$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
340 West 40th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
170 reviews
Great location.

We had a great experience. The hotel had free happy hour Tues-Thur so we could have appetizers and... See full review

  • Dougplainandtall
  • Sep 27, 2014
PERFECTION! Wouldn't even try anywhere else in NY

AMAZING! You will not go wrong booking these suites. It REALLY couldn't have gone ANY better for... See full review

  • Erica Arteaga
  • May 30, 2014
A contemporary gem in the heart of Manhattan
The Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City is a unique hotel located within walking distance of the Broadway Theater District, the Fashion District and iconic Times Square. As well as a sleek glass exterior and a lobby that can only be described as a vision of the future, the Staybridge Suites Times Square offers fully equipped meeting spaces, a fitness center, and a 24-hour convenience store on-site. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast and a sundown reception in the elegant Bar Forty.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A 24-hour BridgeMart convenience store on-site 
  • A full-sized kitchen in every room, complete with kitchenware and appliances
  • Near many New York City landmarks, including the Empire State Building and Central Park
Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City Rooms
Great care is taken to ensure the comfort of guests at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City. Each room is decorated in cream, coffee and chocolate tones, providing a distinct style that is both modern and homely. Look out for high ceilings and an abundance of natural light, as well as a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline. Suites at the hotel offer a fully equipped kitchen that includes appliances such as a dishwasher and coffee-maker, in addition to a full range of kitchenware. All guest rooms at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City feature a 37-inch flat-screen television with access to more than 150 cable channels, including HBO, free high-speed Wi-Fi connection and individually controlled air conditioning. Enjoy free calls in the local area, and a daily maid service. Rooms also offer full bathroom amenities including a deep bathtub, fresh towels provided daily and a ceramic-style hair-dryer.
Things To Do:
  • Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Central Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $272 USD
  • Check-in: 4 p.m./Check-out: 11 a.m. 
  • Pets allowed with advance reservation and non-refundable fee $75-$120 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Bar Forty
Bar/Lounge serving speciality cocktails in a warm yet modern setting featuring a water fall and contemporary music and broadway hit music piped in. Hell's Kitchens answer to Cheers!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super snapper
Business
Isle of Wight
May 14, 2010

Brilliant location & friendly staff

First trip to New York with my daughter. Hotel was new and brilliantly situated being just a five minute walk from Time Square and close to the bus station and subway. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary glass of wine in the evening was a nice touch after a busy day shopping and sightseeing. The only down side was a noisy air conditioning unit right next to the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mercer island, wa
May 22, 2010

great hotel

This hotel was great! Staff went out of its way to be helpful and expediant, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the in-room kitchenette was well equipped with dishwasher, recycling bin, and other nice touches. The breakfasts were great also. The only problems were the overused elevators--only 3 for 32 floors, and the fact that the street is being worked on so we had to walk a block or two to get cabs. That was difficult as a member of our party was older and had difficulty walking. Hope the street is done soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for lots of reasonably priced restaurants on 8th or 9th and stay away from Times Square!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Jul 14, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

i took my daughter for the first time in New York for her 16 birthday. We had very good time and we visited the most famous places in the city. we did a great shopping too. i wish only that the weather was less hot. I think to ovoid in july and august. the hotel was really great, clean, nice service and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very good location.5 mn walking from Time Square Very close to all famous attractions, shopping areas and good dinning places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Pleasantly surprised!

We were thrilled to find that the hotel was a comfortable walking distance to Times Square and right around the corner from a Grey Line Tours ticketing office. We didn't need to take any public transportation to get where we needed to go since we had the Grey Line Hop-on Hop-off tickets. We found it was a reasonable walk to Rockefeller Plaza as well. We felt safe also, even though there were one or two questionable businesses down the street that we had to pass on the way to the hotel. There was a concierge standing outside the adjacent hotel which added to our "safe" feeling. The rooms were spotless and updated and I don't think I've ever slept so well on a hotel bed! I will definitely return to this hotel when I go back to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grey Line Tours Hop-On Hop-Off bus. Great deal and perfect for people who are not very familiar with the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassygrits54
Business
Savannah, GA
Oct 21, 2010

Staybridge Suites

This was my 3rd trip to NY for pleasure and it was one of the best! The hotel was fantastic, extra large room and storage available. Breakfast every morning and happy hour one of the evenings. Jamie the doorman took really good care of us, from recommending restaurants to getting our cabs. The hotel location was 2 blocks to Times Square and 1 block to Subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner on 9th Ave is a fantastic pizza place called Pizzolas (or something like that)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blackrod
Business
Saffron Walden
Apr 25, 2011

Excellent NYC Hotel

The perfect base for a hectic 5 day visit to NY - we took the coach from Newark into town, drop off is at the Port Authority, which is conveniently right next door to the hotel. The hotel itself is very comfortable, with great amenities (...we'd recommend the breakfasts and the sundowner receptions ) and very helpful, pleasant staff. We did a lot of walking each day - the hotel is very central, also conveniently close to a subway station. ( On our last day we had heavy rain, but managed to return to the door of the hotel from Grand Central Station underground all the way save for the last 10 yards from the Port Authority! )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If looking for a restaurant in the evening, turn left out of the hotel and walk the short distance to 9th Avenue, which has an array of places/cuisines to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jreyes
Business
Glendora, CA, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Best trip ever

The staff was amazing!!!!!!!!!! so friendly. I never encountered one negative person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jhc7399
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Excellent stay!

Went to NY for the NYC marathon for four days and our stay was fantastic! The door man Jamie was excellent too, very nice staff all around. The only complaint we had was the food in the resturant was really bad. Eat somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little pizza place around the corner on 9th. Cappizi's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
COBandMom
Business
Denver, Colorado
Nov 26, 2011

Macy's Parade Vacation

We were in town to see the parade and loved that this hotel was so close to everything. Blocks from Times Square, across the street from the subway and bus stations, walking distance to Macy's and theatres and even Central Park wasn't all that far. A cab was about $5-6 anywhere we wanted to go. It was updated, modern, very clean. It was a little small, no real counter space in bathroom, but the tub/shower were great and it included a great kitchenette and comfortable beds, lots of pillows and perfect comforter/duvet, room was not too hot or cold. Regarding view, we had a building directly across from us, but looking one direction could clearly see the Empire State Building and the other had a partial Hudson view. I was initially concerned that it was across from the bus station but we never heard anything. We also ended up getting a room right between two elevators and I thought I'd have to request a change but we could only hear a little hum occasionally and never heard the bell on the elevator so it was fine. Elevators were a little slow but we were on one of top floors. The block the hotel is on seemed a little shady but we used the sidewalk on the opposite side of the street that was well lit and didn't feel unsafe. We didn't eat at the hotel even though breakfast and cocktails were included so can't review that. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Concierge was not as fast in responding to help with theatre tickets and getting transportation as I would have liked, but overall they were good and seem to know the area very well (made good recommendations). Overall, very clean, conveniently located, good value. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From this hotel, go to 8th to catch a cab, we spent a lot of time in front of the hotel where cabs were not abundant, and on 9th where most cabs were full going that direction to the Holland tunnel right by the hotel. We found from the hotel to almost everything we did, the cabs were about the same price as taking the subway. We took a shuttle from LaGuardia to hotel for about $14/person and when we told the employee at the airport shuttle desk that we hadn't been there he gave us a great book and map - if you take a shuttle ask for one! The concierge set up a private car for us to go back to LaGuardia and it was about $55, worth it for us not to wait for a shuttle or guess how much it would be for a cab. It was ready for us when we wanted, right in the front door and we were able to spend every precious minute exploring the City right up to when we had to leave. The Port Authority bus station right across the street is nice and had a lot of shops and things we would have used but didn't discover them until the day before we left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dutchy
Business
Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Dec 27, 2011

great location in nyc

Our room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to many restaurants in the times square area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top