$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AWLuvTravel
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 12, 2014

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Lobby cool, location great- maybe would stay more central next time, but wonderful neighborhood- next to Central Park & Lincoln Center. You can walk to most other areas for example Times Square is a 20 min. walk away. The door man was super helpful arranging return transportation to airport. Front desk kindly reversed the extra charge for a suite upgrade. The queen bed pull out sofa was terrible. Told a supervisor the fist night but that was pretty much ignored. Told associate upon check out and she was more than helpful. It was not loud like some of the other reviews indicate and we were there on a Sat. The hotel is safe, nice, and good location- would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robinlbc
Business
LBC
Jun 23, 2014

Big Apple getaway

I arrived to the hotel at 6am the day of my reservation. The manager was more than accommodating by providing me with a room to check-in well before check-in time. This gave me time to take a shower and get ready for my convention later that day. The food is nothing special but more than adequate. It's tough when your in a city with so many fine dinning establishments to compare, This is my second stay here and would have no problem staying here again. This hotel is a great option for those going to Linchlon Center, who enjoy Central Park, and a great central location for all of NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the continental Breakfast on the roof. Also, the pool is a single person lap pool. The sun deck, views, and.cocktails are great up on top. Stay away from the food up there. It would be better to call for take out from your favorite nearby restaurant. It might even get there quicker.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SAB Dad
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 25, 2014

Empire fell short of expectations

Bathroom was very small and had evidence of water damage (rust on door hinges and peeling paint). The primary issue was having only half a shower door (slidding half removed) so shower water splashes all over the floor. When I complained about it, I was informed that "all" of the rooms in the hotel have only half a shower door. Fortunately the hotel was willing provide extra towels daily to sop up the water. Though I have limited experinence with Manhattan hotels, next time I will stay somewhere nicer for less money and happily walk a few more blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AzMak
Business
Michigan
Jul 5, 2014

Decent Hotel

The elevator at the hotel is poorly serviced. Had to take the stairs all the time while staying there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Typical Texan
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 7, 2014

Good location

Pros: great location, near Central Park and Upper West Side, great rooftop pool/view, staff was nice Cons: the elevators were broken all weekend, one group even got stuck and the fire department had to come get them out, I spent on average 20 mins waiting for the elevator to get us and take us each time during our whole stay Thursday-Sunday, the pool was full of kids running around and was not relaxing, the air con has two settings: on and off, layer up at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoctorBAS
Business
phoenix az
Jul 16, 2014

Great Location

It has a great location but is trying too hard to be trendy with loud music in the Lobby, open door shower, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slmig
Business
New york
Jul 14, 2014

What Pool????

We live 30 north of NYC and wanted a 1 day getaway to relax, so we hit the big apple, street fairs, Dinner Jazz Club, all great , well we arrived at the Empire at 330 pm and checked in promptly all seemed great, pretty lobby ect. We booked this hotel for the roof top pool and lounge, looked amazing on the website.... Wellll pictures are definately deceiving!!! Firsts you take the elevator to the 11th floor then walk up 21/2 flights not a big deal, except if your drinking and need to get down, which we werent, but we both said the same thing. We arrived on the deck and there was a quaint bar and a nice space of chairs and people getting some sun. So where's the pool, we saw a beautiful pool online, we walked over to see this dark murky pool maybe 4 feet wide by 12 feet if that long with 3 people in it lol we both looked at each other and laughed are you kidding, this is what we paid extra for? not good not at all should have paid 50 more and stayed at the parker. Our room was ok very small tho, and we asked the desk about it and they said we actually have smaller and thought was funny, and he also said we are over booked and thats whats left, We my weekend with my darling was great dispite the hotel which again horrible but truth in advertising would be nice dont believe the website section on the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JDuff
Business
Virgina
Jul 19, 2014

Not really a 4 Star Hotel

The Hotel staff were very good from the bell men to the front desk people. Room was small but not a big problem as we were out off the room early and came back late. The decor is 70’s and does not apper to have been updated since then. The area is excellent. If you plan on spending most of your time out of your room it is a good deal. Maybe a 3 1/2 star except for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park you car yourself directly behind the hotel. $40/day verses $70 if they park it for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susan217
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 17, 2014

Visiting family and friends

There were things that were great, like the proximity to friends and family, the comfortable bed and roof top deck. The sink and shower design was not very practical/functional. When we were given keys to the wrong room and someone was already in it. They apologized and gave us free wifi and breakfast vouchers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juilliard Dance Mom
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 4, 2014

PERFECT LOCATION for Lincoln Center and a few blocks to WICKED!

Perfect location for going to LINCOLN Center and just a few blocks walk to WICKED!!! Loved the hotels location, room is small but that's common in NYC. They were having a problem with the elevators (only 2 of the 4 were working) - so had to take the stairs a few times. It was clean and it was a very short walk to the Subway and the Gershwin to see WICKED!!! Safe and also easy to get to from JFK - one subway line all the way to Columbus Circle, then walk to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

AWESOME Mexican Restaurant right out the front door of the hotel to left and another left around the corner. Awesome guacamole!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top