$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PACKSPEC
Couples
NEWBURYPORT, MA.
Jun 24, 2013

EMPIRE HOTEL

THIS HOTEL IS A GEM. VERY BOUTIQUE IN STYLE, GREAT LOCATION ACROSS FROM LINCOLN STATION. ROOF TOP LOUNGE, ROOF TOP POOL. SO EASY TO GET AROUND NEW YORK FROM THIS LOCATION. SHORT WALK TO CENTRAL PARK. I WILL USE THIS HOTEL MORE IN THE FUTURE. PRICES VERY FAIR FOR NEW YORK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Attony
Couples
Halwey, PA
Jun 24, 2013

Location & value, plus sundeck/pool in Summer.

We had a very nice stay at the Empire Hotel on a Saturday night (6/22/13). It was a busy place but our room was quiet & quite comfortable. It was clean, but there was an odor of tobacco smoke when we first entered, even though it was a non-smoking room as ordered. The sundeck on the roof was great and the pool, although small was quite refreshing after my jog in central Park which is only 2 blocks away. Perfect location for Park and for Lincoln Center which is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sapphire Indian Restaurant is just down Broadway about two blocks. Very good Indian food, a little pricey but the decor, service and great food make it worth it.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TC10014
Single
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

Lincoln Center's Best Option

If you are looking to stay near Lincoln Center or spend time in Central Park..this is a great choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

P.J. Clarke's is a great spot for a drink or a meal...

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College broke Mom
Couples
Boston, MA
Jun 18, 2013

A quick overnight in New York

We wanted an inexpensive hotel near our daughter on the Upper West Side. We liked the idea of the rooftop patio & pool. The hotel was hopping when we arrived at 6 pm but our room was pleasantly quiet. The pool was smaller than it looked in the picture (as in postage stamp), but this is New York. It was a warm summer evening and we enjoyed drinks on the rooftop.. I had one of their special cocktails with gin, lime, cucumber and mint that was fabulous and refreshing. A relaxed breeze kept us comfortable. The room was also quite small, but since we were only there for one night we could manage. On our last trip we stayed in a 5 star hotel where they upgraded our room to a suite. We were there for six days then and we needed the space. Other than the spacial dimensions, we thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff was friendly, gracious, and top-notch in every way. We feel this was a great value and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose Chung
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 17, 2013

Trendy and Terse

In town for an event at Lincoln Center, so the location was ideal. The room was comfortable and aesthetically pleasing, in a trendy sort of way, though very small. Everything was packed in like Tetris pieces. There were lots of goodies for purchase in the room, like iPhone chargers, Pringles, but paying $7.50 for a water bottle is ridiculous, even if it is convenient. The rooftop bar was great, and the lobby had a bit of a "scene." I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beeburk
Single
michigan
Jun 5, 2013

Not Again

Dark, old, creepy. This hotel is just feels bad. The halls are long, dark and small. The entire feel is like a nightclub. It just had a feel that did not feel fresh and alive. I will not be staying again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
Single
New York, NY
May 30, 2013

Perfect Lincoln Center area choice!

Can't do better than this...my room had a perfect view of Lincoln Center...the rooftop pool (just a lap pool but nice) and outdoor and indoor lounge has great views of the neighborhood. Everyone was nice and the room was comfortable. Easy choice if you want to check out the shows and arts and music at Lincoln Center and/or enjoy Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Right in the same building but not attached to the hotel is P.J. Clarke's. Good spot to sit at a table or the bar and watch a game and have a great burger or other food and a beer and chat up other visitors and locals

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nurse Ritchie
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
May 29, 2013

Wonderful Hotel

It was our 1st time in NYC and this hotel was wonderful. It was very clean, beautiful and very friendly staff esp the congierge Chris. He helped us out get around town and was very sincere. The hotel offered to store our luggages too for early check in. They use L'occitane toiletries. The hotel is very close to 59th & columbus subway station, Lincoln Ctr and Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I recommend Katz Deli its on 1st Ave and Houston. It the world's best pastrami. Ur stay in Manhattan is not complete if u havent been to katz. They were featured in when harry met sally, long island medium, anthony bor

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawati
Friends
Muscat, Oman
Apr 28, 2013

Convenient for a weekend break

Hotel is located near by the main attraction areas in NYC such as the Central Park, Time Square and 5th Avenue. It's a good option if you are seeking for a weekend break as everything is near you & you have many places to dine from. Although rooms were too small & didn't have outdoor view but it was ok as it's normal in NYC hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Ithaca College Mom
Couples
Pennsylvania
Apr 21, 2013

Location, location, location

Great place to stay if you're attending events at Lincoln Center or the MET. Room was clean and comfy. Great view from our window. Take your own snacks, however, you don't want to pay $6.50 for a Kit Kat bar in the room. Room was overpriced, but that's typical for New York. At least it was clean, comfy, and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clarks restaurant right outside the front door of the hotel was a great place for dining--good food and reasonable prices for New York.

Back to menu Return to top