$585 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

5 stars
View map of 35 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10075

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
31 reviews
Late night in NYC

I am a frequent nyc traveler. I arrived late on a saturday night and the hotel I normally stay was... See full review

  • douglas
  • Jun 5, 2015
Fun trip

This was a splurge...our son was getting his Master's. Room was smaller than expected although very... See full review

  • Timothy R.
  • Jan 21, 2015
A timeless classic, The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, has been called home by leaders in world affairs, business, society entertainment and the arts since its debut in 1930. Brilliantly positioned on Madison Avenue, it is a true New York landmark - a showcase of great art, a purveyor of privacy and a santuary of refined taste. Guests fell truly ensconced in an elegant private residental atmosphere, which includes a discreet and polished staff as well as world-class dining and entertainment. The Carlyle is b

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$333
4.4 / 5 37 reviews
★★★★
$319
4.2 / 5 27 reviews
★★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 295 reviews
★★★★★
$435
4.2 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★★
$475
4.8 / 5 10 reviews
★★★★
$160
4.0 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★★
$525
5.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 22 reviews
★★★★★
$445
4.6 / 5 28 reviews

The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel Rooms

Classic Room King Bed
Handsomely appointed, these rooms have a king bed and offer a quiet interior courtyard or Madison Avenue view. Located on floors 3 through 12, the Classic room is approximately 350 square feet in size. All rooms in the hotel are individuallly decorated, w
Superior Suite Twin Beds
The Superior Suite offers two twin beds and is approimately 750 square feet in size. An entry foyer makes the living room larger than the one in the Classic Suite which also offers a powder room in the living room; and some have small pantry areas. The Su
Deluxe Suite King Bed
The Deluxe Suite is a large one bedroom suite with a very generous entrance foyer and offers ample closet space. The Deluxe Suite is approximately 850 square feet in size. These bright, airy suites are located on floors 3 through 15 and offer 76th Street
Carlyle Suite King Bed
The Carlyle Suite is an exclusive one bedroom corner suite. Each of the four Carlyle suites have either a Steinway or Baldwin baby-grand piano, a spacious entry gfoyer and powder room and a king bed in the bedroom. Each Carlyle suite is approximately 1,00
Tower Suite King Bed
Our highest floor Tower Suite is on the 33rd floor offers spectacular Park views from floor to ceiling "picture" windows in the comfortable living room, as well the most exclusive corner bedroom on the Uppper East Side, offering unobstructed skyline views
Deluxe Tower Suite King Bed
Our largest one-bedroom suites are indivually decorated and offer 1,200 square feet of living space. These suites feature 1-1/2 marble bathrooms, large kitchens, exclusive corner bedrooms, unobstructed Park and skyline views and grand pianos. These suites
Superior Two Bedroom Suite
Our two bedroom Superior suites offer approximately 1,300 square feet of space and features a king bed in one bedroom, and two twin beds in the other. Each Superior Two Bedroom Suite has 2 baths plus a pantry. These spacious accommodations have a quiet, i
Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Our two bedroom Deluxe suites offer approximately 1,500 square feet of space and features a king bed in one bedroom, and two twin beds in the other. Each Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite has 2-1/2 baths plus a kitchenette. These spacious accommodations have eithe
Tower Two Bedroom Suite
Our largest two-bedroom suite is an elaborate 1,800 square feet, and features a king bed in one bedroom, and two twin beds in the other. The suite features a full kitchen, a dining room for 6, two marble bathrooms, a doulbe-high ceiling in the raised livi
Superior Room King Bed
The larger Superior room offers a king bed in approximately 400 square feet of space. These rooms range throughout the hotel from floors 3 to 33 and provide courtyard location, or city views toward either Madison Avenue or 76th Street. Tastefully appointe
Superior Room Twin Beds
The larger Superior room offers two twin beds in approximately 400 square feet of space. These rooms range throughout the hotel from floors 3 to 33 and provide courtyard location, or city views toward either Madison Avenue or 76th Street. Tastefully appoi
Deluxe Room King Bed
The Deluxe room is a very large accommodation offering a king bed in approximately 500 square feet of space. These accommodations offer an entrace foyer, spacious closets, and a comfortable sitting area featuring two boudoir chairs with end table and read
Deluxe Room Twin Beds
The Deluxe room is a very large accommodation offering a king bed or two twin beds in approximately 500 square feet of space. These accommodations offer an entrace foyer, spacious closets, and a comfortable sitting area featuring two boudoir chairs with e
Premier Room King Bed
We have two types of Premier Rooms: The Corner Premier Rooms are our largest rooms, offering a king bed in approximately 550 square feet of space. This accommodation provides a large sitting area and is situated on the corner of Madison Avenue. Bright and
Classic Suite King Bed
The Classic Suite, offering a king bed, is approximately 650 square feet in size and located from the 5th through the 12th floors. Each suite has a separate living room and bedroom, with either a small pantry or a powder room off the living room. These su
Classic Suite Twin Beds
The Classic Suite, offering two twin size beds, is approximately 650 square feet in size and located from the 5th through the 12th floors. Each suite has a separate living room and bedroom, with either a small pantry or a powder room off the living room.
Superior Suite King Bed
The Superior Suite offers a king bed and is approimately 750 square feet in size. An entry foyer makes the living room larger than the one in the Classic Suite which also offers a powder room in the living room; and some have small pantry areas. The Super

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Live entertainment
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Doctor on call
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Dining guide

Nearby points of interest

  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Solomon Guggenheim Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Solomon Guggenheim Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.7 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.7 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.8 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Barney's: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • City University of New York: 0.8 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.9 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 1 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 1 mi
  • Trump Tower: 1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi

Dining

Carlyle Restaurant
A long-time favorite among prominent eastside neighbors and socialites, spotlights dishes from Executive Chef James Sakatos' native Greece, classic French influences and the finest regional American ingredients.
Bemelman's Bar
Named in honor of the legendary artist, Bemelmans is a timeless New York watering hole that has drawn socialites, politicians, movie stars and moguls for more than five decades.
Cafe Carlyle
The nightly scene is out of an old MGM classic, camera ready with a backdrop that is pure Manhattan and a soundtrack that is classic cabaret. Cafe Carlyle is known for headlining incredible talents, including Eartha Kitt, Ute Lemper and Woody Allen.
The Gallery
Exotic, elegant decor by legendary decorator Renzo Mongiardino sets the stage for a private retreat favored by the rich, the famous and the beautiful since the hotel's inception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
douglas
Couples
bellingham
Jun 5, 2015

Late night in NYC

I am a frequent nyc traveler. I arrived late on a saturday night and the hotel I normally stay was booked. to my delight the Carlyle was available. I received a double upgrade upon check in. The rate was great and the room was large. Staff excellent. Started the next morning off with a walk around Central Park which is just a block from the hotel. I may have found my new hotel for NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timothy R.
Couples
MIDLOTHIAN
Jan 21, 2015

Fun trip

This was a splurge...our son was getting his Master's. Room was smaller than expected although very well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wolfie4ever
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Don't dial The Carlyle

Disappointed. The 2 phones were dirty, the bathroom ceiling had multiple pink splotches from something that sprayed upwards, the light switch plates were dirty and the baseboards were scuffed. I unknowingly dropped some almonds on the floor my first night there and noticed them on the floor 5 days later while doing my morning floor exercises. The bathroom sink hot water handle spoke broke off in my hand the first time turned and was repaired the next day. Upon both arrival and departure, no one ever offered to help me with my bags as I schlepped them up and down several levels of stairs several times to and fro the front desk. Nor did a doorman ever open a door for me. The wait staff at The Bemelman cafe was so slow and inattentive that I had to leave before my lunch ever came to my table. Then when I gave the waiter my charge card to run, it took an inordinate amount of time such that I had to go into the Captain's area and ask for it back. I was told the machines were down and that they would have to wait to run it or write down my information! The front desk staff was not helpful via telephone in directing/instructing me how to obtain tickets to Steve Tyrell's show in the Cafe as I was a hotel guest. I was told they did not have anything to do with tickets. I actually then walked downstairs to the Cafe to get them. The night wait staff was excellent in The Bemelman and The Cafe. The bed sheets were excellent. The gym was good. The room was quiet. The experience was not on par with The Ritz, Four Seasons, The Pierre, The Plaza, The Mandarin, and lower star rated hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bond Girl B
Couples
New York
Nov 13, 2013

the carlyle

The Carlyle is the Best hotel in Nyc. It is the epitome of elegance and taste. All the services were first rate and the staff was extremely friendly and appreciative of your needs and always with a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The finest shopping in the world.

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larry from LA
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2013

wow, but.......

what a delightful hotel. it's over the top classy in the tonniest neighborhood in manhattan. it's also so foolishly expensive we stayed out of the bar and breakfast room during our entire 5 day stay after our initial sticker shock for charges. if you can get a good deal--this is the place--but unless your family owns oil wells avoid the bar and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

frick museum--what a lovely spot with quality artwork.

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conscious travelers
Couples
Star tannery, Virginia
Dec 8, 2012

NYC luxury weekend

The Carlyle is not worth the money. The entry level rooms are okay but not outstanding. We noticed a mild dusty condition in the room and common areas as well. Being in the upper east side of NYC and near lovely shops and restaurants is fun for a couple days.There is an interesting International clientele. We enjoy hearing various languages being spoken, as many people are drawn to the old reputation of the hotel.The staff are very helpful. If you want to splurge for a day or two just for the experience go for it. We however would not stay there again, as there are other hotels that are better priced and similar luxury level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go once to the "well known restaurants" but then find out where the locals eat the various cuisines- the food is invariably better at lower prices

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma birthday
Family
England
Nov 2, 2012

Special Birthday

We arrived to find that only one room was ready and this was at 2.40pm. In next door room was a screaming baby. Needed to change rooms. Nothing was available so told to go for a walk. Arrived back at 4.30 rooms still not ready. Offered a cup of tea. We had left England at 9.30 am. So been up for hours. Room was good but bathrooms were very small. Loo seat was chipped and the hole in the marble had been filled with a poor quality filler and the sealant round the shower and the bath was dirty. Air conditioning was very noisey and didn't work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orsay. Good restaurant.

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tickle
Single
Tampa
Jul 3, 2012

Vacation

Elegant hotel with excellent service. Inconspicuous service - room was always clean when I went back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first time in NY
Couples
Dallas, TX
Jul 2, 2012

Could not have been happier

My wife and I went to New York to celebrate our anniversary. it was our first time to New York. We chose The Carlyle because of its proximity to Central Park and to the Metropolitan Museum of Art - and because we wanted to stay somewhere that was really nice. We could not have been happier with our time at The Carlyle. The staff was attentive and professional. Our room in the tower had a breathtaking view. The room was clean and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If it is your first visit to the city and you are only there for a few days, just take cabs instead of trying to navigate the subways. It will cost more, but it will be quicker and less stressful.

Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony retired librarian
Single
Boqueron, Puerto Rico
Jun 28, 2012

Great way to see NYC.

This hotel is everything I ever dreamed it would be. Just one block from Central Park and close to museums and great restaurants. Saw the ballet at Lincoln Center and a musical show on Broadway for half price. Connected with friends and family that I haven't seen in years. The staff at the Carlyle were the best and treated me like royalty. Got a choice of a free newspaper daily as well as good tips on getting to the airport. My room was much larger then I expected and the bed was very comfortable like sleeping on a cloud. It was close to public transportation. I can't waite to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Print a list of diners in the area and save money on breakfast (up to 65%). Eat a light lunch and your set to enjoy dinner.

Back to menu Return to top