$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me & Mrs.
Business
Delmont, Pa
Aug 10, 2009

Ideally located, cozy room, small bath,

We bought a New York City pass and toured the entire island. I would recommend doing that again; from the Top of the Rock, Ellis Island, NBC studios, Empire State building, and the big red bus. As our first trip, with the Empire Hotel tied in, I would rate it an 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street at Josephine's is a wonderful cafe menue, moderately priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsfield, MA
Mar 13, 2011

Great Location, good value, BIG ROOM

wENT TO AN OPERA AND mET AUDITIONS, SAW A FILM AND SPENT TIME AT THE TIME wARNER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met patron
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great location for the Metropolitan Oper

The hotel did not honor the reservation for the "superior" room. Even though I asked and the desk person went into the back room for 15 minutes when all was said and done we had the same cramped room we had the last time we stayed at the Empire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has added a very good restaurant. Was not there at previous times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 6, 2011

A fabulous location

We were in NY to see four operas for the weekend. We had our daughter come to the hotel with her husband and two small children--a newborn and a 3 year old. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful, pleasant,and kind, especially with my daughter's family. The location of the hotel is great. There are restaurants across the street, a drugstore nearby, and many shops at Columbus Circle--just 3 blocks away. A couple of times, we bought food at the Whole Foods store at the Columbus Circle Mall. The hotel location is so close to the subway, too, so you can be anywhere in the city in a matter of minutes--Times Square, Macy's, Penn Station, museums, etc. You are also very close to Central Park--just a few blocks away. My husband loved getting up and going jogging in the mornings. Of course we loved the location because it was so close to Lincoln Center--across the street. The rooms and linens were great except for the shower. The last morning we stayed there, the water was luke warm, and the shower head is unusual--we kept spraying our towels and the bathroom floor until we figured out how to adjust it. Overall, this is a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is across the street. It doesn't get any better than that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Great Location... Rooftop Bar Fabulous!

The rooms were decorated beautifully... small but pretty. Bathroom was small but adequate. Loved the rooftop bar with the view. Great location and convenient to subways and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is easiest way to get to and from the hotel and saves you $$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Clarks
Business
Ann Arbor Mi
Oct 19, 2009

We had a blast

We did a lot of sightseeing in NYC, which meant we walked and walked everyday. We were pretty tired by the time we got back to the hotel, so the comfortable bed was a big plus. The maid service would usually come to the room when they noticed we were back, asking if we needed anything. While this was nice, it really wasn't necessary, since they'd already made the bed and cleaned up earlier. The room was small, but that wasn't really a problem. The lack of a dresser was disappointing. A suitcase stand under the window would have been a good substitute. The location was ideal for us - close to the subway, bus, Lincoln Center, Central Park and Columbus Circle. All in all we would stay at the Empire Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Feb 15, 2010

Great hotel

Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver BC
May 25, 2011

NYC trip

good, but no drink water supplied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves New York
Business
Orange County, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Great trendy hotel

Great boutique hotel, fantastic location, excellent rooftop bar. Definitely not a hotel to stay with your kids, it is trendy, cute hotel. The rooms were a good size, for all those that say it is small, well you haven't lived in New York. The size of the room was exactly as I expected, if not a big more spacious. Well decorated hotel and this is an excellent location, close to all subways, Central Park, etc. Would highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Rooftop bar is a great place to start the evening. Excellent atmosphere and great music, plus you don't have to worry about the line which is an added plus. Built in entertainment venue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlanta resident
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 31, 2010

Great location!

Great location right near Lincoln Center and close to Columbus circle and the Time Warner Center. The staff was very nice and everyone had a smile on their face. They were eager to help and most accomodating. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms reflect this. They were very attractive but small. We enjoyed our stay - we were on the 10th floor and must say it was very quiet and we were not bothered by sounds of the NY traffic. We would definitely stay at the Empire Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top