$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sofitel New York

4 stars
View map of 45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wanderer from Boston
Boston
Nov 5, 2012

Awesome! Viva la France.

Service and decor were splendid! Loved the Brigitte Bardot glamorous photographs in the lounge. Sidecars were sensational. Girlfriend and I had a wonderfully romantic time! We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Sep 3, 2007

Perfect for vacation getaway!

We were greeted with courteous, friendly staff. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was accomodating. Generous closets and bathroom; excellent location for theater and shopping, Times Square, NBC Studio, etc. One restaurant at the hotel, but several within walking distance. Will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian, Japanese,one block from hotel, and also chain restaurants a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Sep 1, 2007

Great Stay

The Sofitel proved to be an amazing hotel for my 8 day stay in New York. It's close by to Times Square. Friendly staff and clean, and the rooms are very luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bryant Park, sit outside with a cup of coffee and watch the world go by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2007

Great Hotel in Manhattan

Sofitel Hotel is a great hotel in Manhattan area, both for business and pleasure vacation. It's close to everything, within walking distance to theater, restaurants, subway and of course shopping. The rooms are very clean and a good size, with a separate bathroom, nothing fancy. The lobby is very quiet and relaxing to sit . Check - in is a breeze. Very friendly staff. The only complain I have is in the morning, the housekeeper keeps knocking and opening the door, 3 times, waking me up, I think before 10:00 am . I was so tired, especially the first night, because of the delayed and rerouting of my flights. After that I just lost my sleep. Otherwise, the hotel is just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington-Normal, IL
Jun 19, 2007

Perfect experience

The Sofitel was the perfect choice for this mom and her 19 year old daughter's first visit to New York. First the hotel is beautiful and sophiticated. The room was larger than expected and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spectacular! Excellent, friendly, and helpful service from the front desk, room service and the gift shop. The doorman took a great picture of us! The location allowed us to walk to many points of interest on our very long list. It was a hit all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short distance from many pints of interest: Times Square, Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, and many quality restaurants. We felt safe walking in any direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Nice and quiet

I took my mom to NY to celebrate her 80th birthday. We both were pleased. The hotel was clean and quiet. The location was good because it was less than two miles from everywhere we wanted to go - restaurants, shopping and shows. Considering the average size of a NY hotel room (very small) the room was large. The bathroom was well-appointed and we liked the updated style of separate shower and tub. The staff was friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that there was a cubby hole in the lobby with three computers and a printer. Free of charge, you could access the Internet and print boarding passes. Although I had read other reviews that it would be difficult for the doorman to hail a cab, we did not find that to be the case. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and offered ideas on shopping areas where we could find bargains. The one problem we had was with our room service the first night. We ordered the lobster bisque and did not like it. I was hesitant but decided to call room service to let them know we didn't like it. They sent someone to get the bowls and credited our bill without any hassle. Also, be aware that the minibar has a sensor on it. When something is removed your are charged but the sensor does not detect if you return something to the bar. I removed a diet Coke and changed my mind. I immediately returned it to the bar and selected a regular Coke. When I noticed that I was charged for two, I contacted the front desk and they told me about the sensor. They removed the second charge without any hassle. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again. We got good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 6, 2007

First Rate

My wife and I visited for a two night stay for our 25th anniversary. We couldn't have been happier with the hotel, staff and of course our room. A little pricey for me but by New York standards probably right on board. The ambience was incredible, the staff always trying to help and made us very comfortable. The bed was wonderful and super bathroom facilites with large tub and separate shower. Terrific dining and entertainment right in the neighborhood. We'll be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast cafe about 4-5 doors down the block,, great Italian restaurant 1 block away. Close to the theatre district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top