$236 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

The Benjamin

4 stars
125 East 50th Street, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
92 reviews
First Time!

It was our first time to the Big Apple and The Benjamin did not disappoint! From the greeting at... See full review

  • Ithaca Parent
  • Feb 27, 2014
big rooms, kitchenete

I like this hotel. It's in a less trendy neighborhood but the rooms are pretty large (stayed in a... See full review

  • maj19
  • Mar 5, 2013
Sweet dreams at midtown boutique hotel with Sleep Concierge for guests

With a prized midtown Manhattan location, sumptuous decor and prestigious award-winning restaurant headed by a celebrity chef, The Benjamin makes a New York City stay more than memorable. The hotel staff takes guest comfort seriously -- they feature an official Sleep Concierge to ensure sweet dreams, and even a "Dream Dog" program for that special pet. Additional indulgence at The Benjamin is easy at Federico Hair & Spa, with a variety of treatments to soothe even the most wearied urban adventurer.

Highlights

  • A Sleep Concierge, plus custom-design Benjamin Bed and 12-choice pillow menu
  • James Beard-award-winning The National, created by a celebrity chef
  • "Dream Dog" program, ensuring a happy NYC visit for pets
  • Newly re-designed rooms by Rottet Studio

Location

The Benjamin features an ideal midtown east Manhattan location, on the corner of East 50th Street and Lexington Avenue. Walk to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway shows and Central Park, or hop the subway, only a block away.

Rooms

Stately guest rooms and suites at The Benjamin ensure total luxury and comfort, with special executive rooms equipped for the business traveler. All newly re-designed rooms by Rottet Studio are nonsmoking and include the custom-designed Benjamin Bed with 500-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets, down duvet and 12-choice pillow menu. There is also high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a TV web browser and a two-line phone with voice mail.

Features

Savor Continental classics and seasonal specials crafted from local ingredients at The National, the intimate restaurant at The Benjamin and recipient of the prestigious James Beard award. The restaurant is open daily from early morning until well past midnight. There is also the Federico Hair & Spa, with a variety of treatments and open daily, and a fitness center.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Penn Station (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.2 mi/10.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.7 mi/25.2 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)

Attractions

  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Times Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Business

  • Offers 1,200-square-foot Morrison Room, The Corner and the Lexington Rooms, for a total of nearly 5,000 square feet (fees apply)
  • Custom-menu catering services (fees apply)
  • Executive suites with special facilities for business guests (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Parking is available for $55 USD for a regular size car and $65 USD for SUVs (for a 24-hour period with no in and out privileges).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Benjamin Rooms

Guestroom
Privileged elegance in midtown-1 luxury bed-Pillow menu-HI speed-Galley- 250 sq ft
Studio Suite
Privileged elegance in midtown-1 luxury bed-Pillow menu-HI speed-Galley-350 sq ft
One Bedroom Suite
Lavish space-1 bedroom-Luxury Bed-Elemis bath-Pillow menu-HI speed-Galley-550 sq ft
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Lavish space-1 bedroom-Luxury Bed-Elemis bath-Pillow menu-HI speed-Galley-Balcony-550 sq ft
Room Amenities
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jogging track
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Benjamin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7565 -73.9723
Area served
NYC - New York City
Nearby airports
LGA - La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.60, MI, W; JFK - John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.66, MI, W; EWR - Newark International Airport, (EWR), 18.13, MI, E; TEB - Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 13.80, MI, E
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi

Dining

The National
Open daily 7 a.m. to 1 a.m. The National Bar and Dining Rooms is the culmination of internationally acclaimed chef Geoffrey Zakarians vision to bring true all-occasion dining to New York Citys Midtown. The experience is inspired by the grand cafes
Room Service
24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Benjamin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

5
patbone
Spartanburg SC
Jun 19, 2012

Stunning & Spacious

Staff was friendly and helpful. The room nice size esp for NYC! The location is fabulous. You can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
seattle
Apr 28, 2009

was very disapointed

was not told u had have a deposit of 500.00 a night quite the suprize. do not distibe singh ignored all and all location only good thing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 27, 2008

Great New York Hotel

The Benjamin is a great hotel. I have stayed there about 10 times over the past few years, and it is consistently good every time. Although not inexpensive, the 1 bedroom suites are a great value for a first class New York hotel. There is a bedroom and completely separate living room with a fold-out sofa. As I frequently travel with my daughter, this allows us to have separate rooms and maintain our privacy. The hotel offers numerous pillow choices, which my daughter loves; she has tried them all over the years. The location is excellent and is within easy walking distance of 5th Avenue and great shopping. There are numerous nearby restaurants. The hotel staff has little turnover, and we have gotten to know the people who work there over the years. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. I will continue to stay at the Benjamin every time I am in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the Museum of Modern Art. The Sony interactive exhibit is a very short walk away. Central Park is also within walking distance.

Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 27, 2010

Just hotel

I couldn't make the room warmer. Whenever I set the temperature warm before leaving, a maid might be reseted the temperature. And, it took so long time to increase temperature after coming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

2
Disappointed in NYC
Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

(Almost) ruined getaway

I planned a special vacation with my girlfriend who was visiting NY for the first time. Prior to arrival I called the hotel twice to inform them that we would be arriving late from LA and to make sure that our reserved room would be available. Upon arrival, without any explanation, we were placed in an awful small room. After inquiry, we were informed that our room was simply "not available" and that we would be transferred to our room the next day by 12:00 pm. The next morning we were told that we could not be at any room between 12:00 to 3:00 pm. and then we would "checkin" again to our room at 3:00 at the latest. We waited until 4:00 pm and upon another inquiry were told that the room was still not ready. We informed them that we had to attend a function within an hour; but the staff wad evasive, apathetic and uncooperative and assistant manager had no time for us. After numerous calls and visits, we were finally allowed in to our room later that evening. We moved the luggage ourselves. It completely ruined the first two days of our vacation and our function. It also affected the remainder of our stay at the hotel. We also had difficulty reaching someone to order from the "sleep menu". Other than that, the hotel is centrally located and the housekeeping is good; everything else is average. As to value, after a couple of days we moved to the Doubletree hotel next door and found it to be a great value. Overall the Staff needs some retraining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

3
Desert Dancer
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 19, 2012

The Benjamin

Great location. Nice price for the area. But a little funky smell in the hotel. Also, the pictures of the hotel were much nicer than the hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining at The Benjamin is fairly reasonalbe for Mid-Town Manhattan.

Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Aug 30, 2010

Good and not so good!

Have stayed at several of the neighboring hotels and this place was nice, not bad but not great. Location is good, staff is friendly. Rooms seemed smaller than what was portayed on website. Also there is a renovation ongoing for thier bar and resturaunt areas. Did not see this detailed anywhere. Buffet is on 22 floor, while easy to get to I felt as if I was eating at a Courtyard Marriott. If you want a nice brunch buffet go the the Waldorf or the Barclay hotels. The pillow options were awesome and had a great night sleep. Concierge staff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Concierge staff was able to get us into a great place for dinner that was already booked. Also had good recomendations for lunch and dinner options. Trust their reccomendations.

Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

3
EhFeelings
Boston, MA
Aug 13, 2012

Eh

The hotel was okay. The staff were not very friendly. The room was missing items. The cleanliness was okay. It wasn't great but it wasn't awful. Just ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

3
cormackc
Business
Gambier, OH, USA
Nov 5, 2011

perfectly fine midtown hotel

The room, maybe it was the kitchenette, had a bad cleanser smell that never left for my three days. The concierge had no recommendation just off the cuff when I asked if anything was popping in town that day. Seems like she should be trained to always have one thing to suggest. The room is too dark but spacious as NY goes. The toilet seat didn't stay up. Small point but it was designed that way. Wacky. Elevators slow. People friendly, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
new hampshire
Feb 25, 2010

Friendly staff, tired room.

Great location and attentive staff. Lobby and bar were nice, but my room was just a bit worn and tired. In need of a redo. Also : Locked some personal items in the safe and when I went to retrieve them it would not open. Not good as it was my work stuff inside. By the time they managed to get it open it was pretty late. I'm just glad that I didn't wait until morning to open it, as I would have been late for the job I was going to. The next morning the iron didn't work. Had to wait twenty minutes for them to bring another. Little things, but when you're on an important business trip they are not acceptable. Added stress. The room was fine, just kind of worn out. Too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Benjamin

Reviewer score

3
The Rebl
Bloomington, IL
Jun 3, 2010

Good Location & Staff, Limited Amenities

Great location, friendly staff, but smaller rooms. Restaurant was closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sparks Steakhouse

Back to menu Return to top