$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Stanford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 43 West 32nd Street, NEW YORK, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
16 reviews
Valentines weekend in NYC

This is our third stay at the Stanford - we keep returning because it is a great hotel in a great... See full review

  • PeterRock
  • Feb 18, 2014
Great location, super value

Wonderful location, near all transportation; near lots of good restaurants. Large rooms, luxurious... See full review

  • ted dog lover
  • Jan 27, 2014
Stanford Hotel is the comfortable and affordable choice among boutique hotels in the heart of Manhattan, it provides immediate access to all of the city's rich culture and its most popular attractions. The world-famous Empire State building, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Theatre and Garment Districts, Time Square, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Macy's Department Store are all within easy reach of the hotel. Its 106 cozy rooms and spacious suites feature carefully selected amenities that suit the needs of both business and leisure guests. They are equipped with wireless high speed internet access, hairdryer, iron with Ironing Board upon request, same day laundry and dry cleaning service, compact refrigerator, vanity desk with hotel stationary, TV with premium cable channels, centralized air conditioning and heater, bathroom with shower/tub combination and pedestal sink, slippers and toothbrush/toothpaste upon request. *The check in starts at 15:00 *The City Tax will have to be paid also in case of a No Show. *The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to arrival.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stanford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
Shopping mall
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Stanford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PeterRock
Business
Syracuse
Feb 18, 2014

Valentines weekend in NYC

This is our third stay at the Stanford - we keep returning because it is a great hotel in a great location. And now even better with an evening Wine Bar that has the best fruit martinis and assorted unique finger food! The continental breakfast is good but could use additional offerings - like Greek yogurt or cold and hot cereal. The rooms are always super clean and the bathrooms modern and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stanford is a half block from the subway entrance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ted dog lover
Business
oakland, california
Jan 27, 2014

Great location, super value

Wonderful location, near all transportation; near lots of good restaurants. Large rooms, luxurious bathroom. Really good value, includes breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scooter 1952
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 13, 2013

Good Value for the $$$$

Very large, clean room. King bed was a little stiff on the back. Furniture dated but functional. Bathroom was very good. Recently remodeled. Hotel is old and the common areas are small and dated. However, for 159 bucks it was a good value. Near Macy's at Herald Square. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys, Empire State Building, penn station and Madison square garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC JB
Business
Albany, NY
Nov 11, 2013

Nice room in NYC

Ez to find, Ez to check in, Ez to park, Parking located across street with a discount for staying at hotel,We got a free upgrade to a suite which was nice. Positives: Location, walk to MSG and Empire State bld, And Macys and other stores, Negitives: Small lobby, no room service, I will stay again if going to MSG for a show or game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to MSG

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gnap
Business
San Jose CA
Apr 19, 2013

Was pleasently surprised

Location was good,near subwat lines and Macys .would have liked a softer pillow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam phillips
Business
Pawling, NY 12564, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Just what I expected

The room was small but big enough. I enjoyed my stay will stay again. Close enough to MSG 5 min walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Culture lover
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 18, 2011

Culture Vulture

I was in NYC for two and a half days for Lincoln Center theatre performances and museum outings. I arrived by train at Penn Station and rolled my suitcase two blocks to the Stanford. It was equally easy to take the number one train from the Penn Station subway stop two blocks from the hotel -- there's an entrance open M-F on 32nd Street -- to 66th St. where Lincoln Center is located. There were plenty of people on the streets in the evening and I felt quite safe returning to the hotel at night. I walked two blocks in the other direction to take the Madison Ave. bus to the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beautiful Morgan Library is within walking distance of the hotel. Magnificent building, great displays, good in-house cafe and sit down restaurant. (Entrance fee, but worth it)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Mar 27, 2011

A cheap rate smoothed some wrinkles

This hotel offers a complimentary breakfast in the cafe adjoining, plus it's super centrally located. While lacking any luxury amenities, it is clean and nice enough if you're more concerned with exploring the city than staying in a hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Korean bakeries on this block! Excellent baked goods!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 11, 2011

Bed Bugs bit me!

While the lobby seems fairly decent, my room was dingy and shabby--dusty curtains, shabby carpeting, dirty fingerprints and grime on the doors, which could have used fresh paint, and a bathroom ventilator that turned on with the bathroom light that sounded like an airplane taking off. Although I checked the mattress for bedbugs and found no signs, I awoke in the morning with two bites on my neck. II tried to call the front desk from my room but the phone was out of order. I went down to the front desk to speak with a staff person and showed her the bites. She was apologetic but useless. She told me her manager would be in at 8:00 am and she would be able to help deal with my reimbursement. The "manager" was authorized to cancel the room charges and had to consult with another manager who would not arrive until 9:30 a.m. She said she would call me once she spoke with her manager. That was yesterday and am still waiting for a call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stanford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Feb 23, 2011

Great Location

The hotel has a great location, two blocks from Madison Square Garden, one block from the Empire State Building and also from 5th Ave. The only thing they should change is the breakfast, the 5 days I stayed there I ate Bagel and Donuts, it could be a little more healthier, with yogurt and cereal. Overall, it is a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top