$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R William
Family
Connecticut
Apr 15, 2014

Empire pros and cons

Pros: Great location and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Lobby and bar are nice and there are amenities right outside the door (Rx, Starbucks, etc.). Hospitality was very responsive to requests. Rooms are New York sized (small), but at least well designed. In room coffee charges $3 (but Starbucks right outside). No ice machines, but ice on request. Air conditioning is not very effective. Rooftop bar is not run by the hotel and is cheezy, unless you want a bridge and tunnel clientele feel. Security with earpieces control access -- even when the place is empty. It does have a nice view though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daniel Boulud of famed restaurant "Daniel" has 2 restaurants (Boulud Sud, Bar Boulud) and a take-out grab and go shop right across the street.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamawhompa
Family
Boston, MA
Apr 7, 2014

Great location but needs some help

Checked in on a Friday evening, the front desk (especially Jose) was very helpful. The lobby itself was very cold due to the main doors being left open with the wind gusting inside. The decor is very nice and the hotel is clean. Stayed on a lower floor, so street noise was constant. Also, being there on a weekend, there were lines outside the hotel for the bar/club. With that many people coming and going, there was virtually no security. The location is ideal and why we chose to stay here. Across the street from Lincoln Center, 1 block away from the subway and a 5-10 minute walk from Columbus Circle. I got locked into the bathroom on our 2nd day's stay (due to a flimsy door handle) and when I finally got out (thanks to the person I was staying with) went down and told the front desk. I was told that someone would look at it and assumed they did, although the door knob was still bad. Also, they never offered any compensation or anything for my ordeal. The bathroom shower stall was lovely and had nice shower heads available. The space is small and there was peeling paint on the door jam and bathroom door. The beds were comfortable, the TV very large and pillows were great. No heat second day there and asked about that and as told that the "boiler" doesn't come on unless it's colder than 50 degrees. Overall, it was a mixed bag. Great location, with a few things that could be great improved on the inside. Not sure if I would stay there again for the price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a real NYC pizza experience? Try Sacco's. It was recommended by the concierge and was fantastic!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VIBI
Friends
TORONTO
Apr 7, 2014

GIRLS NIGHT OUT IN NYC

It's a beautiful hotel with great staff. I loved the rooftop lounge. It's not best location if you're looking to party as most of spots are in the meatpacking district. Other than two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz Lucas
Family
Dallas, Texas
Apr 2, 2014

Weekend in the City

The hotel lobby and restaurants were nice but the rooms were the smallest I've every stayed in. The bathroom was even smaller - the sink was so close to the wall you couldn't stand in between and shabby - bathroom looked run down. Poor lighting in the room. For the price I've stayed in better places in NYC. However, the location was convenient to a lot of areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Times Square - medium distance Museums - long distance

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York fan2
Couples
Bucaramanga, Colombia
Apr 1, 2014

Good hotel ear central park and everything

good room, nice room city view, nice lobby and public zones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central park

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Zed
Couples
Cambridge MA
Apr 1, 2014

location, location, location

You cannot beat the location if you are attending events at Lincoln Center. Restaurants, subway stop, and museums are nearby. Staff is friendly, courteous, and competent. Main drawback is that the rooms in the hotel have been sliced up so that each room barely has enough room for two people, and the bathroom hardly accommodates one. No full shower curtain, and you can't bend your head over the sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Recital in nyc
Family
Empire hotel
Mar 29, 2014

NYC recital

Great Recital at Lincoln center do location was key

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Two Jays
Couples
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 28, 2014

Just OK

Since it's NYC I can only describe the room and the check in/out experience. TINY room. Really tiny. View of an air shaft (room 510) and the sound of a kitchen fan going off all night. Right next to the elevator too. Oddly, the place wasn't even very crowded so why they put me there is anyone's guess. I wonder if this is how the hotel sticks it to the O users? Since it's NYC I was only in the room to sleep/shower. Did I mention they try to charge 3$ to use the in room coffee? Check in/out OK but never did they ask how my stay was or act very welcoming. I will look elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off Bway. Go to Amsterdam Ave and head north. Columbus Ave too. Great places to eat, shop and enjoy. Everything on Bway costs 20% more.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Recital in nyc
Single
Empire hotel
Mar 26, 2014

Recitial weekend

Loved the location. Kind of noisy in halls at late night when trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb from Boston
Couples
Boston
Mar 18, 2014

Location, Location

The Empire Hotel is in a wonderful spot -- right across from Lincon Center, right on Broadway, away from the crowds but still central. The decor is a bit pretentious, and the hotwl is showing some wear. The wallpaper had separated slightly in our room, and the radiator rattled. One towel was frayed. But the staff are really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast in the atrium of the Lincoln Center ticketsplace just a few yards south on Broadway. Much less crowded than Starbucks and very pleasant

Back to menu Return to top