$156 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
340 WEST 40TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
163 reviews
satisfied very much

The location is very good. quiet and convinient. The room is not small and comfort. A subway... See full review

  • Dayang's Mum
  • Jan 31, 2014
Great hotel at decent price

This is a really great hotel. includes free wifi, and breakfast. location is so close to times... See full review

  • Annnnnna
  • Jan 20, 2014
A contemporary gem in the heart of Manhattan
The Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City is a unique hotel located within walking distance of the Broadway Theater District, the Fashion District and iconic Times Square. As well as a sleek glass exterior and a lobby that can only be described as a vision of the future, the Staybridge Suites Times Square offers fully equipped meeting spaces, a fitness center, and a 24-hour convenience store on-site. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast and a sundown reception in the elegant Bar Forty.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A 24-hour BridgeMart convenience store on-site 
  • A full-sized kitchen in every room, complete with kitchenware and appliances
  • Near many New York City landmarks, including the Empire State Building and Central Park
Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City Rooms
Great care is taken to ensure the comfort of guests at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City. Each room is decorated in cream, coffee and chocolate tones, providing a distinct style that is both modern and homely. Look out for high ceilings and an abundance of natural light, as well as a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline. Suites at the hotel offer a fully equipped kitchen that includes appliances such as a dishwasher and coffee-maker, in addition to a full range of kitchenware. All guest rooms at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City feature a 37-inch flat-screen television with access to more than 150 cable channels, including HBO, free high-speed Wi-Fi connection and individually controlled air conditioning. Enjoy free calls in the local area, and a daily maid service. Rooms also offer full bathroom amenities including a deep bathtub, fresh towels provided daily and a ceramic-style hair-dryer.
Things To Do:
  • Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Central Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $272 USD
  • Check-in: 4 p.m./Check-out: 11 a.m. 
  • Pets allowed with advance reservation and non-refundable fee $75-$120 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7565 -73.9927
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI; New York Laguardia, (LGA), 9.60, MI; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.30, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Bar Forty
Bar/Lounge serving speciality cocktails in a warm yet modern setting featuring a water fall and contemporary music and broadway hit music piped in. Hell's Kitchens answer to Cheers!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
163 out of 163
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
lfri
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Excellent quality and value

The rooms may be small(but what rooms aren't in New York?) but were exceptionally clean and well appointed. The amenities of a refrigerator,coffeemaker and microwave added tremendously. Glad to have an inroom safe as well. Staff were always helpful. The daily breakfast and morning NY times were included. Location was perfect for getting to broadway shows and anything we needed. Would definitely stay here again for the amenities and value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
dutchy
Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Dec 27, 2011

great location in nyc

Our room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to many restaurants in the times square area

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
Pabloski
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Nice hotel, so so neighborhood.

Hotel was very nice, within walking distance to B'way and Times Square. Only negative, it's across from Penn Station/Port Authority causing noise on the lower floors and rif raf on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure and allow extra time for elevators especially in the morning.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
Parisprincess
Boston, MA
Nov 29, 2011

Good location and so Cleanliness

I had king size bed and felt so comfortable with that room. It's so clean and modern for me. Especially has kitchen in room and all the appliances. I would recommend hotel should offer room service because some people might need this service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
Parisprincess
Boston, MA
Nov 29, 2011

Good location and so Cleanliness

I had a king size bed and so comfortable. The hotel is so clean and has kitchen in room. I would recommend hotel should offer room services although there is kitchen inside. Some people might need this service. Overall, I am satisfied with this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
COBandMom
Denver, Colorado
Nov 26, 2011

Macy's Parade Vacation

We were in town to see the parade and loved that this hotel was so close to everything. Blocks from Times Square, across the street from the subway and bus stations, walking distance to Macy's and theatres and even Central Park wasn't all that far. A cab was about $5-6 anywhere we wanted to go. It was updated, modern, very clean. It was a little small, no real counter space in bathroom, but the tub/shower were great and it included a great kitchenette and comfortable beds, lots of pillows and perfect comforter/duvet, room was not too hot or cold. Regarding view, we had a building directly across from us, but looking one direction could clearly see the Empire State Building and the other had a partial Hudson view. I was initially concerned that it was across from the bus station but we never heard anything. We also ended up getting a room right between two elevators and I thought I'd have to request a change but we could only hear a little hum occasionally and never heard the bell on the elevator so it was fine. Elevators were a little slow but we were on one of top floors. The block the hotel is on seemed a little shady but we used the sidewalk on the opposite side of the street that was well lit and didn't feel unsafe. We didn't eat at the hotel even though breakfast and cocktails were included so can't review that. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Concierge was not as fast in responding to help with theatre tickets and getting transportation as I would have liked, but overall they were good and seem to know the area very well (made good recommendations). Overall, very clean, conveniently located, good value. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From this hotel, go to 8th to catch a cab, we spent a lot of time in front of the hotel where cabs were not abundant, and on 9th where most cabs were full going that direction to the Holland tunnel right by the hotel. We found from the hotel to almost everything we did, the cabs were about the same price as taking the subway. We took a shuttle from LaGuardia to hotel for about $14/person and when we told the employee at the airport shuttle desk that we hadn't been there he gave us a great book and map - if you take a shuttle ask for one! The concierge set up a private car for us to go back to LaGuardia and it was about $55, worth it for us not to wait for a shuttle or guess how much it would be for a cab. It was ready for us when we wanted, right in the front door and we were able to spend every precious minute exploring the City right up to when we had to leave. The Port Authority bus station right across the street is nice and had a lot of shops and things we would have used but didn't discover them until the day before we left.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
Jhc7399
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Excellent stay!

Went to NY for the NYC marathon for four days and our stay was fantastic! The door man Jamie was excellent too, very nice staff all around. The only complaint we had was the food in the resturant was really bad. Eat somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little pizza place around the corner on 9th. Cappizi's

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
Jars
Chicago
Nov 18, 2011

It was all very solid!

Great room and very quiet in the room, no outside noise! Cable TV with lots of channels, nice. Nice location, easy to access everything and it seemed like a perfectly safe location - never had any worries at all (unlike other reviews).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
Feather
Alexandria, VA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Holiday weekend

The only downside was the wait for elevators. But this is only a little gripe. Overall, this is a good hotel, also good value, and the rooms were outstanding. I would stay there again. The location is excellent; many good restaurants just around the corner. It is w/in walking distance of most theaters, and the staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
Jreyes
Glendora, CA, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Best trip ever

The staff was amazing!!!!!!!!!! so friendly. I never encountered one negative person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top