$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Sofitel New York

4 stars
View map of 45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newcastle
Apr 2, 2008

excellent stay

All round excellent,what more can I say. Location,room,staff all very good,no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

local cafe just a few metres away not that friendly,but local deli's are great value & lovely fresh food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 17, 2008

Comfortable and clean

This hotel was very nice. The room was a nice size, especially for a NYC hotel. The bed was wonderful and everything was spotless. The only drawbacks were that I was not left a washcloth, the closet light was burned out and when opening the mini-bar the whole door fell off! The washcloth and light situations were promptly fixed - I'm not sure about the mini-bar. Because of the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff, I would not hesitate to stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is WONDERFUL. Just a short walk to everywhere, restaurants, theaters, landmarks and easy to get a cab for longer trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 23, 2007

Luxury with French flair

The decor is beautiful, the staff very courteous and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and the beds are amazing. It is my hotel of choice in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Greek restaurant next door is very good. Try sitting at the bar for a pre-dinner drink and sample some of the delicious appetizers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 23, 2007

Luxury with French flair

The decor is beautiful, the staff very courteous and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and the beds are amazing. It is my hotel of choice in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Greek restaurant next door is very good. Try sitting at the bar for a pre-dinner drink and sample some of the delicious appetizers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, VT
Sep 22, 2007

Nice respite from the busy city

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel in NYC. It was a nice location, clost to the theater district and attractions. It was a nice break from the hectic pace. After stepping inside, you entered a cool, clean, quiet environment that was very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We were at the theater in about 15 minutes and it was very close to Rockefeller Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Sep 3, 2007

Perfect for vacation getaway!

We were greeted with courteous, friendly staff. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was accomodating. Generous closets and bathroom; excellent location for theater and shopping, Times Square, NBC Studio, etc. One restaurant at the hotel, but several within walking distance. Will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian, Japanese,one block from hotel, and also chain restaurants a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Sep 1, 2007

Great Stay

The Sofitel proved to be an amazing hotel for my 8 day stay in New York. It's close by to Times Square. Friendly staff and clean, and the rooms are very luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bryant Park, sit outside with a cup of coffee and watch the world go by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2007

Great Hotel in Manhattan

Sofitel Hotel is a great hotel in Manhattan area, both for business and pleasure vacation. It's close to everything, within walking distance to theater, restaurants, subway and of course shopping. The rooms are very clean and a good size, with a separate bathroom, nothing fancy. The lobby is very quiet and relaxing to sit . Check - in is a breeze. Very friendly staff. The only complain I have is in the morning, the housekeeper keeps knocking and opening the door, 3 times, waking me up, I think before 10:00 am . I was so tired, especially the first night, because of the delayed and rerouting of my flights. After that I just lost my sleep. Otherwise, the hotel is just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington-Normal, IL
Jun 19, 2007

Perfect experience

The Sofitel was the perfect choice for this mom and her 19 year old daughter's first visit to New York. First the hotel is beautiful and sophiticated. The room was larger than expected and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spectacular! Excellent, friendly, and helpful service from the front desk, room service and the gift shop. The doorman took a great picture of us! The location allowed us to walk to many points of interest on our very long list. It was a hit all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short distance from many pints of interest: Times Square, Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, and many quality restaurants. We felt safe walking in any direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Nice and quiet

I took my mom to NY to celebrate her 80th birthday. We both were pleased. The hotel was clean and quiet. The location was good because it was less than two miles from everywhere we wanted to go - restaurants, shopping and shows. Considering the average size of a NY hotel room (very small) the room was large. The bathroom was well-appointed and we liked the updated style of separate shower and tub. The staff was friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that there was a cubby hole in the lobby with three computers and a printer. Free of charge, you could access the Internet and print boarding passes. Although I had read other reviews that it would be difficult for the doorman to hail a cab, we did not find that to be the case. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and offered ideas on shopping areas where we could find bargains. The one problem we had was with our room service the first night. We ordered the lobster bisque and did not like it. I was hesitant but decided to call room service to let them know we didn't like it. They sent someone to get the bowls and credited our bill without any hassle. Also, be aware that the minibar has a sensor on it. When something is removed your are charged but the sensor does not detect if you return something to the bar. I removed a diet Coke and changed my mind. I immediately returned it to the bar and selected a regular Coke. When I noticed that I was charged for two, I contacted the front desk and they told me about the sensor. They removed the second charge without any hassle. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again. We got good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top