$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
340 West 40th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
170 reviews
Great location.

We had a great experience. The hotel had free happy hour Tues-Thur so we could have appetizers and... See full review

  • Dougplainandtall
  • Sep 27, 2014
PERFECTION! Wouldn't even try anywhere else in NY

AMAZING! You will not go wrong booking these suites. It REALLY couldn't have gone ANY better for... See full review

  • Erica Arteaga
  • May 30, 2014
A contemporary gem in the heart of Manhattan
The Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City is a unique hotel located within walking distance of the Broadway Theater District, the Fashion District and iconic Times Square. As well as a sleek glass exterior and a lobby that can only be described as a vision of the future, the Staybridge Suites Times Square offers fully equipped meeting spaces, a fitness center, and a 24-hour convenience store on-site. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast and a sundown reception in the elegant Bar Forty.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A 24-hour BridgeMart convenience store on-site 
  • A full-sized kitchen in every room, complete with kitchenware and appliances
  • Near many New York City landmarks, including the Empire State Building and Central Park
Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City Rooms
Great care is taken to ensure the comfort of guests at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City. Each room is decorated in cream, coffee and chocolate tones, providing a distinct style that is both modern and homely. Look out for high ceilings and an abundance of natural light, as well as a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline. Suites at the hotel offer a fully equipped kitchen that includes appliances such as a dishwasher and coffee-maker, in addition to a full range of kitchenware. All guest rooms at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City feature a 37-inch flat-screen television with access to more than 150 cable channels, including HBO, free high-speed Wi-Fi connection and individually controlled air conditioning. Enjoy free calls in the local area, and a daily maid service. Rooms also offer full bathroom amenities including a deep bathtub, fresh towels provided daily and a ceramic-style hair-dryer.
Things To Do:
  • Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Central Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $272 USD
  • Check-in: 4 p.m./Check-out: 11 a.m. 
  • Pets allowed with advance reservation and non-refundable fee $75-$120 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7565 -73.9927
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI, N; New York Laguardia, (LGA), 9.60, MI, E; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.30, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Bar Forty
Bar/Lounge serving speciality cocktails in a warm yet modern setting featuring a water fall and contemporary music and broadway hit music piped in. Hell's Kitchens answer to Cheers!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wisconsin Girls who LOVE NYC
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 8, 2011

Perfect Location, Hotel and Staff

What an awesome girls getaway to the Big Apple. [...]What a great pick!!The check-in was flawless. We had called in advance and were told that our room was ready, however when we arrived there at noon, it was not. This was not a problem at all...they secured our luggage (THANKS [...] AND [...]) and we were off on a short walk to O'Briens Pub (46th St-between 6th & 7th Ave)for a few cold beers and a great lunch. When we came back we got our luggage & keys and were off to our room with a great view on the 22nd floor (Room 2203). We organized, relaxed and then headed back downstairs for a complimentary happy hour with free beer, wine and finger food. All 4 of us women were in one room and it worked out perfect. The location of this hotel is super - within walking distance to almost everything and anything. The subway is close, and a quick walk to the corner you can find a cab.When in NYC, you do not spend much time in your room, so we did extremely well with the space as far as getting ready in the morning. The room has a nice little kitchen area and a nice mirror and small table. We called that our 'getting ready station' and came in handy as 2 used the bathroom and 2 used this area. Each time we were in the lobby we were pleasantly recognized by the staff. [...] rocked! We asked for a few suggestions and he sent us to Katz's Deli (Houston St) and it was a 'must do' for NYC. Thanks [...] for the great suggestion! From there it was a quick walk over to Chinatown/Little Italy and then we continued our walk to SoHo. We decided to take the subway back to the hotel from there. The hotel has a great map of the city and subway lines - just ask for it. We went to the Regis and Kelly show and our cab cost $7 which again was great. From there another must do is a carriage ride in Central Park. [...] (from Ireland) and his horse Billy took us around for about a 50 minute ride. Totally amazing and informational.The hot breakfast each morning was a bonus, however they are done serving at 11 am sharp...the coffee even gets put away. There was a coffee maker in our room, but we never used it. Plenty of choices for drinks, bread, fruit, and hot items.We can't compare this hotel to any other as this was the first time we actually stayed in the city; all other trips consisted of hotel in New Jersey. So with that, we would highly recommend this hotel. At first glance walking east down 40th st it seems a little "risky" but all in all we felt very safe in the environment walking as a group. On the corner of 8th Ave and 40th St there is a pharmacy with everything and anything you may need (including beer). If you forget something, the front desk probably has it...a few items included bandaids and a sewing kit.Here's a shout out to the staff at Staybridge - thanks for making our trip a success! We hope to see you soon! And [...]...I hope your toe is feeling better!Wisconsin Girls :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Katz's Deli (Houston Street)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maui, Hawaii
Apr 18, 2010

Brand new hotel, pleasant staff

Staff was excellent and very helpful especially concierge with suggestions of what to do and see in a short period of time. However on the day we left, our bellman, Sunny, called for a taxi to take us to Penn Station and apparently made a deal with the taxi driver to charge us $25 and take his cut. We called another taxi when the driver told us it would cost us $25. The taxi that took us to Penn Station ended up costing only $6.50 therefore, we would have gotten ripped off. The other party that was traveling with us got on the taxi that was called before ours and was unaware of the scam and ended up getting ripped off by having to pay the driver the $25. I witnessed the driver go back to the bellman and take back his share of money for the deal when we refused to pay the $25. Aside from this experience, our stay was enjoyable.Perhaps the hotel management is unaware that their bellman take advantage of tourists that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 8, 2010

Very nice hotel in a high priced market

The hotel staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms and the hotel itself was in very good condition, clean, well kept. The location was okay, but not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 7, 2010

Great location,wonderful trip

Great location! Breakfst is always good,clean,very enjoyable stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeaLas
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Nov 16, 2010

NYC Vacation

Hotel was in the perfect location to Times Square, Soho, Greenwich, and all of Midtown Manhattan. Very safe area, easy to find for non-New Yorkers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square was literally a 2 block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Kim
Business
Puerto Rico
Apr 4, 2011

Great Stay

I went to New York to participate at a conference at Columbia University but decided to stay closer to the city. The location was great, right around the corner from times square and out of the bustle. I thought the hotel was wonderful. The rooms were a little smaller than I expected but were fully equipped and very well put together. Beds were comfortable and service was great. Free breakfast was a plus!!! Delicious and you could even have it to-go. Includes free gym, free wi-fi, free laundry service, free cocktails from Tuesday to Thursday, free hot breakfast... What more could one want? The only thing I didn't enjoy were the musty, cigarette smelling hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Dec 17, 2010

Exellent 3* Star Hotel in New York

Excellent Hotel in NYC. Friendly service and good rooms. The only drawback: very slow elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bs. Aires, Argentina
Feb 28, 2011

Unbeatable price/location/amenitys.

Very convenient location. Excelent buffet breakfast. V/well equiped kitchen. Service personnel using main elevators makes waiting time long. Housekeeping service very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin & Alison
Business
Chicago, IL.
Nov 9, 2010

Great hotel BUT...

The staff at the Staybridge were simply outstanding and Kudos to their concierge staff as well!!That being said guests should know a couple things:[...]The closet to hang your cloths is a joke and cannot accommodate two people (barely fits anything in there!) Has enough room to fit a vacuum maybe but poor design)If traveling as a couple don't expect to sleep while someone's in the bathroom because the door is frosted glass and is right next to the beds so when the lights turn on it feels like Yankee Stadium in a dark room! NO midnight bathroom breaks!! ;o)Other than that the room is great albeit as with all rooms in Times Square; pretty small.The 42" HD TV and loads of HD channels (including movie channels) were impressive!!The Free breakfast each morning was fantastic and the rooms WiFi was excellent for reception on the 18th floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Give Virgil's BBQ on 44th between 6th & 7th a try as it was awesome food!! Also try Five Napkin burgers which the best in NYC!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 17, 2010

Great Location in the Big Apple

We walked to the Javit's Center for business, a great neighborhood restaurant, IL PUNTO, for a delicious dinner (suggested by [...] at the front desk), and to Times Square for a stroll. Great location for all of the above!Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was well-designed, contemporary, and quiet. Plenty of food (standard, not gourmet) for breakfast & convenient hours for eating.We would definitely return when traveling to that area of NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IL PUNTO - good food and service, enthusiastic owner from southern Italy who made us very welcome (& remembered us on our second visit!) 507 9th. Ave,at 38th. St. 212-244-0088 (near Theater District & Madison Square Garden)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top