$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
View map of 340 West 40th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacation mom
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
May 29, 2013

Location can't be beat

I booked the Staybridge Suites for a long weekend getaway for me and my teenage son. The location couldn't have been better! He wanted to see Times Square and go to some improv comedy clubs in the Chelsea neighborhood. Being on the south end of the theater district, we were within walking distance to both. Close proximity to the Port Authority bus station and the subway station made this location super convenient. I was a little concerned about being so close to the bus station due to noise but that was not a problem. Office staff was exceptional. They were so willing to help with any requests. Breakfast was better than most, plenty of choices. Several reviews complained about slow elevators but we only found this to be an issue once, during a busy checkout time period. Room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Great to have a kitchenette in the room for leftovers. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Upright Citizens Brigade Theater at 26th St. and 8th Avenue is a great venue for improv comedy. The reserved shows book up in advance but the ASSSCAT show on Sunday nights at 9:30 is free. Show up by 7 p.m. to get in line for tickets distributed at 8 p.m.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shoowg
Business
Frederick, MD
May 14, 2013

Great hotel

I like this hotel. The room was clean and I found everything I need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaiman
Business
Miami
May 5, 2013

A bridge to every where

In sum, it is in an excellent location, and wonderful staff. Two blocks from center of the attraction, and one block from subway station. Small bathroom vanity, and closet, but great kitchenet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Russian Tea Room

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Crusader
Business
Ithaca, New York
May 1, 2013

Nice place to stay at a very convenient location

A friend and I shared a suite with 2 double beds and a kitchenette. Everything was very neat and comfortable. Nowadays in NYC it's difficult and more expensive to find a hotel room for two people with 2 beds. Staybridge also offers a good and convenient breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than two blocks away from the Bus Terminal, including bus transportation to NYC airports, and Metro Stations, close to Times Square and Grand Central Train Station.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lakelover
Business
Alabama
Apr 18, 2013

Very convenient!

We walked everywhere! We were close to the subway, and all of the restaurants, etc. The staff was great and helpful. Our view of the city was wonderful. We saw the Empire State Building to the left, and the Hudson River to the right. Thank you for your help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a map of the city. It helps you get to the places quicker. Ask questions. The NY Policemen were happy to help. Most all of the New Yorkers were helpful.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Becky from MS
Business
Gulf Coast, MS
Apr 17, 2013

Can't Say Anything Bad

The staff was friendly and helpful with directions. Our room (king suite) was roomy, very clean, with a modern, spotless bathroom. The room had a microwave, stovetop, refrigerator and dishwasher. The location was convenient to Times Square and the subways. And the bonus was the wonderful, hot breakfast buffets. There were lots of selections, the food was fresh and delicious. After reading other reviews on different hotels, I was concerned that we would find cramped quarters with old furnishings. Such was not the case. We stayed on the 22d floor and had a view of the Empire State Building. I highly recomment this hotel for your stay in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carmine's Italian Restaurant, within walking distance. The entrees are meant to be shared, and we had lots of leftovers to take back to the room to enjoy for another meal.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Travel Newbie
Business
Durham, NC
Apr 13, 2013

Great value

Close to attractions. Breakfast. Happy hour Tues-Thurs. Free laundry. Kitchenette. Reasonable room size for NYC. Friendly staff. I'd stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free washer/dryer/detergent. Free breakfast.

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toronto Brian
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 2, 2013

Wonderful!

We are seasoned travellers. We are not overly picky and when we go on vacation, we believe its what you make of it - unlike some reviewers, who can somehow always find something wrong. I chose Staybridge suites as it was highly rated and it did not disappoint. The staff was wonderful! The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and what a fantastic option to have a kitchenette in your room for keeping beverages cold and reheating leftovers. Free wifi in the room worked great. The free hot breakfast every morning was wonderful and saved us plenty of time and money. It had plenty of variety - eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, cereal etc. - and they changed items daily, so there was always something new. The location is excellent - 5 minutes from Times Square. There's a subway entrance right at 8th and 40th which makes getting around the city a breeze. There's also a 24 hour pharmacy at 8th/40th that sells everything including grocery items, soda, beer, etc. very convenient. This was a wonderful stay - if I had to find one fault it would be the elevators - there are only 3 banks for more than 30 floors so they are quite slow. This was only a minor inconvenience when comparing to all the positives. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is just south of the port authority bus terminal. If flying into Newark, take the Newark Liberty Manhattan Express bus $16 one way or $28 return. It's less than a 5 minute walk from where the bus drops you off to the front door of the hotel and it will save you $80 on a one way taxi ride!

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paigepaige
Business
Cleveland
Mar 27, 2013

Very nice

I stayed here almost every time when I'm in Manhattan. One of the best reason is because of its great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jewels J.
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 27, 2013

NYC Couple Trip

The location was great! The hotel was right next to public transportation and taxi access. Just walking distance to Time Square. Access to restaurants, shopping and shows, including Broadway, Comedy shows, etc. The hotel room we stayed in was a King Suite, equipped with a kitchen, which would be great for storing food, reheating food or cooking. Great for those who plan on having a long stay. Although we had a short visit. The only hiccup was that the tub was clogged in our room , but upon notification the room service was willing to fix it. This hotel was great minus the brief tub issue, but overall we had a wonderful stay and I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to "Juniors" on 1515 Broadway, best cheesecake in the world!!!!

Back to menu Return to top