$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Mar 25, 2011

No exta Cot

We traveled on a package which included flights and hotel stay. Our group was 5 women and were assured that we would have two rooms with 2 large double beds per room and a cot for the fifth person. There was no cot, no possiblilty of securing a cot, as there was no space in the room for a cot even they been an option. The Empire staff made it clear that it does not provide cots. We were traveling to NYC to attend the opening of the opera at Lincoln Center. Location was perfect for that event. Hotel is a perfect location for Lincoln Center and within walking distance wonderful restaurants. Room was very hot an seemed impossible to cool down. Staff was lovely, but [...]needs to be aware that they should not tell clients that accommocations could be made for a third or fifth person. No cots, no couches, nothing....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
illinois
Nov 16, 2009

Very Impressed

We spend 1 weekend every year in New York with friends. We have stayed at many different places around time square. The Empire Hotel worked out great. Very comtemporary and fun. We would stay there again. The service was better than other hotels we have stayed at in the same price range or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Pop
Business
Lynbrook, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel; Great location

We have opera tickets for both Saturday night & sunday morning so decided to stay in Manhattan for a night. Hotel is across the street from Lincoln Center. Lots of good restaurants in the area. Hotel is very clean; staff attentive; room was small but typical size for a NYC hotel room. Great lounge near the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally across the street from LIncoln Center.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me & Mrs.
Business
Delmont, Pa
Aug 10, 2009

Ideally located, cozy room, small bath,

We bought a New York City pass and toured the entire island. I would recommend doing that again; from the Top of the Rock, Ellis Island, NBC studios, Empire State building, and the big red bus. As our first trip, with the Empire Hotel tied in, I would rate it an 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street at Josephine's is a wonderful cafe menue, moderately priced.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsfield, MA
Mar 13, 2011

Great Location, good value, BIG ROOM

wENT TO AN OPERA AND mET AUDITIONS, SAW A FILM AND SPENT TIME AT THE TIME wARNER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met patron
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great location for the Metropolitan Oper

The hotel did not honor the reservation for the "superior" room. Even though I asked and the desk person went into the back room for 15 minutes when all was said and done we had the same cramped room we had the last time we stayed at the Empire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has added a very good restaurant. Was not there at previous times.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 6, 2011

A fabulous location

We were in NY to see four operas for the weekend. We had our daughter come to the hotel with her husband and two small children--a newborn and a 3 year old. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful, pleasant,and kind, especially with my daughter's family. The location of the hotel is great. There are restaurants across the street, a drugstore nearby, and many shops at Columbus Circle--just 3 blocks away. A couple of times, we bought food at the Whole Foods store at the Columbus Circle Mall. The hotel location is so close to the subway, too, so you can be anywhere in the city in a matter of minutes--Times Square, Macy's, Penn Station, museums, etc. You are also very close to Central Park--just a few blocks away. My husband loved getting up and going jogging in the mornings. Of course we loved the location because it was so close to Lincoln Center--across the street. The rooms and linens were great except for the shower. The last morning we stayed there, the water was luke warm, and the shower head is unusual--we kept spraying our towels and the bathroom floor until we figured out how to adjust it. Overall, this is a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is across the street. It doesn't get any better than that!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Great Location... Rooftop Bar Fabulous!

The rooms were decorated beautifully... small but pretty. Bathroom was small but adequate. Loved the rooftop bar with the view. Great location and convenient to subways and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is easiest way to get to and from the hotel and saves you $$.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Clarks
Business
Ann Arbor Mi
Oct 19, 2009

We had a blast

We did a lot of sightseeing in NYC, which meant we walked and walked everyday. We were pretty tired by the time we got back to the hotel, so the comfortable bed was a big plus. The maid service would usually come to the room when they noticed we were back, asking if we needed anything. While this was nice, it really wasn't necessary, since they'd already made the bed and cleaned up earlier. The room was small, but that wasn't really a problem. The lack of a dresser was disappointing. A suitcase stand under the window would have been a good substitute. The location was ideal for us - close to the subway, bus, Lincoln Center, Central Park and Columbus Circle. All in all we would stay at the Empire Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is just across the street.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Feb 15, 2010

Great hotel

Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top