$167 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
View map of 340 West 40th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gordigato
Fort Lauderdale
Sep 30, 2012

Fantastic!!!

The hotel is great with very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is also very good. The room is wide, clean and very comfortable. But the best is the location because is just across the street of bus terminal, 1 block from subway station, 2 blocks from Times Square and short distance to everywhere. The best hotel I've ever been in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Travel Newbie
Business
Durham, NC
Apr 13, 2013

Great value

Close to attractions. Breakfast. Happy hour Tues-Thurs. Free laundry. Kitchenette. Reasonable room size for NYC. Friendly staff. I'd stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free washer/dryer/detergent. Free breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toronto Brian
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 2, 2013

Wonderful!

We are seasoned travellers. We are not overly picky and when we go on vacation, we believe its what you make of it - unlike some reviewers, who can somehow always find something wrong. I chose Staybridge suites as it was highly rated and it did not disappoint. The staff was wonderful! The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and what a fantastic option to have a kitchenette in your room for keeping beverages cold and reheating leftovers. Free wifi in the room worked great. The free hot breakfast every morning was wonderful and saved us plenty of time and money. It had plenty of variety - eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, cereal etc. - and they changed items daily, so there was always something new. The location is excellent - 5 minutes from Times Square. There's a subway entrance right at 8th and 40th which makes getting around the city a breeze. There's also a 24 hour pharmacy at 8th/40th that sells everything including grocery items, soda, beer, etc. very convenient. This was a wonderful stay - if I had to find one fault it would be the elevators - there are only 3 banks for more than 30 floors so they are quite slow. This was only a minor inconvenience when comparing to all the positives. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is just south of the port authority bus terminal. If flying into Newark, take the Newark Liberty Manhattan Express bus $16 one way or $28 return. It's less than a 5 minute walk from where the bus drops you off to the front door of the hotel and it will save you $80 on a one way taxi ride!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paigepaige
Business
Cleveland
Mar 27, 2013

Very nice

I stayed here almost every time when I'm in Manhattan. One of the best reason is because of its great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jewels J.
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 27, 2013

NYC Couple Trip

The location was great! The hotel was right next to public transportation and taxi access. Just walking distance to Time Square. Access to restaurants, shopping and shows, including Broadway, Comedy shows, etc. The hotel room we stayed in was a King Suite, equipped with a kitchen, which would be great for storing food, reheating food or cooking. Great for those who plan on having a long stay. Although we had a short visit. The only hiccup was that the tub was clogged in our room , but upon notification the room service was willing to fix it. This hotel was great minus the brief tub issue, but overall we had a wonderful stay and I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to "Juniors" on 1515 Broadway, best cheesecake in the world!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Purisima
Business
Washington, D.C.
Mar 25, 2013

BEST LOCATION WITH LARGE ROOMS

If you can stand shabby carpets, this is the place to stay. Good rates, very large rooms which have full size refrigerator, dishwasher, two burners, and cooking utensils and plates. Located across the Port Authority, conceivably you can hop a bus to NY, cross the street, stay the weekend and hop on the bus to go back. No expensive taxi fares. The hotel is a very short distance to most of the Broadway theaters and the colorful Times Square. Being near the bus depot, it is not the quietest of hotels but who comes to NY for peace and quiet anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All Broadway Theaters, Times Square attractions, eat at the family style Italian restaurant Carmine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jughead
Business
Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Mar 6, 2013

NYC Easy Getaway

Came in very late. Staff was very helpful and friendly and accomodating. Location was convenient. Nice to have a bar and breakfast. Great experience. Only thing I would highly recommend is security to get to hotel room; ie., scan card to get to room. Looks like they may have had at one time. Recommend it as hotel is close to transit station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza place with wood burning stove; delicious pizzas, salads, wine and open until 1 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ze Boquinha
Business
Brasilia, Brazil
Mar 5, 2013

Excellent Hotel:location,breakfast,social menu, price

A very pleasant stay in New York with my wife. Very good location, Good facilities: room size, amenities, excellent breakfast, social menu on some days of the week, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suebart112
Business
Long Island,NY
Feb 17, 2013

Awesome

Stayed here Valentines night with my husband. Great rate, great location, free happy hour, free breakfast, immaculate room. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Tues, Weds and thurs from 5-7 free beer, wine, soda and apps!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FA Blackhawk
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 18, 2013

Business Trip

Great place to stay if needing to go to Javits Center - within a half mile - nice walk. Area may appear to be a bit seedy as it is right across the street from Port Authority, but we did not experience any issues whatsoever. Staff at the hotel were friendly and accomodating. Nice perk is the morning breakfast, and Tue-Thur they have beer and food available from 5-7. Rooms have nice small kitchens for those that have to stay for any period of time and wanting to bring food in instead of eating out all the time as it does get pricey in NY,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Full moon tide
Business
Block Island
Jan 15, 2013

A favorite

After staying at many different hotels in NYC on business over the years I have decided this is my favorite for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top