$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
250 reviews
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (250)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jkrahn
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

marathon weekend

When I arrived at the hotel, a gentleman at the front desk told me I canceled the reservation (not true). After 20 min. another room was given to me. I was told it was an upgrade (they did not mention it was on the smoking floor/smoking room). The hotel was extremely hot-many guests agreed. Could not regulate the cool air. Guests had their windows open. The location was wonderful. Not sure I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaliX
Lafayette, CA, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Room too small

The room was far too small. I was almost claustrophobic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
talldarkgirl
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Beautiful in NYC

Everyone was very nice, it had good energy. The room was a good size and I loved the Mezzanine level restaurant that was super bright in contrast to the pleasantly hip and busy lobby. I was disappointed that when they asked if this was my first time in the hotel I got a 2nd floor room w/ no view (you're right by Central Park and Lincoln Center) & as a single woman, near an elevator, but maybe they just weren't thinking about the EXTRA mile. All in all - awesome but could've hit a higher mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby249
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Fabulous one night trip!

stayed here before so we got upgraded to a suite for free! Glamourous accommodations. Would highly recommend! Fabulous staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorlynn
Wisconsin
Aug 22, 2011

Great experience overall

We had a nice time visiting NYC and this hotel was a great choice. I liked the location and the decor is very chic. It was especially nice to have the rooftop pool and outdoor space to use for lounging around. The only issue we had was that the picture Orbitz uses to show the King Junior Suite is misleading. It appears that you'll have 2 seperate rooms from the picture but in actuality it's one larger room with a bed and a pullout couch. This is called the junior suite. The regular suite is what the picture is of and that has a seperate bedroom where the doors close. We were informed by staff that they don't even sell the regular suite rooms on Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ed's Chowder House has excellent chowder. They were serving a summer restaurant week menu which was affordable and very tasty. Ed's is connected to this hotel. A lot of food for the money. We also liked the convenience of PJ Clarkes right next door.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy M
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Very Disappointing

We booked the Empire Hotel along with a few other couples based off of one of the other couple's past experience. They felt that the quality of service and facilities have declined and our experience seemed to verify that. Maybe they are relying off something besides service, amenities and value. During our stay, there were times where only one of four elevators were working for an 11 story hotel. The one elevator working had a temporary sign asking for 7 persons or less so most people were stranded until there was a later elevator so the elevator would not get stuck as it was reported to have happened several times to different folks. The bell service was bad and our bags were never taken out of or placed into the cab on arrival or departure and no one ever asked if they could take or remove bags to our room. Half way through our stay, we had our young children meet us in NYC so had requested far in advance that we have adjoining or adjacent rooms and I reminded them when we checked in to plan on that in a few days so we would not have to move again. Of course, this was not planned for and we had to check out at 11 am to check in to another room and floor even though many people were also checking out on that Sunday on our same floor. When we re-checked in at 4 pm, our requested adjoining or adjacent rooms were 10 rooms apart on different wings. This was totally screwed up and we had to split up the parents to stay with the individual children. We went in early August and the rooms never cooled properly on the coldest AC level. The second room we checked into did not have a clock and after a few calls to get one, they said one was not available. One of the couples we went with called four times for a toothbrush, and was finally told on the fourth time after waiting that they didn't have any. Fitness room was very limited with one set of dumbbells. The pool was very small, dirty and cold so we never attempted to get in it. The rooms and bathrooms were small. Maid service was decent and our room was clean. We did get a discount on the portion of the trip made through their hotel site after a group of us complained about having to walk down so many floors which added to value. Unfortunately, we pre-paid on Orbitz for a portion of the trip and they said they could not give discount on that portion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
L A
Jul 27, 2011

empire hotel

Very nice hotel. Room small but very nice and clean. Good staff. Be sure to check the accuracy of your reservation not made directly with the hotel. Mistake made but fixed. great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to try the gelato at Grom up the street on Broadway

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 12, 2011

Good NY hotel

The hotel itself looks great. The room was a bit of a shock when we walked in because its so small but I guess thats New York isn't it? The decor is nice but there's a fine line between being modern and having functionality. The shower has only 1 glass panel to it so although it looks cool you're spraying water out on the floor each time you're using it. There's no ironing board so you have to rely on guest services (+tip) if you need something pressed. There's also no ice machine around so again, you have to rely on guest services (+tip). The rooftop bar is a cool place but the pool is a very small rectangle. Don't get your hopes up about swimming but if you like to look around the city from above and have a few cocktails its great. The location is not bad at all. Central Park is only 2-3 blocks away, you can walk to midtown, and we took a quick cab to lower manhattan which was relatively cheap. There's a subway station 3-4 blocks away near Columbus Circle which can take you anywhere. All in all I would recommend this hotel but would probably try another one the next time I visit to compare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The cab ride from the Empire to Ground Zero was about $15. Not too bad.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Jul 5, 2011

Disappointed

Room was freezing and there was no Control for the AC. Room was very small and we had to wait over 40 minutes for our room to be ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
May 30, 2011

good location, nice hotel

We had booked the deluxe per recommendations of others on travel site reviews. When we checked in (a Thursday night), the staff upgraded us to a suite. It was a big room for NYC. We actually had a king bed plus a sitting area with a desk, sofa, chair and still room for our suitcases. Amazing for NYC hotels. The room was clean and had the usual amenities. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was very nice. I liked the modern feel of everything. The bed was comfy. My only complaint on the room is that I wished it had been a bit cooler. I tried to adjust the AC but it didn't seem to do much.We didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel, so I can't comment. We did try to go to the roof top bar with pool. We hung out up there...very nice, but I tried to order a drink twice and it never came. The staff up there didn't seem to know what they were doing. That said, all of the staff we interacted with in the hotel were very friendly.We had a decent view from our room on the 6th floor, but we couldn't see the park. No biggie. The hotel is right near Lincoln Center, convenient to Columbus Circle, subway, very close walk to Central Park, good location overall. Easy to get there from Penn Station. 24hr Duane Reade pharmacy and a Starbucks that is open to 1am right around the corner. I would recommend this hotel. We got a decent price [...]. Averaged $350 per night for 4 nights over a holiday weekend. Not bad for the size and location.I never really could figure out where the disco was in the hotel. I think it was the other roof top deck that you can't access from the guest area of the hotel, but every night there was a line outside of the hotel to get in. It wasn't really a bother, and we could never hear loud music in our room. The lobby is loud music at night. We expected more of a "scene" based on reviews and what local friends had told us, but it really was nothing to worry over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search