$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
321 reviews
great

great scene, comfy bed, great staff, great location, great price See full review

  • johny wall street
  • Jul 1, 2014
Wow!

The room was a corner suite with a great view of the Lincoln Center and a park below looking West... See full review

  • Skip A
  • Jun 2, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Recital in nyc
Empire hotel
Mar 29, 2014

NYC recital

Great Recital at Lincoln center do location was key

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elko, NV
Oct 7, 2008

Great Spot

We found this hotel to be perfect for our first New York stay. It is centrally located near Central Park, Lincoln Center and is only a short cab ride to the theater district. The staff was great and accomodated our every wish. The room was comfortable and the bed was great. The bath was a little cramped but given that this hotel was first built in the '20s it was fine. My only complaint was that the AC didn't keep the room cool enough at night. Often I slept on top of the bed instead of in it. There is no real in hotel food services but PJ Clarke's next door was a real plus. Room service could be had however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at the Empire and wish to see Ellis Island, it is less than half a block to the subway. Take the number one train and it will take you right to Battery Park and the South Ferry terminal. It took all of 20 minutes to get from the hotel to the terminal and the subway ride...$2.00! Best deal in the city.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis
Jun 9, 2008

great and groovy hotel

We loved the Empire. Wonderful, stylish place with beautifully appointed rooms, and very cool rooftop bar and small pool. The location, across from Lincon Center and near Central park, can't be beat. We would definitely stay there again. Great staff (except for snooty bartender...but hey, one clinker is not too bad, It is, after all, Manhattan...)We had a wonderful time- bell hops were the coolest and lL'Occitane(sp?) soap to boot. LOVED IT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 star restaurants abound, along with usual fare... Whole foods and great Bouchon deli one block away and awesome...

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 18, 2008

Cozy yet Elegant

The Empire Hotel was inviting and chic. The staff was helpful, the lounge area was stunning and the ambiance was great. Although the room was a bit small, the furniture was very comfortable. The location was excellent as it was near restaurants, the subway and the Lincoln Center!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway was just a block and a half away and if you're looking for directions to a place the staff is delighted to help.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newton, Ma
Nov 30, 2009

Pretty good stay

We had booked 2 rooms and asked for adjacent room for me and my son which they told me that the hotel was book solid and unable to accommodate us. I expected that the Empire Hotel to be traditional old hotel but was pleasantly surprised that it is quite modern. The staff are friendly and the apple was delicious. The room was big enough for my husband and me. The hotel was very closed to Central Park which we took advantage of to walk around. The location is a little far from Radio City Music Hall which is our reason for the trip - to see the Rockettes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Oct 11, 2009

Fantastic Getaway For Two!

The Empire Hotel is in an excellent location. I would definitely stay there again. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful from the front desk to the maids. If you need an iron, you can ask and the hotel will bring one to your room. The rooms are small but decorated very trendy and nice. Tip: the bathroom waste container is under the bathroom cabinet. We couldn't find till well into our stay. The hotel is near Lincoln Center, a short walk to Columbus Circle, a short walk and you are in Central Park, a short walk and your are at Times Square. It isn't the quietest hotel but I didn't think it was overly noisy either. The noise didn't seem to bother me, in fact I rather enjoyed it, the hustle bustle of New York starting her day! Obviously, there were no mini coffee pots in the room, but you could go to the hotel restaurant or get room service. It was easier to go to the Starbucks that was literally out the hotel, turn the corner, Starbucks. We had a great time in New York and were very pleased with our stay at the Empire Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the subway! We were there for 5 nights. We got a subway map and just went for it. People in New York are so friendly and helpful. We were able to go all over, get off at whatever stop we wanted, and then walk all over New York. Got lots of exercise, too. We only took a cab to a broadway show one night.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renardette
NY
Sep 2, 2009

Great place

Everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Rooftop bar is amazing!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glen Carbon, IL
Jul 13, 2008

Great location!

The Empire is a great hotel in a great location. Located really close to the subway and Lincoln Center. The only disappointment is there was no business center so if you need something printed out you are taking a cab to Kinko's. The same is true for meals. No hotel restaurant but they do serve a high priced hotel breakfast, which is best if skipped! The bathroom is really small especially for 2 people. The Queen standard room is extremely small and we found we had to upgrade to the King standard just so we could breathe. Overall it's a nice hotel in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner is a Duane Reade store which is like a drugstore and a grocery store. Stock up on drinks and snacks there and then store the drinks in the mini bar. You can take out the stuff in there and put your soda, juice, and water inside while you are there!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turbo416
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Great Location

This was a perfect location, close to downtown, Amtrak and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara
Sep 2, 2008

good hotel to stay in New York City

I have nothing to complain about the hotel, except our room was on the small side. However,the hotel's location was great. It was centrally located to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is located in the middle of everything. one block from Central Park, 15 minutes walk from Time Square.

Back to menu Return to top