$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Providence
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
Feb 18, 2013

1 day NYC getaway

It was our worst hotel experience we've ever had (and we've been to many). First, the toilet sit was full of body hair, which disgust me! Then when I went into the shower, I found out, that the sliding door didn't even exist (it obviously broke and they totally took it down) and I had to take a shower in an open shower stand, which resulted in a major flood in the bathroom. It was horrible, but the best was yet to come - We couldn't sleep the whole entire night, because of the radiator, which was making unbearable cracking sound every 15 minutes! I can't believe they actually let people stay in that room and charge them hundreds of $$$. The next morning when we were asked at the front desk how our stay was, I explained to her everything and all we got in return was: "oh, yes there is one room that needs to be renovated, I'm sorry". I couldn't believe my ears. Since the hotel has a perfect location, we thought we would go back, since the location is perfect, but after our experience - NEVER AGAIN! P.S. Can't believe that ridiculous place is called: "luxurious 4 star hotel", what a joke!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyhood
Business
new york, ny
Feb 17, 2013

Great Location

Awesome Location, Small Rooms and Reasonable Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katienriley
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 11, 2013

Great spot

I love The Empire... best location ever right at Lincoln Center... close everything but not in the noisy part of it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

landmarc - great food and drink for a nice dinner close by.... Stone Rose - great for drinks and snacks... both with a great view of Columbus Circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandmaxoxoxoxo
Business
New York, NY
Feb 4, 2013

Hotel Empire

Good location. Small room and very tiny bathroom. Rooms could use some sprucing up, but the price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katienriley
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 3, 2013

Perfect location

The staff at the Empire couldn't be better... always very helpful. The location is perfect... steps from Columbus Circle subway, Lincoln Center, Central Park, etc. This has become my go-to hotel in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

landmarc at the Time-Warner Center - delicious food, especially the mussels!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter the Theatre Nomad
Business
Sarasota
Jan 21, 2013

Where's maintenance?

I changed rooms 3 times because there was at least two things broken in each one. In the first there was no place to plug in a computer and the desk lamp didn't work. The second had a broken tv and a missing window shade. And Cable service was down (for which they gave me free breakfast buffet ticket). In the last another lamp was broken and the bathroom sink stopper was broken. The doorman saw I was struggling wind and my bags but did nothing to help. I used to love this hotel, but will no longer stay there or recommend it to my friends and business associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LINCOLN, the new restaurant at Lincoln Center, is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occasional overnighter
Business
New Jersey
Jan 12, 2013

Good use of small space

Perfect location for Lincoln Center. Basic room with one bed was diminutive even for NYC. Quiet, laptop-sized safe, some luxury touches, but no fridge or bathtub. Good desk services, room service, 24-hr cardio room. Fine for a night or two if you're spry and pack light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDD118
Business
Evanston, IL, USA
Dec 30, 2012

Might be my new go-to hotel in NYC

The rooms are quiet, comfortable, and stylish-- and a good size for New York City hotels. The beds were excellent-- very firm with great linens. The hotel is across the street from Lincoln Center and its subway station stop. Staff was friendly and courteous throughout the stay. For the price, it's a great value for NYC. I've stayed in comparably priced hotels in the city that were half the size, noisy, and/or less conveniently located. Definitely would recommend and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler NYC
Business
FLorida
Dec 17, 2012

Great time - convenient to Lincoln Center

Good time in NYC - usually stay downtown but there is so much to do in this area as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelAdventures2012
Business
New York, NY
Dec 11, 2012

Great Location

Great location right next to Lincoln center. Walking distance to most major sights. A little loud but that's to be expected for NYC. The bed was comfortable and the room size was also decent for the city. No Ice machine and also no complimentary coffee/tea (at least that we saw)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top