$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

3 stars
340 West 40th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
229 reviews
PERFECTION! Wouldn't even try anywhere else in NY

AMAZING! You will not go wrong booking these suites. It REALLY couldn't have gone ANY better for... See full review

  • Erica Arteaga
  • May 30, 2014
Love it

Had everything you needed a full kitchen with all appliances See full review

  • Joaquin8880
  • Apr 29, 2014
A contemporary gem in the heart of Manhattan
The Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City is a unique hotel located within walking distance of the Broadway Theater District, the Fashion District and iconic Times Square. As well as a sleek glass exterior and a lobby that can only be described as a vision of the future, the Staybridge Suites Times Square offers fully equipped meeting spaces, a fitness center, and a 24-hour convenience store on-site. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast and a sundown reception in the elegant Bar Forty.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A 24-hour BridgeMart convenience store on-site 
  • A full-sized kitchen in every room, complete with kitchenware and appliances
  • Near many New York City landmarks, including the Empire State Building and Central Park
Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City Rooms
Great care is taken to ensure the comfort of guests at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City. Each room is decorated in cream, coffee and chocolate tones, providing a distinct style that is both modern and homely. Look out for high ceilings and an abundance of natural light, as well as a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline. Suites at the hotel offer a fully equipped kitchen that includes appliances such as a dishwasher and coffee-maker, in addition to a full range of kitchenware. All guest rooms at the Staybridge Suites Times Square – New York City feature a 37-inch flat-screen television with access to more than 150 cable channels, including HBO, free high-speed Wi-Fi connection and individually controlled air conditioning. Enjoy free calls in the local area, and a daily maid service. Rooms also offer full bathroom amenities including a deep bathtub, fresh towels provided daily and a ceramic-style hair-dryer.
Things To Do:
  • Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Central Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $272 USD
  • Check-in: 4 p.m./Check-out: 11 a.m. 
  • Pets allowed with advance reservation and non-refundable fee $75-$120 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7565 -73.9927
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI; New York Laguardia, (LGA), 9.60, MI; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.30, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Bar Forty
Bar/Lounge serving speciality cocktails in a warm yet modern setting featuring a water fall and contemporary music and broadway hit music piped in. Hell's Kitchens answer to Cheers!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary LaB
Latham, New York
Aug 2, 2013

Great Overnight Stay

The hotel was in a good location to the broadway show we saw and a short walk from Penn Station. Our room was ready early so we were able to check in immediately. The free cocktails and snacks in the evening and the free hot breakfast in the morning was an extra bonus. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin DDS
Los Angeles
Jun 26, 2013

Great NYC location

Good price for the location. Comes with a good, hot breakfast that saves you money and time. Only negative was that the elevators were slow at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday girl 53
Eugene, Oregon
Jun 19, 2013

3 day Birthday trip

The hotel, located directly across from Port Authority was perfect. Our bus brought us into the city, and we walked literally across the street to our calm city getaway. It's location in Manhattan, put us in walking distance to everywhere, and made adventuring simple. When taking the subway back, it was always easy to find one to Times Square, making the return to the room easy while tired after a day/night of exploring. Our room faced an inner courtyard, which at first I was disappointed by. But after a day in the high energy of NYC, I was grateful for the quiet at night, when we finally got back to the room. Great staff, abundant breakfast in a glass covered sun room, clean room, full kitchen, nice bed, great shower, soft towels... I feared it would be loud, being right in Times Square, but it was not. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCar
Cambridge MA
Jun 18, 2013

Friendly, Clean, Efficient - Excellent Value!

We were amazed at how much was packed into our room - it was attractive and had everything we needed. Located near several subway stations, and not far from where Megabus dropped us off. Friendly helpful staff and Awesome Breakfast comes with the room - a full, hearty breakfast! I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mhairi
Scotland
Jun 18, 2013

Really pleased with our choice of hotel.

Arrived to a very friendly welcome,(loan of umbrella offered during thunderstorm!!) room superb, very clean and comfortable. Maid service was discreet and of very good standard. Very tasty and extensive buffet breakfast, an added bonus! There are 3 lifts, which get very busy in the morning breakfast rush, so we were happy to walk down the stairs! Another bonus is the evening Happy Hour, which we enjoyed once. Hotel is very close to Times Square, all transport hubs and many of the main attractions. We were able to walk to Empire State Building, Theatre District, Central Park, Hop on Hop off Bus Tour Office, Rockerfeller, etc. We also went to the 9/11 Memorial and went on an evening river cruise. At all times the staff were attentive, helpful and polite. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellen's Stardust Diner, a fun evening out, food wasn't the best but the staff singing was very entertaining!

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erin loves students
Manorville, NY
Jun 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay!

My husband and I wanted a one night getaway to celebrate our 7 year wedding anniversary. I have a bad back so I look for a comfortable bed and a room with enough space to move around. Not only did my back NOT ache when I woke up but the pillows and sheets were equally comfortable! We enjoyed the flat screen tv, the spacious bathroom and the kitchenette. Our room was on the 19th floor, and my only critique would be that the elevators could be slow. we arrived on a Friday night in June when there were several coach buses and student trips. So, we had to wait several minutes to get on an elevator, but other than that, it was WELL worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the corner of 9th Ave and W45th, only a few blocks from the hotel, there is a restaurant owned by Justin Timberlake called Southern Hospitality. The food and cocktails were amazing! Get the chili when you go!

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
V Millet
San Juan, PR
Jun 5, 2013

The best bang for the buck in all NYC.

After searching and comparing hotels in same area Staybridge Suite was the best option for the value. Excellent location and Staff members. As an example, Jamie..his satisfaction and engagement makes him an asset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lala newyorker
upstat newyork
Jun 3, 2013

BIRTHDAY getaway

It was a goid experience staff very helpful good quality of a hotel .great location right by 42ndstreet everthing was so convienant we loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck from Texas
Austin, TX
May 29, 2013

Nice time close to the action

The hotel is nice and its location is its best feature in terms of its proximity to Time Square. It is located next to the parole building and pretty close to a major bus terminal, but I never noticed any unsavory characters hanging around. Do note that all the rooms are STUDIOS, which means they're about the size of a regular room plus a refrigerator, cooktop, sink, and dish washer. There is no separate living space like in a SUITE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is between 8th and 9th avenue and at either end, you can get a slice of pizza for a couple of bucks. And it's very New York to do so!

Review of Staybridge Suites TIMES SQUARE - NEW YORK CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacation mom
Indianapolis, IN, USA
May 29, 2013

Location can't be beat

I booked the Staybridge Suites for a long weekend getaway for me and my teenage son. The location couldn't have been better! He wanted to see Times Square and go to some improv comedy clubs in the Chelsea neighborhood. Being on the south end of the theater district, we were within walking distance to both. Close proximity to the Port Authority bus station and the subway station made this location super convenient. I was a little concerned about being so close to the bus station due to noise but that was not a problem. Office staff was exceptional. They were so willing to help with any requests. Breakfast was better than most, plenty of choices. Several reviews complained about slow elevators but we only found this to be an issue once, during a busy checkout time period. Room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Great to have a kitchenette in the room for leftovers. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Upright Citizens Brigade Theater at 26th St. and 8th Avenue is a great venue for improv comedy. The reserved shows book up in advance but the ASSSCAT show on Sunday nights at 9:30 is free. Show up by 7 p.m. to get in line for tickets distributed at 8 p.m.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search