$207 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
340 West 40th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
169 reviews
PERFECTION! Wouldn't even try anywhere else in NY

AMAZING! You will not go wrong booking these suites. It REALLY couldn't have gone ANY better for... See full review

  • Erica Arteaga
  • May 30, 2014
Love it

Had everything you needed a full kitchen with all appliances See full review

  • Joaquin8880
  • Apr 29, 2014
A contemporary gem in the heart of Manhattan
The Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City is a unique hotel located within walking distance of the Broadway Theater District, the Fashion District and iconic Times Square. As well as a sleek glass exterior and a lobby that can only be described as a vision of the future, the Staybridge Suites Times Square offers fully equipped meeting spaces, a fitness center, and a 24-hour convenience store on-site. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast and a sundown reception in the elegant Bar Forty.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A 24-hour BridgeMart convenience store on-site 
  • A full-sized kitchen in every room, complete with kitchenware and appliances
  • Near many New York City landmarks, including the Empire State Building and Central Park
Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City Rooms
Great care is taken to ensure the comfort of guests at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City. Each room is decorated in cream, coffee and chocolate tones, providing a distinct style that is both modern and homely. Look out for high ceilings and an abundance of natural light, as well as a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline. Suites at the hotel offer a fully equipped kitchen that includes appliances such as a dishwasher and coffee-maker, in addition to a full range of kitchenware. All guest rooms at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City feature a 37-inch flat-screen television with access to more than 150 cable channels, including HBO, free high-speed Wi-Fi connection and individually controlled air conditioning. Enjoy free calls in the local area, and a daily maid service. Rooms also offer full bathroom amenities including a deep bathtub, fresh towels provided daily and a ceramic-style hair-dryer.
Things To Do:
  • Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Central Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $272 USD
  • Check-in: 4 p.m./Check-out: 11 a.m. 
  • Pets allowed with advance reservation and non-refundable fee $75-$120 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7565 -73.9927
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI; New York Laguardia, (LGA), 9.60, MI; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.30, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Bar Forty
Bar/Lounge serving speciality cocktails in a warm yet modern setting featuring a water fall and contemporary music and broadway hit music piped in. Hell's Kitchens answer to Cheers!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 169
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Dec 21, 2010

Disgusting Hotel!

this is the most disgusting hotel that i have ever been to. first of all i got the most expensive suite at a place called staybridge suites, if you can even call it that. It was the SMALLEST hotel room i have ever seen. there was a distinct urine smell to the room and the room was infested with bed bugs. the front desk refused to give me a refund. I left the hotel and stayed next door. Do yourself a favor and dont stay at this disgrace of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paigepaige
Cleveland
Mar 27, 2013

Very nice

I stayed here almost every time when I'm in Manhattan. One of the best reason is because of its great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lys
Erie, PA
Jan 11, 2011

Unbeatable price, location, and features

This hotel was a fantastic experience from beginning to end! We arrived at 10am and check in was not until 4pm, they let us check into our room right away since they had a room ready. The staff was very friendly, the hotel was very up to date and beautiful! The rooms were very clean and very nicely set up. The rooms however were a little small, but did not matter for the time that was spent actually in the room. The beds were the most comfortable beds we have slept in we both agreed. We did have a light bulb that went and the staff came right up and fixed it and were very personable and talkative. The kitchenette had a full fridge, dishwasher, two stove burners, microwave, all tupperware, plates, and pots and pans that would be needed. However, the "food corner" in the lobby of the hotel was nothing but a few frozen dinners and snacks. Was not very big, but there was a convinence store very close if needed to get water or things for the fridge. On average a walk to time square would be 15-20 minutes from this hotel. It was a perfect location with a good pricetag. The breakfast buffett was much larger than a normal continental breakfast. They even offered to go boxes if you were unable to eat in the nice rooms that were available. It was continuously restocked and was very good. Mulitple seating as well. This was my first time in NYC, my friend who I traveled with has been there multiple times. We were both very impressed with the hotel and the location and plan to stay there when we visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Crusader
Ithaca, New York
May 1, 2013

Nice place to stay at a very convenient location

A friend and I shared a suite with 2 double beds and a kitchenette. Everything was very neat and comfortable. Nowadays in NYC it's difficult and more expensive to find a hotel room for two people with 2 beds. Staybridge also offers a good and convenient breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than two blocks away from the Bus Terminal, including bus transportation to NYC airports, and Metro Stations, close to Times Square and Grand Central Train Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scon
Leamington Spa
Dec 10, 2012

Great location

This hotel is perfectly situated for a short stay in New York. The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful and we were very impressed with the complimentary breakfast ... which we expected to be a few rolls or a muffin but it turned out that there was a good selection of hot and cold food. The only minor niggles were that the lifts were too few for the number of rooms so it was a long wait a busy periods – or we used the stairs (which helped work off the large breakfast we ate!) And there is no where to sit in the reception area so if you’re waiting for friends etc you have to stand around … but all in all, a very nice hotel and very good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central Station is a great place to eat and is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. We ate at Micheal Johnsons restaurant ... a bit pricey but great a great start to a New York visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 24, 2010

Great staff, good location.

The staff at this hotel was great. They took care of everything we needed. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The kitchenette was awesome. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wisconsin Girls who LOVE NYC
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 8, 2011

Perfect Location, Hotel and Staff

What an awesome girls getaway to the Big Apple. [...]What a great pick!!The check-in was flawless. We had called in advance and were told that our room was ready, however when we arrived there at noon, it was not. This was not a problem at all...they secured our luggage (THANKS [...] AND [...]) and we were off on a short walk to O'Briens Pub (46th St-between 6th & 7th Ave)for a few cold beers and a great lunch. When we came back we got our luggage & keys and were off to our room with a great view on the 22nd floor (Room 2203). We organized, relaxed and then headed back downstairs for a complimentary happy hour with free beer, wine and finger food. All 4 of us women were in one room and it worked out perfect. The location of this hotel is super - within walking distance to almost everything and anything. The subway is close, and a quick walk to the corner you can find a cab.When in NYC, you do not spend much time in your room, so we did extremely well with the space as far as getting ready in the morning. The room has a nice little kitchen area and a nice mirror and small table. We called that our 'getting ready station' and came in handy as 2 used the bathroom and 2 used this area. Each time we were in the lobby we were pleasantly recognized by the staff. [...] rocked! We asked for a few suggestions and he sent us to Katz's Deli (Houston St) and it was a 'must do' for NYC. Thanks [...] for the great suggestion! From there it was a quick walk over to Chinatown/Little Italy and then we continued our walk to SoHo. We decided to take the subway back to the hotel from there. The hotel has a great map of the city and subway lines - just ask for it. We went to the Regis and Kelly show and our cab cost $7 which again was great. From there another must do is a carriage ride in Central Park. [...] (from Ireland) and his horse Billy took us around for about a 50 minute ride. Totally amazing and informational.The hot breakfast each morning was a bonus, however they are done serving at 11 am sharp...the coffee even gets put away. There was a coffee maker in our room, but we never used it. Plenty of choices for drinks, bread, fruit, and hot items.We can't compare this hotel to any other as this was the first time we actually stayed in the city; all other trips consisted of hotel in New Jersey. So with that, we would highly recommend this hotel. At first glance walking east down 40th st it seems a little "risky" but all in all we felt very safe in the environment walking as a group. On the corner of 8th Ave and 40th St there is a pharmacy with everything and anything you may need (including beer). If you forget something, the front desk probably has it...a few items included bandaids and a sewing kit.Here's a shout out to the staff at Staybridge - thanks for making our trip a success! We hope to see you soon! And [...]...I hope your toe is feeling better!Wisconsin Girls :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Katz's Deli (Houston Street)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Dec 7, 2010

Great location,wonderful trip

Great location! Breakfst is always good,clean,very enjoyable stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pandawa
Orlando, FL
Oct 16, 2011

Trip to NY

Great location, 5 mins walk to Time Sqaure, very good American breakfast, free laundry facilities, friendly satff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maui, Hawaii
Apr 18, 2010

Brand new hotel, pleasant staff

Staff was excellent and very helpful especially concierge with suggestions of what to do and see in a short period of time. However on the day we left, our bellman, Sunny, called for a taxi to take us to Penn Station and apparently made a deal with the taxi driver to charge us $25 and take his cut. We called another taxi when the driver told us it would cost us $25. The taxi that took us to Penn Station ended up costing only $6.50 therefore, we would have gotten ripped off. The other party that was traveling with us got on the taxi that was called before ours and was unaware of the scam and ended up getting ripped off by having to pay the driver the $25. I witnessed the driver go back to the bellman and take back his share of money for the deal when we refused to pay the $25. Aside from this experience, our stay was enjoyable.Perhaps the hotel management is unaware that their bellman take advantage of tourists that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search