$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmsrossi
Couples
Tuckahoe, New York
Jun 29, 2013

Great Hotel and great area in the city

The room was really nice and clean but room service was so so. I would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Coast Librarian
Family
Washington DC
Jul 18, 2013

Great location and good food

The location of The Empire was perfect for the theatre and museum weekend we had in New York in June. The hotel, much renovated since my last stay over 10 years ago, decor is "moderne "and there are nice touches but things are worn. Service at the desk was excellent --not much was offered elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ed's Chowder was great for dinner before the show. Very fresh seafood and a good bartender and waiter.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoelC
Couples
NYC
Aug 19, 2013

West 60's buzz

Room was small, bed was small, but everything was clean and there when you needed it. More than made up for by the lobby decor, the efficient staff, the great Lincoln Center location, and the buzz generated by the club crowd going to the roof-top bar. A very nice experience and good value for the upper West side. N

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

One of the best roof-top venues in all of Manhattan

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valcik
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 26, 2013

Condo Search

Great location directly across from Lincoln Center. Fantastic lobby, friendly staff, vibrant lobby restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting from DC
Couples
Washington DC
Sep 15, 2013

Great location at a reasonable price

Terrific location directly across from Lincoln Center so very convenient to Central Park and the West Side in general. The renovation was very well done, meeting expectations for the boutique hotel genre. Easy bag drop-off for both pre- and post-stay walking around New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will Brake for Museums
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 3, 2013

Nice hotel in good location

The location was perfect for me as I was attending at conference at Fordham Law School just around the corner. Nice room, good size for NY. Updated decor and nice walk-in shower. Staff were excellent. Was excited to have a Keurig coffee maker in the room, but a little taken aback that they would charge for such a basic amenity ($3 per coffee pod!) I get that you always pay extra for internet, etc. in a "luxury" hotel, but this feels like nickle and diming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby Cafe Fiorello has excellent food and service.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lifelong learners
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 16, 2013

Good location at the right price

Thanks to a special promo code, i was able to stay there for under $200. convenient to Lincoln Center, and public transportation. Rooms are small...but tolerable for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phillynevern
Couples
Phila pa
Nov 18, 2013

Nice Stay

very nice. front desk staff and concierge were very helpful. one con was the lack of door on the shower stall. Doors were removed to achieve a european look. However it is backwards leaving the opening closest to the shower head. Bad move as bathroom floor becomes a lake. Staff were aware so it's not the first time someone comlained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
baltimore
Feb 1, 2010

Trendy, upbeat, great location, good val

Really enjoyed staying at the Empire Hotel. I was there for the NY Gift show. Great location, friendly staff fun decor. Had a delicious dinner at Ed's Chowder House it was a Saturday night and very crowded. [...] the bartender made me feel right at home even though dining at the bar solo. My room had 2 double beds and was very cozy. Can not imagine more than 2 in the room. The bathroom is very small and poorly designed. The shower is terrible. That is my only complaint. I will stay there again for sure, next time to take my daughter to the ballet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington, DC
Dec 30, 2009

Empire Hotel - December 2009

The overall experience was positive although the Hotel Lobby Staff were inexperienced. The waitstaff in both the hotel bar and restaurant varied from friendly to rude to clueless. The rooms were nicely appointed but small. The mini-bar provided a good selection of drinks although very expensive. There was no hotwater kettle to make tea or coffee maker in the room. Fortunately, there was a Starbucks next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top