$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

4 stars
130 East 39th Street, Between Lexington and Park Ave, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
122 reviews
Awesome stay!

Stayed in this hotel couple of times and loved it! Clean, great location, anazing comfortable beds.... See full review

  • Tvoya2006
  • Nov 21, 2014
The Court

This was an amazing hotel. Staff upgraded us since it was my husband's first trip to NYC. The room... See full review

  • sdive3
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel is located at the corner of 39th Street and Lexington Avenue in midtown Manhattan. Sophisticated and luxurious, The Court Hotel is perfect for those seeking the ultimate New York Experience. The Court boasts 199 spacious guest rooms and suites with nine foot ceilings and generous living spaces which are the envy of New York City hotels. Experience the trendy and fashionable Court Bar, a midtown Manhattan favorite, and relax with an expertly crafted cocktail. Icon Restaurant offers a classic breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 am to 11:00 am and weekends from 7:00 am to noon. Guests The Court also enjoy access to a full business center and a state-of-the-art fitness facility. Welcome to The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel. Be inspired. Be classic. Be central.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
The Deluxe King is a 400 square foot studio featuring a luxury king size bed. Other amenities include a flat screen TV, a CD/DVD system, a Tivoli radio station and bath amenities by Philosophy. Complimentary high speed internet access and a dual-line phone are available.
Courtyard King
The Courtyard King is a 450 square foot studio featuring a luxury king size bed. A view of the private courtyard offers a quiet serenity. Other amenities include a flat screen TV, a CD/DVD system, a Tivoli radio station and bath amenities by Philosophy. Complimentary high speed internet access and a dual-line phone are available.
Executive Junior Suite
The Executive Junior Suite is a 650 square foot room with a separate living area and bedroom, featuring a luxury king size bed. Certain Junior Suites feature pull-out sofas. Other amenities include a flat screen TV, a CD/DVD system, a Tivoli radio station and bath amenities by Philosophy. Complimentary high speed internet access and a dual-line phone are available.
Superior King
The Superior King is a 350 square foot studio featuring a luxury king size bed. Other amenities include a flat screen TV,a CD/DVD system, a Tivoli radio station and bath amenities by Philosophy. Complimentary high speed internet access and a dual-line phone are available.
Executive Suite
The Executive Suite is a 700 square foot room with a living area and bedroom, separated by a door, and featuring a luxury king size bed. Certain Executive Suites feature pull-out sofas. Other amenities include a flat screen TV, a CD/DVD system, a Tivoli radio station and bath amenities by Philosophy. Complimentary high speed internet access and a dual-line phone are available.
Terrace Suite
The Terrace Suite is a 700 square foot room with a living area and bedroom, separated by a door, and featuring a luxury king size bed. These suites are located on upper floors and feature stunning outdoor terraces offering views of the New York City skyline. Certain Terrace Suites feature pull-out sofas. Other amenities include a flat screen TV, a fully-stocked mini-bar, a CD/DVD system, a Tivoli radio station and bath amenities by Philosophy. Complimentary high speed internet access and a dual-line phone are available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
7 Meeting Rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BRUCEWAYNE
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Not what we expected!!

1st off...THE COURTS web site is very misleading...the place looks nothing like whats advertised, (including the views) during check-in, we were hit with a bunch of hiddens fees which weren't included at reservation time in which I reserved 2weeks in advance. So on top of my reservation hold on my credit card, additional fees were set during my check-in! The parking sucks around unless your a U.S. diplomat with diplomatic plates and valet will cost you 50bucks w the hotel! I WOULDNT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE! The in room dining was closed, and the only thing tht we thought was worth it was its location...rt next to the midtown tunnel so we could exit fast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
driver
Business
ma
Sep 19, 2011

The room was in need of repairs!

The bath room sink leaked all over the floor. The shower was too loose and wouldn't turn off. The room was dark and was dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MahiMahi
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 24, 2009

New York is amazing! But not this hotel.

This was my first trip to New York. A good thing to know is that taxis charge $45 to take you from JFK airport to anywhere in Manhattan (plus any additional tolls and tip). I called before we left to request a mini fridge and microwave because we were staying for 5 days. We took the red eye so we got to the hotel around 8:30, but check-in time isn't until 3pm. I gave them my cell number and they said they would call as soon as a room opened up. After walking about 25 blocks to and from Central Park, we were exhausted and just went back to the hotel around 12pm. They had a room available but never called us to let us know it was ready. They were holding our luggage for us and said they'd bring it to our room. We waited about 30 minutes, and still no luggage, so we went down to get it ourselves. We asked again about a fridge and microwave, and they just kept saying they're not sure if any are available. During our entire stay, they never once called to let us know whether or not any were available. Our room was on the side of the hotel by Lexington St. and the traffic was a little loud. Also, the elevators weren't working properly, and the alarm sound was constantly going off. I think the main and probably only reason why we didn't get good service was because we are a couple of girls in our 20s on vacation, and pretty much everyone else staying at the hotel was older and there for business. The only good service we got was from the doormen. They were very friendly. There is no pool/spa and no complementary breakfast. The only good thing about this hotel is that it's only 3 blocks from Grand Central Station, and Grand Central is in the center of most tourist stops on the Subway. To get to Times Square, you could take a quick shuttle from Grand Central Station. There are a few restaurants around the hotel but not very many. There is a small grocery store right around the corner which is convenient. I would not recommend this hotel, but I would recommend getting a hotel near a Subway entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winooski, VT USA
Oct 26, 2011

If this is a 4-star hotel, any youth hostel deserves 5 stars

I bought an Orbitz travel package; I selected the St. Giles New York The Court because other travelers gave the hotel 4 stars. Was I disappointed! The room I was given seemed to be an afterthought. It was poorly organized - I had an enormous walk-in closet, another poorly lit room with a mini-bar & the usual $5+ packages of oreos,, and there was a third room that held a safe, carefully placed on a high shelf. It was incredibly noisy -street noise - luckily, I had earplugs with me; the bed was saggy; the windows were filthy; there was no working thermostat; and there was no way to comfortably watch the TV/VCR as the TV was on a long table parallel to the side of the bed. The table was large enough to seat at least 8 people for a formal dinner. It really had no place in this smallish room. There was no where to put the TV to enable me to watch it. I never had washcloths in the bath, on 2 of the 4 days I wasn't given a replacement bathmat, I had several hair conditioners but no shampoo. The towels were clean but stiff & hard. The hotel's staff were wonderful. Each person in reception/concierge did their best to help me make the best of this poor room. But there was no way to rebuild the room & make it a comfortable place. I don't ask that my hotel be luxurious; I do require it to be well-organized & appointed. This hotel was neither. I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Metrocard and take the subway rather than cabs. To avoid the crowds - walk on Madison Ave. rather than 5th Ave. If you love art, visit the Frick Gallery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
das31
Business
Ohio
Aug 23, 2012

No loyality points????

Because I booked through a third party the hotel would not give me any loyality points. Also, room looked tired and dirty .... even if new grout was laid in the bathroom this would be a major improvement. Overall the room showed lack of being cared about .... bed skirt was never pulled out from in between mattresses once the sheets were changed .... there was debris on the floor where the vacuum missed. Furniture was worn. If I didn't have any other choices - I would stay here again .... but there are a lot of Manhattan hotels to choose from. Location was really enjoyable however. Wasn't too cracked up about the front desk staff. Not too friendly or welcoming. Security guys were exceptionally friendly however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
near boston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 8, 2013

not that great

Lobby was fine and inviting. But the room was otherwise. Some lights didn't work, heat likewise, phone didn't work properly, furniture well worn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Organizational Consultant
Business
Denver, Colorado
Nov 9, 2013

Not worth the price

I was expecting to be impressed when I reserved a room at this hotel based on the fact that it was a 4 star hotel with a very hefty room price tag. I could not have been more disappointed. Room was nice and clean, but bathroom was very small with old fixtures, etc. There was no complimentary anything in the room - the water for sale as $8. No coffee in the room and no room service. Had to go to the restaurant to get some. Shades on windows did not cover them well, so light came in first thing in the morning. Business center was weak - no paper for printer and no stapler, etc. Location is great, but otherwise, very disappointing hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 21, 2008

off the beaten path

The W Hotel Tuscany was a very nice hotel in a very nice neighborhood. The shower in the hotel had a broken drain and the soap holder fell off the wall while I was showering. THe heavy metal fixture hit me in the leg and foot. As a result I have a huge bruise and cut on my ankle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dad Done Selecting Hotels on Internet
Business
Washington, DC and Palo Alto, CA
Feb 16, 2010

Stay in the Lobby ....

The staff was great! And the lobby was nice -- but that's were the good ends .... The rooms were dirty, hot and stuffy. There was no way to regulate the heat without using the air conditioner or window. This made the rooms VERY noisy -- requiring ear plugs to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jul 6, 2009

Disappointing...

Went to New York for July 4th weekend. expected much more from a 4 star hotel in Manhattan, especially with the W. hotel and rooms were stylish and modern, but for the price, room was dirty, fold out sofa bed had food and pretzels from previous users, couldn't use bathroom sink without splashing water all over because of bad tap, 1 of the 2 elevators makes a loud skreetching noise when in use, that had to be turned off every night because of the sound that reached the rooms, but that elevator was turned on very early in the morning on Saturday and Sunday causing us to have to get up early when we slept late. last but not least, to make matters worse, i don't call room service at all, but i needed 2 extra towels the morning before i checked out, i had to call 4 times to 2 or 3 different people at the front desk, and after an hour and a half, someone knocked my door with a hair blow dryer. i was mesmerized. i ended up using my old towels to be able to check out on time. i left very unsatisfied, and there was nothing anyone at the hotel were willing to do to make up for this massive mistake, and delay. what was supposed to feel like a great weekend getaway in a great suite in a high class hotel turned out to be the first and last experience i will ever have with the W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the ridiculousely expensive valet parking, there is parking on the street which is free saturday night and sunday all day, and all other times, there is an indoor parking garage that is half a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top