$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
268 reviews
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
The Empire hotel embodies a return to the classic hotel room but with an edge. Guest rooms pay tribute to the rich earth tone palettes of Central Park accented by leather furnishing combined with the modernistic style of Lincoln Center. Rest and unwind in the virtuoso comfort of The Empire Hotel. 413 rooms and suites, lobby bar, meeting space up to 250 people, full concierge service, full in room bar, frette linen, oversized towels, fitness center, valet parking, same day laundry service, 2 hour rush laundry service and on site pressing. There is a $12.95 charge per 24 hour period for WI-FI.
As of November 1, 2013, The Empire Hotel is smoke-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Providence
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
Feb 18, 2013

1 day NYC getaway

It was our worst hotel experience we've ever had (and we've been to many). First, the toilet sit was full of body hair, which disgust me! Then when I went into the shower, I found out, that the sliding door didn't even exist (it obviously broke and they totally took it down) and I had to take a shower in an open shower stand, which resulted in a major flood in the bathroom. It was horrible, but the best was yet to come - We couldn't sleep the whole entire night, because of the radiator, which was making unbearable cracking sound every 15 minutes! I can't believe they actually let people stay in that room and charge them hundreds of $$$. The next morning when we were asked at the front desk how our stay was, I explained to her everything and all we got in return was: "oh, yes there is one room that needs to be renovated, I'm sorry". I couldn't believe my ears. Since the hotel has a perfect location, we thought we would go back, since the location is perfect, but after our experience - NEVER AGAIN! P.S. Can't believe that ridiculous place is called: "luxurious 4 star hotel", what a joke!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beeburk
Business
michigan
Jun 5, 2013

Not Again

Dark, old, creepy. This hotel is just feels bad. The halls are long, dark and small. The entire feel is like a nightclub. It just had a feel that did not feel fresh and alive. I will not be staying again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Auspar4
Business
Flower Mound, TX
Jan 25, 2014

Great location, bad experience

Hotel needs a major revamp! Overcharged us on our incidentals and refused to refund until we escalated to the manager. Rooms were poorly cleaned and without hot water most of the time during our short 2 night stay. When we asked when we could get hot water, the just advised when the broiler is fixed. Too many other hotels in NYC, avoid this one if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Smith has awesome brunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend wedding crasher
Business
Boston MA
May 27, 2014

Terrible

Cold shower (hotel boiler was broken). Room smelled like a skunk. Poor lighting. No complimentary food or coffee -- $7.50 for a bottle of water. No view (window looked out onto tiny interior courtyard, consisting of a couple of air conditioners sitting on concrete). Highlight: relatively generous check-out time (noon).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Aug 25, 2008

Will never stay here again

One of the worst hotels I have ever had to endure. While the hotel lobby bar is very nice, don't let that fool you! You can come here for a drink, but don't need to stay. The room was smaller than a bread box, even small for a NYC room! Aside from the size, the staff were not well trained: When housekeeping brought 2 foam pillows up she handed me the pillows and then the cases and said Here, you do it!. Housekeeping never took any dirty glasses away, in fact I called room service to pick get them repeatedly. It was colder outside our room (we stayed in NYC in August!)than inside, the air conditioner sure did make a lot of noise but did not work. It was so noisy we actually couldn't hear any street noise and we were on the 2nd floor! The carpet was frayed and dirty. Our Do Not Disturb sign was taken off of our door every morning so that we had the pleasure of housekeeping barging into our room for 3 days from 7am to 9 am every few hours! In the bathroom, when we checked into the room there were hairs (not ours) on the toilet seat, in the shower and in the sink. The reasons we didn't leave are because our friends live around the corner, other friends were waiting for us at the hotel before we even checked in, we had plans early that night, and we didn't have the time to hassle for a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadlephia PA
Apr 11, 2010

Irresponsible and Disastrous

The hotel overbooked (they said they had some damage to a floor which caused them to cancel rooms but as we travelled by the hotel, all floors looked booked.) We were informed that a wedding and two conventions had to take priority over our visit and we were unceremoniously relocated to another hotel all the way across town. My parents arrived first and were simply told it was not their problem and that we should contact [...] We needed to be close to Lincoln Center which is the only reason we booked this hotel in the first place. Until we called the hotel to discuss what they could do they were prepared to simply tell my parents to go to another hotel nearly 20 minutes away. The best they did was put us up in a queen room at the Hudson...Smallest room ever. Although the front desk manager was helpful, while we waited for a new hotel room which took nearly 4 hours, many people arrived at the hotel and checked into their room. As they told me, they simply took priority over booking with [...]. I will never recommend, stay or every even suggest any hotel associated with the Empire, the chain[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChicagoFlyer
Business
Chicago
Apr 17, 2011

Disappointing for Business Traveler

Faux hipster scene prioritized over customer service and professionalism. Given shoebox sized room - even by NYC standards - that overlooked AC units. At first, staff was not responsive to requests to change, but eventually switched me. Little things like cigarette butts in hallways and no wake up calls added to frustration. On positive side, decent bed and good location. Won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Crescent
Jun 10, 2008

A hotel to avoid

We had major problems with the A/C and the electrical in general. It still supports the needs of a hotels and its patrons from 50 to 60 years ago. The circuit breaker would trip but no one knew about it until we returned to our room with temps in the 80's. This happened both nights of our stay. The maintenance staff was either slow or did not show -- the second time, the staff fixed the A/c by running an extension cord to the regular socket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mjac
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Oct 11, 2010

Disappointed in 4 star hotel

Hotel was very expensive, and a 4 star SO we were expecting the best ammenities. However, our room was very small, our bathroom door didn't close, there was MOLD in the shower, the paint on the ceiling was peeling, our towels had holes in them. Exremely disappointed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Dec 13, 2009

Beware of this hotel practiices.

Terrible staff service, paid for king size bed had to be fought for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top