$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BKong2
Business
China
Mar 9, 2014

Empire Hotel is good location

the location is perfect.but its noisy becaruse of the club

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Connecticut adventurers
Business
CT
Mar 4, 2014

Great location!

Spent two nights over Christmas and loved it. Directly across the street from Lincoln Center, steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park. Charming decor and exceptional staff. A bargain for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DanBB
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 1, 2014

Deluxe Junior is great.

Great room for good price. It's not small as usial new york rooms. One bedroom, big main room. 2 bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StarVoyage
Business
Charlottesville,VA
Feb 25, 2014

Great family visit

Went to visit family in NYC. Hotel is a very convenient location to them and many of the wonderful things in NYC. Would certainly stay at the hotel again, but the functionality design of the bathroom is horrible. There is so little depth in the sink that is a challenge to even get your hands under the faucet and it usually splashes when first turned on. All hotel rooms in NYC are small so every bit of shelf space is precious yet the toilet tank and the toilet itself both have sloped tops so that anything placed on top of either cover has a good chance of sliding off. Lousy design and engineering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lincoln Center visitor
Business
Western Massachusetts
Feb 17, 2014

Perfect location for Lincoln Center

The staff are terrific and the location is perfect for Lincoln Center, especially in inclement weather! However, the room was so hot that turning off the heat AND opening the window fully AND turning on the AC still made sleeping a bit too warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lenski
Business
Toronto
Feb 3, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

Very happy with our stay. When we return, we will stay at the Empire again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay Frequent Travler
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Feb 1, 2014

Nice

The hotel is nice and great location. Regular parade of tourists taking photos from Gossip Girls, but overall a nice place. Bar drinks very watered down during our last trip, but not a reason not to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid bar during day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annanandale
Business
Annandale
Jan 31, 2014

Great Location for us

Our son lives right across the street. Location could not be better for us. I did have a mysterious charge to my account after I checked out. They blamed it on a computer glitch that charged me a deposit. It took 4 days, but I eventually got a credit after I pointed it out to accounting. I will give them a second try because they are so convenient to my son. At this point I will give a recommend. If I have another unknown charge, I will change my review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S. Smith
Business
Phila
Jan 28, 2014

Wonderful Experience

What a great hotel. From the customer service to the lovely hotel decor. I will be recommending The Empire Hotel to all my friends and family visiting NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Auspar4
Business
Flower Mound, TX
Jan 25, 2014

Great location, bad experience

Hotel needs a major revamp! Overcharged us on our incidentals and refused to refund until we escalated to the manager. Rooms were poorly cleaned and without hot water most of the time during our short 2 night stay. When we asked when we could get hot water, the just advised when the broiler is fixed. Too many other hotels in NYC, avoid this one if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Smith has awesome brunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top