$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent N.Y. Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 4, 2013

Hotel OK, bathroom bad, great location

Empire Hotel was fairly decent, and in a great location across the street from Lincoln Center, but it wasn't a 4-star hotel. Though the room was small, the beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom, however, was ridiculously cramped and poorly designed. There was only a partial glass shower door, so water sprayed out of the shower stall from the other half all over the floor.. The shower knob didn't turn and work well, so we either got scalding hot water, or freezing cold water. The sink was designed poorly, so when you turned onn the water, it automatically ricocheted off the sink onto the person using it.. The bathroom was so small that you had to close the door to get access to the toilet paper behind the bathroom door. All in all, it was a very poorly designed bathroom. Staff was courteous, but we checked in at 3:30 and had to wait until 4:00 to get access to our room, even though check-in time is 3:00 p,m. Stay away from the noisy 2nd floor rooms, the 4th floor which is a smoking floor, and the 11th floor, which is right under the Empire's rooftop bar, where everyone parties noisily until 4:00 a,m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SalsViola
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 28, 2013

Near Lincoln center

Location couldn't be better, with helpful staff and comfortable room. Though the added touch of wine and bottled water stocked in the room for sale was a nice touch, the price was stunning ( figi water, small, $7). But because of the location, anything desired was around a corner. Good memories from this stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oasis1
Business
New York
Feb 25, 2013

The Empire Hotel Is Great!

We had a great stay at The Empire Hotel. The staff was wonderful. The room was nice and very clean. We will be staying there again. Its location is great too. It is located in a wonderful part of NYC. Can't say enough nice things about the hotel and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savmag
Business
Montreal
Feb 24, 2013

Great stay

My first impression was absolutely a good one. The location was ideal, close but not too close to all the action. The restaurant was a little pricey but worth every penny. I would actually look forward to dinner every night. The cold Seafood platter was out of this world. I would definitely recommend The Empire Hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanger Harris
Business
Memphis
Feb 21, 2013

Great hotel

The room was nicely proportioned for New York. Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suze B.
Business
Kingston, New York
Feb 20, 2013

A Great " New York Experience"

Staff were welcoming. Cool , dark, exotic decor. Really comfy beds and exceptionally quiet. Perfect location. Food places on either side - convenient ( and good food! ) Would definitely go back and recommend. note: Short people beware: the hangers, towels and tissues were unreachable. I believe it was designed by a giant!!! But it was fun trying......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Providence
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
Feb 18, 2013

1 day NYC getaway

It was our worst hotel experience we've ever had (and we've been to many). First, the toilet sit was full of body hair, which disgust me! Then when I went into the shower, I found out, that the sliding door didn't even exist (it obviously broke and they totally took it down) and I had to take a shower in an open shower stand, which resulted in a major flood in the bathroom. It was horrible, but the best was yet to come - We couldn't sleep the whole entire night, because of the radiator, which was making unbearable cracking sound every 15 minutes! I can't believe they actually let people stay in that room and charge them hundreds of $$$. The next morning when we were asked at the front desk how our stay was, I explained to her everything and all we got in return was: "oh, yes there is one room that needs to be renovated, I'm sorry". I couldn't believe my ears. Since the hotel has a perfect location, we thought we would go back, since the location is perfect, but after our experience - NEVER AGAIN! P.S. Can't believe that ridiculous place is called: "luxurious 4 star hotel", what a joke!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyhood
Business
new york, ny
Feb 17, 2013

Great Location

Awesome Location, Small Rooms and Reasonable Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katienriley
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 11, 2013

Great spot

I love The Empire... best location ever right at Lincoln Center... close everything but not in the noisy part of it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

landmarc - great food and drink for a nice dinner close by.... Stone Rose - great for drinks and snacks... both with a great view of Columbus Circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandmaxoxoxoxo
Business
New York, NY
Feb 4, 2013

Hotel Empire

Good location. Small room and very tiny bathroom. Rooms could use some sprucing up, but the price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top