$167 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
View map of 340 West 40th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knauer
Business
Denmark
Jun 21, 2012

Perfect New York

Were greeted with a very friendly welcome after a long journey from Denmark. The staff, their manners and friendly way of treating their guests were part of making our holiday unforgettable. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and the three weekly social menus were a pleasant surprise. It's certainly a place I can recommend and where I will stay again. Flemming & Fie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana simple mom
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 18, 2012

It was a great hotel to stay in

It was a very comfortable and nice hotel. The staff was very nice. The price was good too. Breakfast included is a plus. They should add a little more variety to breakfast, but it was great!! I would go back everytime I go to NY! I have already recommended it to all my friends and family. For those that have never been to NY you are close to ALL the sites, and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are stores everywhere, very close by. You cant beat NY shopping, and when you are so close to so many stores you cant go wrong.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brady bunch
Business
Ireland
Jun 13, 2012

Very well located hotel

We stayed here for 9 nights and would rate the hotel first class. We shared a room with our two boys, whilst a little cramped you would not expect much more for New York. Breakfast was very good and free wifi and laundry service also great. Bar was expensive but made up for by three nights where there was free drink and food!! Service was excellent and they also had a free wheelchair which we needed a couple of times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atl2012
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 4, 2012

close to tourist attractions and subway very convenient

great staff - very friendly and helpful room was great very modern - great desk area, bathroom - all just great!!! Elevators are very busy - had to wait a lot Breakfast very busy - hard to find seats, not much of a selection in food-very average breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Jacks - great steakhouse, also 46th street - great restaurant row

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atravelbug
Business
Beaverton, Or
Jun 1, 2012

Great location for getaway to nyc

Staybridge is located next to the port authority bus terminal which was very convenient. We took the express bus from Newark airport ($16) and it dropped us off 1/2 block away from the hotel. This hotel is also located on the same block as the subway entrance, also a plus. Times square was and the theatre district were just blocks away as well. The hotel was very clean and included a decent free breakfast. The rooms come with a small kitchen including pots, pans, cups, plates etc. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

TKTS booth in times square for 1/2 price theatre tickets was a short walk from the subway was a great deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antonella
Business
Washington, DC, USA
May 19, 2012

Fantastic for NYU graduation!

We had a great stay at this hotel to attend our daughter NYU graduation. The complimentary breakfast is a huge plus as we usually scramble to get coffee and pastries in the morning when we stay at other hotels. The location is just ok for me, however it gives you easy access to many famous attractions. Will use this Hotel again in the future. Antonella

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Eataly and sample all the great Italian foods they have!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J5008
Business
Edmonton Canada
May 15, 2012

Nice Modern Hotel

We booked the Staybridge Suites approximately one month prior to our stay of May 6th to 11th. We are happy we booked early as we noticed the prices increased up to $90 per night as the date got closer to our stay. We chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews. We were very pleased with our selection. We found that the hotel lived up to all the excellent comments posted on various sites. Even though we arrived before the official check in time the front desk was able to immediately provide us with a corner room on the 21st floor. The room was clean, modern and nicely decorated. Our view was okay, we looked towards another high rise building but honestly I think I only looked out twice while we were there. The room was very quiet from any street noise and we heard very little noise from people getting on or off the elevators. The king sized bed as stated many times in other reviews was excellent. The bathroom was very modern and had a glass shower (which I prefer to tub/shower). The kitchenette was well designed with large fridge, stove microwave and dishwasher. All the plates, glasses, cooking utensils looked modern and new. We mainly used the fridge but it was nice to have a microwave and coffee machine available, in the room. Our room was cleaned daily and the maid even washed any dishes we may have used. I would suggest that everyone leave a few dollars daily for the maid. They do a great job every day. The free breakfast was great; the staff was very friendly and worked very hard to refill the various dishes as quickly as possible. I found the variety and number of items available very good and as we were there for 5 days we were glad to see a change daily to most of the hot food items. Yes it can be a bit crowded but we managed to find a seat very quickly every day. The free evening reception Tuesday through Thursdays 5:30 to 7 pm was also excellent. You can help yourself, among other beverages, to beer such as Bud Light or glasses of red or white wine. The snacks and hot food that they provided were also very good and we also noted the staff works very quickly to replenish the food and the beverages. Again the area can be a bit busy but we were always able to find a table and chair and sit down. I also found the white wine to be very good. We asked for a late checkout on Friday morning the front desk extended our checkout time which was really appreciated as our flight was not leaving until later in the day. I would not be concerned about some of the comments regarding the area that the hotel is located in. We had absolutely no problems walking anywhere in that area at any time. In fact the location is great only a few minutes walk to Times Square and across the street from the Bus station. To summarize it was a pleasure to return ever night to a hotel room that was clean, modern, comfortable and upbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACAM
Business
London, UK
Apr 18, 2012

Great central location with excellent accommodation

Everything (location, accommodation, staff etc) was first class but the hotel was full and therefore 3 lifts were not enough at peak traffic hours, especially when one was out of action, as happened during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in a party of 4 plus go to Carminiere Italian restaurant near Times Square - great fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose Maria
Business
Glendale, CA
Apr 1, 2012

4 days stay

I stayed here during March with my wife and one son 3 yr. every think was very clean house keeping did their job every single day even I left my wallet and passport one day in the room but they are trustworthy nothing happened suspicious thank god!. I had the best sleep on the bed almost wasted my time sleeping. The TV is better than 5 stars hotel with a lot of movie channel free of charge. The room service is just easy to use you need to talk to one representative to resolve all your requests and issues. The Kitchener is fully equipped with new appliances even the forks and spoon almost never used with a dishwasher although I only used the microwave. All in all you will never regret staying in here for any type of traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Time square is 10 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skala20
Business
Deutschland
Mar 28, 2012

Good hotel with a few downsides

I chose this hotel due to the good ratings and the good midtown location. Overall I did enjoy the 10-days stay - there are a few things though I didn't like too much. First of all the elevators - a few times we had to wait longer than 7 minutes for an elevator to come even though the hotel has three of them. Second - the room doors are so thin that I always thought people who were standing or passing by outside our room would stand right next to my bed. Not nice, especially because I assume that if I can hear them so well they can also hear us talking in the room. Third thing I didn't like was the heating. It was very cold in the room and there was a slight wind from the window all the time. There is a heater but it is very loud while kind of blow-drying the room. That turned out to be a problem throughout the night because it was hard to sleep with the heater starting in auto-mode every 30 minutes. Last thing I didn't like: it was almost impossible to get a normal table for breakfast. We either did not get a table or had to take something similar to a couch table - a tiny one. That wasn't very enjoyable. The rest of the hotel was fine. I especially have to mention the maids. The room was so tidy and clean every day - I loved that a lot. Another plus of the hotel are definitely the beds. They are so comfortable that you don't really want to get up in the morning. What leads me to a last downside, though. The cover sheets were so thin...as it was quite cold I asked for an additional blanket. Well, I got an additional sheet, but that is not a blanket in my understanding and didn't do much for me to get warmer. The location of the hotel is great and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are hungry and don't want to go far try Chevy's Tex Mex restaurant. They have a great choice and it's just 1 block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top