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Death Metal Dan
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 24, 2012

I was stunned

This place completely reversed my previous experience with NYC hotels. I'm used to paying a pretty penny for a hotel with decent, but not amazing, amenities and a room about the size of the bed. I would've been perfectly happy at The Empire Hotel's price alone which was the most affordable when I searched. But I was pleasantly surprised that the room was a decent size - don't get me wrong, it wasn't an apartment, but there was ample space. And the amenities were pretty nice. There's a club on roof and all the common areas (hallway, mezzanine, lobby) are very nice. I would certainly stay here again if the price remains competitive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikey57
Single
Durham, NC
Sep 22, 2012

Nice looking...Nice staff...Small rooms, hi parking fees....

Hotel looked very nice....main elevator had button for pool level but was a trip up 2 flights stairs to locked service door....Rooms nice but very small...no view....great shower sprayer but no door on shower...water everywhere...valet parking $60 per day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to Lincoln Center and Subway...helpful hints for site-seeing tips.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kokoraki
Business
Mountain View, California
Sep 21, 2012

Good Comfy Stay

Interesting decor. Clean room and large. Rooftop bar and very happening lobby/lounge. Walking distance to Columbus Circle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top