$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
View map of 340 West 40th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
179 reviews
family trip

I love NY , hotel excellent!!! so clean, people friendly, breakfast delicious, bed big See full review

  • raquel
  • Jul 30, 2015
Excellent place to relax on weekend

I recommend this place if you planning to go out around Manhattan, plus everything is close. I only... See full review

  • dayanne g.
  • Jun 15, 2015
The Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City is a unique hotel located within walking distance of the Broadway Theater District, the Fashion District and iconic Times Square. As well as a sleek glass exterior and a lobby that can only be described as a vision of the future, the Staybridge Suites Times Square offers fully equipped meeting spaces, a fitness center, and a 24-hour convenience store on-site. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast and a sundown reception in the elegant Bar Forty.
Rooms
Great care is taken to ensure the comfort of guests at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City. Each room is decorated in cream, coffee and chocolate tones, providing a distinct style that is both modern and homely. Look out for high ceilings and an abundance of natural light, as well as a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline. Suites at the hotel offer a fully equipped kitchen that includes appliances such as a dishwasher and coffee-maker, in addition to a full range of kitchenware. All guest rooms at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City feature a 37-inch flat-screen television with access to more than 150 cable channels, including HBO, free high-speed Wi-Fi connection and individually controlled air conditioning. Enjoy free calls in the local area, and a daily maid service. Rooms also offer full bathroom amenities including a deep bathtub, fresh towels provided daily and a ceramic-style hair-dryer.
Highlights
  • A 24-hour BridgeMart convenience store on-site 
  • A full-sized kitchen in every room, complete with kitchenware and appliances
  • Near many New York City landmarks, including the Empire State Building and Central Park
Nearby attractions
  • Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Central Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
Policies
  • Nightly rates from $272 USD
  • Check-in: 4 p.m./Check-out: 11 a.m. 
  • Pets allowed with advance reservation and non-refundable fee $75-$120 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Bar Forty
Bar/Lounge serving speciality cocktails in a warm yet modern setting featuring a water fall and contemporary music and broadway hit music piped in. Hell's Kitchens answer to Cheers!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 179
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skala20
Business
Deutschland
Mar 28, 2012

Good hotel with a few downsides

I chose this hotel due to the good ratings and the good midtown location. Overall I did enjoy the 10-days stay - there are a few things though I didn't like too much. First of all the elevators - a few times we had to wait longer than 7 minutes for an elevator to come even though the hotel has three of them. Second - the room doors are so thin that I always thought people who were standing or passing by outside our room would stand right next to my bed. Not nice, especially because I assume that if I can hear them so well they can also hear us talking in the room. Third thing I didn't like was the heating. It was very cold in the room and there was a slight wind from the window all the time. There is a heater but it is very loud while kind of blow-drying the room. That turned out to be a problem throughout the night because it was hard to sleep with the heater starting in auto-mode every 30 minutes. Last thing I didn't like: it was almost impossible to get a normal table for breakfast. We either did not get a table or had to take something similar to a couch table - a tiny one. That wasn't very enjoyable. The rest of the hotel was fine. I especially have to mention the maids. The room was so tidy and clean every day - I loved that a lot. Another plus of the hotel are definitely the beds. They are so comfortable that you don't really want to get up in the morning. What leads me to a last downside, though. The cover sheets were so thin...as it was quite cold I asked for an additional blanket. Well, I got an additional sheet, but that is not a blanket in my understanding and didn't do much for me to get warmer. The location of the hotel is great and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are hungry and don't want to go far try Chevy's Tex Mex restaurant. They have a great choice and it's just 1 block away.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
deerfield, Il.
Apr 11, 2011

nice for the price

Nice room with refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave. clean and nice looking. Breakfast buffet was ordinary and crowded. Teen group booked into hotel was noisy all night and security was no help. Port Authority Bus Station is across the street and the local Parole Office is down the block. Convenient walk to Times Square Theatres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maciver
Business
Scotland
Mar 15, 2014

short break

Very good hotel with polite and helpful staff. Hotel is well located close enough to times square but far enough away to be quieter at night. Breakfast very good and free food and drink on some evenings also very good. In all this is a very good hotel and would definitely use again if visiting New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dode
Business
Blairgowrie
Jul 25, 2011

Good clean hotel

Fairly close to Time Square which was useful. Breakfast was ok, but a bit manic as it is self service and lots of people trying to get breakfast at the same time. Otherwise no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of different types of food available close by.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAGSKI
Business
United Kingdom
Sep 10, 2011

New York New York

Overall excellent, really good location, good quality rooms, breakfast is such an added bonus, really appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities in the room, only one complaint wifi did not work at all from our room wich was a real disappointment, even though you can use the computers downstairs still missed the convenience of having access in our room.That said although not the cheapest accommodation in NY would defo stay again. Mr & Mrs Abbott-Simpson

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

two things you must go to a jazz club we went to Jazz Standard excellent ! and do your own pub crawl in West Villiage it is really easy to do about $12-14 in a cab from Times Square and well cool!!

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TonyBad
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Great location and helpful staff

Stayed in New York celebrating a friends birthday and picked this hotel. Location was perfectly located near Times Square and bus depot -train station and staff was awesome and very helpful and courteous. Rooms were a little crowded but since it was just used for sleep it worked out well for us. Bonus was breakfest was available for free if desired which included more then cereal and toast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SHort walk from hotel was an Italian restaurant down the street, but there are mnany to choose from within walkin distance.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jars
Business
Chicago
Nov 18, 2011

It was all very solid!

Great room and very quiet in the room, no outside noise! Cable TV with lots of channels, nice. Nice location, easy to access everything and it seemed like a perfectly safe location - never had any worries at all (unlike other reviews).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
erriew
Business
La Quinta, California
Jan 4, 2012

I found my Manhattan hotel

Great staff, solid free breakfast, and good location near, but just away from Times Square. i have stayed in Manhattan hotels with far less charging much more. I love the kitchenette that gives you the freedom to prepare your own meals. I will definately be back next time I'm in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned Road Warrior
Business
Phoenix, AZ, Seattle, WA & San Diego, CAUSA
Jan 20, 2012

Great 10 days

We stay In NYC all the time this hotel has great staff of people with excellent service. Albeit rooms are a bit small they are well appointed and the kitchenette made it very handy. Location close to my office and and theater district & resturants is very good however, area right around hotel is a bit on the rough side for single women (not the case for us). Would stay here again in a heartbeat....price was very copettitive for NYC and breakfast was a nice bonus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

reat resturants all down 9th north of hotel. GREAT WOOD OVEN PIZZA at Capizzi block from hotel on 9th. Also fabulous Sushi at Ajisai on 9th a few blocks away......finally wonderful Peruvian PIO PIO also a few blocks away.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gsii67
Business
Killeen, TX, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Best Central Location for TImes Square

The Hotel was well updated and Very convenient to Times Square with easy access to yellow Cabs. There is a Awesome 2 Brothers Pizza on the Corner Block with other Resaurants close by. The Staff are very friendly and the breakfast area is well staffed in the mornings but this is a very popular place to stay so it is a little busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would suggest you save your money and not get the City Sights or New York Sights and just use the Yellow Cab for distances over a mile. But I do reccommend the New York Pass which you can gain free access to almost all Manhattan has to offer...well worth it if you only make it to 3 or 4 places. As for the Hotel it has Free WiFi and Free Breakfast with easy taxi service.....and it is not a crowded area.

Back to menu Return to top