$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
340 WEST 40TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
237 reviews
PERFECTION! Wouldn't even try anywhere else in NY

AMAZING! You will not go wrong booking these suites. It REALLY couldn't have gone ANY better for... See full review

  • Erica Arteaga
  • May 30, 2014
Love it

Had everything you needed a full kitchen with all appliances See full review

  • Joaquin8880
  • Apr 29, 2014
A contemporary gem in the heart of Manhattan
The Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City is a unique hotel located within walking distance of the Broadway Theater District, the Fashion District and iconic Times Square. As well as a sleek glass exterior and a lobby that can only be described as a vision of the future, the Staybridge Suites Times Square offers fully equipped meeting spaces, a fitness center, and a 24-hour convenience store on-site. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast and a sundown reception in the elegant Bar Forty.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A 24-hour BridgeMart convenience store on-site 
  • A full-sized kitchen in every room, complete with kitchenware and appliances
  • Near many New York City landmarks, including the Empire State Building and Central Park
Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City Rooms
Great care is taken to ensure the comfort of guests at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City. Each room is decorated in cream, coffee and chocolate tones, providing a distinct style that is both modern and homely. Look out for high ceilings and an abundance of natural light, as well as a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline. Suites at the hotel offer a fully equipped kitchen that includes appliances such as a dishwasher and coffee-maker, in addition to a full range of kitchenware. All guest rooms at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City feature a 37-inch flat-screen television with access to more than 150 cable channels, including HBO, free high-speed Wi-Fi connection and individually controlled air conditioning. Enjoy free calls in the local area, and a daily maid service. Rooms also offer full bathroom amenities including a deep bathtub, fresh towels provided daily and a ceramic-style hair-dryer.
Things To Do:
  • Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Central Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $272 USD
  • Check-in: 4 p.m./Check-out: 11 a.m. 
  • Pets allowed with advance reservation and non-refundable fee $75-$120 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7565 -73.9927
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI; New York Laguardia, (LGA), 9.60, MI; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.30, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Bar Forty
Bar/Lounge serving speciality cocktails in a warm yet modern setting featuring a water fall and contemporary music and broadway hit music piped in. Hell's Kitchens answer to Cheers!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Dec 21, 2010

Disgusting Hotel!

this is the most disgusting hotel that i have ever been to. first of all i got the most expensive suite at a place called staybridge suites, if you can even call it that. It was the SMALLEST hotel room i have ever seen. there was a distinct urine smell to the room and the room was infested with bed bugs. the front desk refused to give me a refund. I left the hotel and stayed next door. Do yourself a favor and dont stay at this disgrace of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Dec 21, 2010

Disgusting Hotel!

this is the most disgusting hotel that i have ever been to. first of all i got the most expensive suite at a place called staybridge suites, if you can even call it that. It was the SMALLEST hotel room i have ever seen. there was a distinct urine smell to the room and the room was infested with bed bugs. the front desk refused to give me a refund. I left the hotel and stayed next door. Do yourself a favor and dont stay at this disgrace of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Phats
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 5, 2011

Ampenities +, Location -, No refund

I have been staying in New York City 3 nights a week for the past two years, working in IT for a major drug store chain in the area. Most of the time I have stayed at a classic old hotel at the corner of 34th St and 8th Ave.The hotel I enjoyed on this trip has much more to offer, with a kitchenette and satellite TV. It also offers a full hot breakfast, contrasted with a continental breakfast at my usual place. But the prices are higher, and though it claims to be in the Times Square district, it is across the street from the Port Authority Bus Terminal.I booked this hotel because my usual place was booked full when I waited later than usual to make my reservations. When they offered to let me stay more nights, I tried to cancel within the guidelines of the host hotel -- within 24 hours, but [...]policy prevented this. The only cancellation option was to forfeit my payment in advance to [...]. This policy was in no way made clear to me at the time of booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Heartland Brewery

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Majo yogui
guatemala
Feb 25, 2014

New York Stay

The hotel was very well located, near the bus staion and Broadway. The room was comfortable and clean. There was a small kitchen. The refrigerator´s noise was disturbing at night. the hotel was crowded, it was difficult for the elevators to cme and also to walk in the lobby or to find a place in the restaurante. the breakfast buffet was OK, it was included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Moscow, RF
Jan 28, 2011

Ok hotel, a bit overpriced though

The hotel's lokation is great, however the level of services provided and the whole outlook is poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tope
USA
Jun 19, 2014

Good hotel

Good hotel near all major attractions. Clean rooms and good standard facilities . Helpful staff sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skala20
Deutschland
Mar 28, 2012

Good hotel with a few downsides

I chose this hotel due to the good ratings and the good midtown location. Overall I did enjoy the 10-days stay - there are a few things though I didn't like too much. First of all the elevators - a few times we had to wait longer than 7 minutes for an elevator to come even though the hotel has three of them. Second - the room doors are so thin that I always thought people who were standing or passing by outside our room would stand right next to my bed. Not nice, especially because I assume that if I can hear them so well they can also hear us talking in the room. Third thing I didn't like was the heating. It was very cold in the room and there was a slight wind from the window all the time. There is a heater but it is very loud while kind of blow-drying the room. That turned out to be a problem throughout the night because it was hard to sleep with the heater starting in auto-mode every 30 minutes. Last thing I didn't like: it was almost impossible to get a normal table for breakfast. We either did not get a table or had to take something similar to a couch table - a tiny one. That wasn't very enjoyable. The rest of the hotel was fine. I especially have to mention the maids. The room was so tidy and clean every day - I loved that a lot. Another plus of the hotel are definitely the beds. They are so comfortable that you don't really want to get up in the morning. What leads me to a last downside, though. The cover sheets were so thin...as it was quite cold I asked for an additional blanket. Well, I got an additional sheet, but that is not a blanket in my understanding and didn't do much for me to get warmer. The location of the hotel is great and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are hungry and don't want to go far try Chevy's Tex Mex restaurant. They have a great choice and it's just 1 block away.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
deerfield, Il.
Apr 11, 2011

nice for the price

Nice room with refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave. clean and nice looking. Breakfast buffet was ordinary and crowded. Teen group booked into hotel was noisy all night and security was no help. Port Authority Bus Station is across the street and the local Parole Office is down the block. Convenient walk to Times Square Theatres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Phats
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 5, 2011

Ampenities +, Location -, No refund

I have been staying in New York City 3 nights a week for the past two years, working in IT for a major drug store chain in the area. Most of the time I have stayed at a classic old hotel at the corner of 34th St and 8th Ave.The hotel I enjoyed on this trip has much more to offer, with a kitchenette and satellite TV. It also offers a full hot breakfast, contrasted with a continental breakfast at my usual place. But the prices are higher, and though it claims to be in the Times Square district, it is across the street from the Port Authority Bus Terminal.I booked this hotel because my usual place was booked full when I waited later than usual to make my reservations. When they offered to let me stay more nights, I tried to cancel within the guidelines of the host hotel -- within 24 hours, but [...]policy prevented this. The only cancellation option was to forfeit my payment in advance to [...]. This policy was in no way made clear to me at the time of booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Heartland Brewery

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
deerfield, Il.
Apr 11, 2011

nice for the price

Nice room with refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave. clean and nice looking. Breakfast buffet was ordinary and crowded. Teen group booked into hotel was noisy all night and security was no help. Port Authority Bus Station is across the street and the local Parole Office is down the block. Convenient walk to Times Square Theatres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top