$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Musiclover1
Business
Boston
Mar 28, 2013

Good hotel for Lincoln Center events

The Empire has been renovated, but the room was small and the bathroom tiny, but adequate. Comfortable bed and blackout drapery helped to ensure a good night's sleep. The location is perfect if you're attending a Lincoln Center event, as it's just across the way on 63rd and Broadway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect hotel for Lincoln Center event. Also close to great shops and restaurants at Time Warner Center on Columbus Circle, and about a mile from the American Museum of Natural History.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Ithaca College Mom
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 21, 2013

Location, location, location

Great place to stay if you're attending events at Lincoln Center or the MET. Room was clean and comfy. Great view from our window. Take your own snacks, however, you don't want to pay $6.50 for a Kit Kat bar in the room. Room was overpriced, but that's typical for New York. At least it was clean, comfy, and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clarks restaurant right outside the front door of the hotel was a great place for dining--good food and reasonable prices for New York.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2013

Perfect Lincoln Center area choice!

Can't do better than this...my room had a perfect view of Lincoln Center...the rooftop pool (just a lap pool but nice) and outdoor and indoor lounge has great views of the neighborhood. Everyone was nice and the room was comfortable. Easy choice if you want to check out the shows and arts and music at Lincoln Center and/or enjoy Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Right in the same building but not attached to the hotel is P.J. Clarke's. Good spot to sit at a table or the bar and watch a game and have a great burger or other food and a beer and chat up other visitors and locals

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Attony
Business
Halwey, PA
Jun 24, 2013

Location & value, plus sundeck/pool in Summer.

We had a very nice stay at the Empire Hotel on a Saturday night (6/22/13). It was a busy place but our room was quiet & quite comfortable. It was clean, but there was an odor of tobacco smoke when we first entered, even though it was a non-smoking room as ordered. The sundeck on the roof was great and the pool, although small was quite refreshing after my jog in central Park which is only 2 blocks away. Perfect location for Park and for Lincoln Center which is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sapphire Indian Restaurant is just down Broadway about two blocks. Very good Indian food, a little pricey but the decor, service and great food make it worth it.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College broke Mom
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 18, 2013

A quick overnight in New York

We wanted an inexpensive hotel near our daughter on the Upper West Side. We liked the idea of the rooftop patio & pool. The hotel was hopping when we arrived at 6 pm but our room was pleasantly quiet. The pool was smaller than it looked in the picture (as in postage stamp), but this is New York. It was a warm summer evening and we enjoyed drinks on the rooftop.. I had one of their special cocktails with gin, lime, cucumber and mint that was fabulous and refreshing. A relaxed breeze kept us comfortable. The room was also quite small, but since we were only there for one night we could manage. On our last trip we stayed in a 5 star hotel where they upgraded our room to a suite. We were there for six days then and we needed the space. Other than the spacial dimensions, we thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff was friendly, gracious, and top-notch in every way. We feel this was a great value and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose Chung
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 17, 2013

Trendy and Terse

In town for an event at Lincoln Center, so the location was ideal. The room was comfortable and aesthetically pleasing, in a trendy sort of way, though very small. Everything was packed in like Tetris pieces. There were lots of goodies for purchase in the room, like iPhone chargers, Pringles, but paying $7.50 for a water bottle is ridiculous, even if it is convenient. The rooftop bar was great, and the lobby had a bit of a "scene." I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmsrossi
Business
Tuckahoe, New York
Jun 27, 2013

Great hotel

Beautiful hotel. Total class. The decor was great and the room was very clean. The rooftop was great for us since husband smokes cigars so i was perfect. Room service was not so good. It was my husbands birthday so we called for a bucket of ice and champagne glasses. It took over 45 minutes just to get the ice bucket and we never got the glasses. For the amount of money we paid for the room service should be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmsrossi
Business
Tuckahoe, New York
Jun 29, 2013

Great Hotel and great area in the city

The room was really nice and clean but room service was so so. I would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Coast Librarian
Business
Washington DC
Jul 18, 2013

Great location and good food

The location of The Empire was perfect for the theatre and museum weekend we had in New York in June. The hotel, much renovated since my last stay over 10 years ago, decor is "moderne "and there are nice touches but things are worn. Service at the desk was excellent --not much was offered elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ed's Chowder was great for dinner before the show. Very fresh seafood and a good bartender and waiter.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoelC
Business
NYC
Aug 19, 2013

West 60's buzz

Room was small, bed was small, but everything was clean and there when you needed it. More than made up for by the lobby decor, the efficient staff, the great Lincoln Center location, and the buzz generated by the club crowd going to the roof-top bar. A very nice experience and good value for the upper West side. N

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

One of the best roof-top venues in all of Manhattan

Back to menu Return to top