$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
246 reviews
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
loved it

This boutique hotel is centrally located to so many NYC sites (Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle &... See full review

  • Susanpet
  • Aug 10, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 246
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StreetSavage86
Holland, Mi
Aug 17, 2014

Not what I thought

Well the room was very small, didn't have a door to the shower, not sure what that was about. The staff seems a little to busy to deal with anyone, the pool was freaking a joke and way to small....nice rooftop scene, the Hotel seems worn out all ways around. The Location was great, all walking distance to Time Square the Wax Museum and just fun all around the area hands down. The Hotel has its ups and downs but it does its job. I ain't mad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

NYC never sleeps and the Night Life is a wonderful experience.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
estha
atlanta
Aug 16, 2014

Good staffs

I was staying at one room with queen bedroom. The hotel interior was nice but the room was VERY small. There is no shower door, meaning all floor of bathroom was wet during shower. Location was ok. Just three stations away from time square. But I hate how well I can hear the noizes from hallway. Other than that it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is wallgreen behind the hotel. Get some water first. Hotel charges you $7 for small bottle of water.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susan217
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 17, 2014

Visiting family and friends

There were things that were great, like the proximity to friends and family, the comfortable bed and roof top deck. The sink and shower design was not very practical/functional. When we were given keys to the wrong room and someone was already in it. They apologized and gave us free wifi and breakfast vouchers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoctorBAS
phoenix az
Jul 16, 2014

Great Location

It has a great location but is trying too hard to be trendy with loud music in the Lobby, open door shower, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slmig
New york
Jul 14, 2014

What Pool????

We live 30 north of NYC and wanted a 1 day getaway to relax, so we hit the big apple, street fairs, Dinner Jazz Club, all great , well we arrived at the Empire at 330 pm and checked in promptly all seemed great, pretty lobby ect. We booked this hotel for the roof top pool and lounge, looked amazing on the website.... Wellll pictures are definately deceiving!!! Firsts you take the elevator to the 11th floor then walk up 21/2 flights not a big deal, except if your drinking and need to get down, which we werent, but we both said the same thing. We arrived on the deck and there was a quaint bar and a nice space of chairs and people getting some sun. So where's the pool, we saw a beautiful pool online, we walked over to see this dark murky pool maybe 4 feet wide by 12 feet if that long with 3 people in it lol we both looked at each other and laughed are you kidding, this is what we paid extra for? not good not at all should have paid 50 more and stayed at the parker. Our room was ok very small tho, and we asked the desk about it and they said we actually have smaller and thought was funny, and he also said we are over booked and thats whats left, We my weekend with my darling was great dispite the hotel which again horrible but truth in advertising would be nice dont believe the website section on the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaurennA
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Good Hotel for the Price

Room was a decent size and clean. Comfy bed and nice shower. The only disappointment was the rooftop pool, which is incredibly tiny. But if the pool isn't the main draw for you, it's a good value and good location. Beautiful views from the rooftop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim5251
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 6, 2014

Would Not Stay Again

Almost got the feeling that this hotel is getting ready to go out of business. They seemed to not have enough towels for the rooms so sometimes we would get enough towels, sometimes not, I eventually got enough towels a few hours after complaining one day, after that I just gave up. Only two of 4 elevators were working our entire stay, and even the 2 that were working did not work that well, good thing we only had to walk up 5 floors. Really feel for the people that were on the 11th floor. Keys constantly stopped working, I kept having to go down to the front desk to get new keys done, even keys that were not even put near anything stopped working. For the price, this hotel is a MAJOR disappointment. There are much better hotels in New York for what they are charging. I would stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Farah Al
New York
Jun 16, 2014

OKAY

Disappointed by the room size and amenities. Definitely the smallest room I've ever stayed in and the shower door was missing in the bathroom, which I thought was really weird. Would not stay there again. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sabrina123
Sarasota, Florida
Jun 10, 2014

And the nightmare began......

First impression: Adams family meets Lion King decor and cocktail lighting makes it impossible to see anything let alone put on makeup., First room was marginally larger than the bed - no room for 2 people to pass each other without one jumping on the bed. Upgraded to larger room with 2 queens, but same problem in negotiating the room. Only 2 small drawers . No where to hang dresses without them hitting the divider in the closet. Bathroom was a total joke. We were going to a very formal wedding but the boiler broke and we had rusty, dirty cold water to bathe in. No hope of repair before we left. Management tried to help, but they are swimming upstream here.. You had to close the door to use the sink behind it. The toilet leaked onto the floor and flooded the room. No one was sent to fix it until the 3rd call. Hotel is in serious need of re-habbing and bring your own lightbulbs if you want to see your face. mezzanine restroom was awful - no toilet paper or towels anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skip A
Des Moines, IA
Jun 2, 2014

Wow!

The room was a corner suite with a great view of the Lincoln Center and a park below looking West and North. It was fun to be in the upper West side with the restaurants, shops and activities. The Metro was a short 4 block walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Amber asian restaurant was a very pleasant meal at an affordable price.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search