$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
268 reviews
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
The Empire hotel embodies a return to the classic hotel room but with an edge. Guest rooms pay tribute to the rich earth tone palettes of Central Park accented by leather furnishing combined with the modernistic style of Lincoln Center. Rest and unwind in the virtuoso comfort of The Empire Hotel. 413 rooms and suites, lobby bar, meeting space up to 250 people, full concierge service, full in room bar, frette linen, oversized towels, fitness center, valet parking, same day laundry service, 2 hour rush laundry service and on site pressing. There is a $12.95 charge per 24 hour period for WI-FI.
As of November 1, 2013, The Empire Hotel is smoke-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilton Head Island SC
Nov 19, 2009

Better than expected !

The staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area . I've stayed at several hotels in NYC over the years , and overall , the Empire Hotel is the best all around .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an incredible steak dinner go to BLT on 57th st between Park and Madison .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
warren, oh
Dec 21, 2009

great location and stay

Great location, easy check in and out. Small rooms but who stays in the room anyhow? Comfortable beds, clean room, friendly staff. Lounge was loud and music drifted up,and down from the rooftop bar but just turned on the tv and it drowned it out.Would definately go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jet set jenny
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 19, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price!

We were so close to everything (including subway) we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. Although the room was not overly large as previously mentioned in the reviews- for a couple, this room is perfect. Yes, the bathroom was kind of small, but we weren't in our hotel long enough to care. The bar has a great vibe and on the weekends, the Rooftop Lounge is where all of the hip, young New Yorkers go to be seen. Central Park, Starbucks galore, wine shop, great restaurants- sushi, pizza, brunch, Italian, French and Roman restaurants are all within just a few blocks of the hotel. The Lincoln Square mall is just around the corner if you need to shop at a few "higher- end" stores. Comparatively speaking- the hotel was better than we have experienced with other travel sites. The pictures were accurate- there was no bait and switch tactic. Our car service [...] picked us up on time- each time. Promptly took us to our hotel where the staff was waiting on us. We were given a room with a view without requesting and were treated very courteously. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 3, 2009

Very nice hotel in a great location!

The hotel is in an excellent location, and as an added bonus has a Starbucks and a Duane Reade right around the corner! Rooms are smallish, but that's the norm in NYC. Very clean and comfortable, with a pleasant lobby area. Friendly staff. There's a very popular rooftop bar, so it was a bit crazy on Friday night (and we had some loud "kids" on our floor who were very loud and rude that night, though, that's not the hotel's fault). I will most definitely stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Accent
Business
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Mar 26, 2011

Great location for Lincoln Center

We picked this hotel for its proximity to the metropolitan opera at Lincoln Center. We could walk over and back which eliminated trying to find a taxi late at night. The room was a bit small but the staff was very attentive and helpful. We enjoyed the coffee house on the corner and the two restaurants next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Mar 25, 2011

No exta Cot

We traveled on a package which included flights and hotel stay. Our group was 5 women and were assured that we would have two rooms with 2 large double beds per room and a cot for the fifth person. There was no cot, no possiblilty of securing a cot, as there was no space in the room for a cot even they been an option. The Empire staff made it clear that it does not provide cots. We were traveling to NYC to attend the opening of the opera at Lincoln Center. Location was perfect for that event. Hotel is a perfect location for Lincoln Center and within walking distance wonderful restaurants. Room was very hot an seemed impossible to cool down. Staff was lovely, but [...]needs to be aware that they should not tell clients that accommocations could be made for a third or fifth person. No cots, no couches, nothing....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
illinois
Nov 16, 2009

Very Impressed

We spend 1 weekend every year in New York with friends. We have stayed at many different places around time square. The Empire Hotel worked out great. Very comtemporary and fun. We would stay there again. The service was better than other hotels we have stayed at in the same price range or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Pop
Business
Lynbrook, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel; Great location

We have opera tickets for both Saturday night & sunday morning so decided to stay in Manhattan for a night. Hotel is across the street from Lincoln Center. Lots of good restaurants in the area. Hotel is very clean; staff attentive; room was small but typical size for a NYC hotel room. Great lounge near the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally across the street from LIncoln Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me & Mrs.
Business
Delmont, Pa
Aug 10, 2009

Ideally located, cozy room, small bath,

We bought a New York City pass and toured the entire island. I would recommend doing that again; from the Top of the Rock, Ellis Island, NBC studios, Empire State building, and the big red bus. As our first trip, with the Empire Hotel tied in, I would rate it an 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street at Josephine's is a wonderful cafe menue, moderately priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsfield, MA
Mar 13, 2011

Great Location, good value, BIG ROOM

wENT TO AN OPERA AND mET AUDITIONS, SAW A FILM AND SPENT TIME AT THE TIME wARNER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top