$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Sofitel New York

4 stars
45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
65 reviews
Perfect hotel stay!

I tried really hard to fine something I didn't like at Sofitel New York and I couldn't think of... See full review

  • newyorkminute
  • Mar 10, 2014
Top class for value and service

The hotel is very warm and welcoming. The accommodation is 5*, large room with lovely comfortable... See full review

  • Andrew75
  • Mar 5, 2014
Spirit of New York and Paris triumphs at midtown Manhattan hotel

Indulge in the spirit of classic New York and Paris at the midtown Manhattan Sofitel New York, right off Fifth Avenue. Thirty stories of contemporary-style glass and limestone make a landmark statement, and sophisticated, soft-edge guest rooms offer the comforts of home. Each includes a flat-screen TV, a Bose radio, a marble bathroom, a feather SoBed and a fully stocked minibar. Four-diamond service continues at the French-influenced restaurant and bar, Gaby, open from early morning until well past midnight at Sofitel.

Highlights

  • Paris- and New York-infused guest room with a Bose radio, a flat-screen TV and a feather SoBed
  • The flavors of France in an Art-Deco-inspired setting at Gaby, the on-site restaurant and bar
  • Walk to the best of Manhattan from a midtown location at Fifth Avenue

Location

Walk to the best of New York from Sofitel and its midtown Manhattan location on West 44th Street, just off Fifth Avenue. Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Terminal and even the Empire State Building are nearby, and a subway station is several blocks away.

Rooms

The inviting guest rooms and suites at Sofitel present tailored sophistication, upscale amenities and soft-edge decor touches that recall both the comforts of home and the style of Paris and New York. Each includes a flat-screen cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view channels, a Bose radio, a feather SoBed, a two-line phone with voice mail, a marble bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower, a fully stocked minibar, and high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Suites feature a separate living room, and the Prestige Suite includes a 300-square-foot private terrace. 

Features

Experience an Art-Deco-inspired setting paired with fine French-influenced dining at Gaby, the restaurant and bar at Sofitel, open from early morning until after midnight. Room service is available around the clock. A fitness center is also on the property.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Penn Station (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)

Attractions

  • Times Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Business

  • Elegant Grand Ballroom, seating up to 200 guests, plus eight additional meeting rooms (fees apply)
  • In-room high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and Fees
Free accomodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sofitel New York Rooms

Suite 1 Kg bed Dlx City S
Skyscraper Suite - 1 king-size bed, separate living room, floors 22-29, Chrysler view.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WiFi, so
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, Terrace from 500sq ft, 24th floor.. 650 sq ft / 60 m² featuring terraces from 500sq ft . Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separa
JrSuite 1 Qn bed
Luxury Suite - 1 king bed and Sofabed. Floors 2 2-29. High floor, view guaranteed.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI, sofabed
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King Bed, Floors 3-29.. 400 sq ft / 37 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the hotel($5
1 Qn bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 15-29.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the h
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
EXECUTIVE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TVs, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI. No sofabed available. Rollaway availab
1 Qn bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 3-14.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower,complimentary WIFI, Max one rollaway per room subject to hotel co

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

GABY RESTAURANT
Gaby Restaurant is the Art Deco-inspired restaurant at our NYC midtown hotel featuring delicious, contemporary French cuisine. Enjoy a taste of France at our modern midtown New York City hotel restaurant, located in the heart of the Theatre District.
GABY BAR
Contemporary New York bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ELLY MEX
MEXICO CITY
Nov 29, 2012

NEW YORK AT SOFITEL

THE HOTEL IS PERFECTLY LOCATED, JUST STEPS AWAY FROM 5TH AVENUE. THE STAFF WAS GREAT AND ALWAYS LOOKING FORWRAD THE CUSTOMERS. NICE AMENITIES AT THE BATHROOM (LANVIN). THE BEST BATHROOM FOR US TILL NOW IN NEW YORK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

TAKE THE E SUBWAY ROUTE TO /FROM JFK AIRPORT AND SAVE TIME

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Sep 1, 2007

Great Stay

The Sofitel proved to be an amazing hotel for my 8 day stay in New York. It's close by to Times Square. Friendly staff and clean, and the rooms are very luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bryant Park, sit outside with a cup of coffee and watch the world go by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2007

Great Hotel in Manhattan

Sofitel Hotel is a great hotel in Manhattan area, both for business and pleasure vacation. It's close to everything, within walking distance to theater, restaurants, subway and of course shopping. The rooms are very clean and a good size, with a separate bathroom, nothing fancy. The lobby is very quiet and relaxing to sit . Check - in is a breeze. Very friendly staff. The only complain I have is in the morning, the housekeeper keeps knocking and opening the door, 3 times, waking me up, I think before 10:00 am . I was so tired, especially the first night, because of the delayed and rerouting of my flights. After that I just lost my sleep. Otherwise, the hotel is just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington-Normal, IL
Jun 19, 2007

Perfect experience

The Sofitel was the perfect choice for this mom and her 19 year old daughter's first visit to New York. First the hotel is beautiful and sophiticated. The room was larger than expected and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spectacular! Excellent, friendly, and helpful service from the front desk, room service and the gift shop. The doorman took a great picture of us! The location allowed us to walk to many points of interest on our very long list. It was a hit all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short distance from many pints of interest: Times Square, Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, and many quality restaurants. We felt safe walking in any direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Nice and quiet

I took my mom to NY to celebrate her 80th birthday. We both were pleased. The hotel was clean and quiet. The location was good because it was less than two miles from everywhere we wanted to go - restaurants, shopping and shows. Considering the average size of a NY hotel room (very small) the room was large. The bathroom was well-appointed and we liked the updated style of separate shower and tub. The staff was friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that there was a cubby hole in the lobby with three computers and a printer. Free of charge, you could access the Internet and print boarding passes. Although I had read other reviews that it would be difficult for the doorman to hail a cab, we did not find that to be the case. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and offered ideas on shopping areas where we could find bargains. The one problem we had was with our room service the first night. We ordered the lobster bisque and did not like it. I was hesitant but decided to call room service to let them know we didn't like it. They sent someone to get the bowls and credited our bill without any hassle. Also, be aware that the minibar has a sensor on it. When something is removed your are charged but the sensor does not detect if you return something to the bar. I removed a diet Coke and changed my mind. I immediately returned it to the bar and selected a regular Coke. When I noticed that I was charged for two, I contacted the front desk and they told me about the sensor. They removed the second charge without any hassle. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again. We got good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 6, 2007

First Rate

My wife and I visited for a two night stay for our 25th anniversary. We couldn't have been happier with the hotel, staff and of course our room. A little pricey for me but by New York standards probably right on board. The ambience was incredible, the staff always trying to help and made us very comfortable. The bed was wonderful and super bathroom facilites with large tub and separate shower. Terrific dining and entertainment right in the neighborhood. We'll be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast cafe about 4-5 doors down the block,, great Italian restaurant 1 block away. Close to the theatre district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top