$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
294 reviews
Opera trip

Fabulous location near the opera house, subway and bus, and fine restaurants. See full review

  • Winfield
  • Feb 23, 2015
Regular

I book lots of hotels for my boss and this is his most requested hotel. The location is amazing and... See full review

  • Mindy L.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chop
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Jul 3, 2013

Canada Day in the Big Apple

From the great location to the romantic rooftop bar, the Empire Hotel satisfied us in every way. The room was small but hey, that's insignificant because it was only for sleeping anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to walk walk walk all over the place. You'll never get bored. There is a lot to look at in New York. Every place is walking distance if you have the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandraLBN
Business
N/A
Apr 20, 2015

Nice location, iffy otherwise

This place is used to having a captive audience, being the only hotel near Lincoln Center- the location is great. my experience was that I needed to be extremely insistent to get the kind of service I have come to expect in other, supposedly lesser hotels. When I travel, I need certain accommodations for severe dust, perfume, and feather/down allergies. I was assured these would be taken care of before our arrival. Not only was the room not ready when we arrived, but we needed to wait about an hour an a half before I had a total meltdown about being prepared for our evening out (after traveling all day). The kind desk clerk, Julia, finally put us into another room so we could shower and dress for our theatre call time, and promised that the room would be prepared properly after we went out for the evening. It was, and they did a fine job, but I had to have a fit to get it. *Everything* in the room had a fee, including the coffee- I've never been in a hotel that did not provide free coffee in the room, but maybe this is something new (?). You could not hang anything longer than a shirt in the wardrobe, and even shirts dragged on the shelf below. The elevators were incredibly slow and rickety. One was out of service for a day. The shower was weird- it had only a half-wide door that did not close. I'm not a rambunctious bather, but each shower I took required several towels to mop up, even with extreme care. I would probably not choose to stay here again, unless I had no choice. The location is great but is insufficient justification for the lesser quality provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jon
Business
seattle
Apr 15, 2015

Location is great. other than that...

No window guard. room was dirty. wifi unreliable. staff was not helpful location was good. had to pay for toothbrush - first time I've heard it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robyn T.
Business
St Peter
Apr 14, 2015

Nice Stay

The hotel location was great. I had a lovely time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patti R
Business
Ringgold
Apr 7, 2015

Not the best hotel I've stayed at!

The lobby is very pretty but the rooms are really small with an even smaller bathroom. The sink is only about 4 inches deep and the shower only has half a door. The floor stayed wet. Not enough lighting either. The halls are soooo hot. The people are nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KBK10437.
Business
Devonshire
Apr 6, 2015

Great location but only average 4 Star hotel

The location is great. Lincoln Center is just across the street and lots of shops, movies and restaurants around. The bathroom is tiny. You need to close the door to have enough room sitting on the small toilet. The walk in shower is great, but you will flood the bathroom, as no door or curtain keeps the water from sprinkling out. You have to leave the door open to grasp air. Ventilation in the bathroom was poor. The dark decor makes the room appear tinier than it actually is. No closets. Someone left chewing gum on the floor, which due to the dark decor went unnoticed by the maid. Conveniently there was a coffeemaker in the room. If you use it, the hotel will charge you for the convenience. The Mini-Bar was well stacked and lots of travel accessories come in handy. The location did not make up for these downsides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ana g.
Business
df
Apr 6, 2015

Too hot or too cold

It was very hard to enjoy my stay. The heating was too hot and there was no way to turn it down. Finally ended up opening the window. By the next day I was cold and had snow in the room. Not a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose G.
Business
N/A
Mar 11, 2015

Good NYC Experience

Upon check in walking through the lobby was very elegant the young lady who check us in was very polite and helpful through out our stay. She also provide a small birthday gift which I thought was very thoughtful with a personalized card. The room was a bit small and the hotel was a very noise at night must be a party hotspot. other than that a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tianyuan H.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

good location

the location and the service of the hotel are great and we enjoy a great evening there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winfield
Business
Washington
Feb 23, 2015

Opera trip

Fabulous location near the opera house, subway and bus, and fine restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ana g.
Business
df
Feb 21, 2015

Nad place for study

This hotel did not meet my expectations. It sounds like a luxury hotel but is just one more tiny New Yok hotel with the tipycal NYC problems. The location cannot be better if you are going to or around the Lincoln center area. However the heating in my room was unbearable. It was -2 degrees outside and I felt I was in a tropical island. When I asked how to modulate the heating they said that was not possible because the heating is centrally controlled for the entire building and that I should turn on the air conditioning. Though this is not the most environmentally sane thing to do, I did try to turn on the air conditioning, which I was not able to turn on. When management sent in someone to help, the maintenance man told me since it is cold outside the sitcoms ironing would simply not turn on. So I ended in with the windo open and snow in my room to be somewhat comfortable. The last day of my trip someone rooms very random selection of my things: took my vitamins but left the vitamin jar, took some snaks I had brought from home but left the containers and took all the bags of tea I had book yet took the box. I'd recommend you stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top